We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
109
13
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tuksri lankaensuite bathroomhome away from homefantastic stayplace to staynuwara eliyaspent nightsfresh fruitcurrieshostsrooneydriveretchedprivacyhopperssrilankan
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Super friendly couple who made us feel most welcome.
Lovely spacious rooms with ensuite bathroom, great breakfasts (fresh fruit, hoppers, curry, pancakes, toast). It's far from the centre of Kandy, which we liked. You have to get a tuk-tuk. It's quiet and peaceful. Would stay again!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JoanneLMH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Sujatha's Homestay, on a little hill-top post a sudden steep climb, is a green & scenic place to stay in Kandy, though a little away from the town center. The rooms are neat, clean and homely and the hosts (we met only Roney, as his wife Sujatha was away travelling across India) warm and friendly. If you get talking to him (which you are likely to) he would update you on his colourful burgher (Eurasian) roots and acquaint you with his drawings & sketches (of considerable merit, given that he only started the activity quite late in his life - we bought one off him - a pencil drawing of a plumpish sparrow). His Tamil cook (and gal Friday) can dish up a great breakfast and an excellent dinner (on request, as Sujatha is only a B& B joint), especially of the local Sri Lankan variety.

Roney arranged a local tuk-tuk/auto-rickshaw driver for us, for local sight-seeing in Kandy. However we thought this man (named Susantha) was rather dishonest in his services and intentions.

The other driver Roney arranged for us (named Thilanka), for fetching us in a car from Colombo Airport, and subsequently taking us to Nuwara Eliya (from Kandy), was a much better guy. However, he ditched us at the eleventh hour in a crucial moment of the latter part of our SL holiday (almost ruining it, and making us lose at least LKR 8000 in the process), and we are still left wondering why.

Room Tip: The first floor room has a better view (with a narrow & long balcony); the ground floor room is bigger and perhaps better equipped.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AG_Kol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

It's very important to start your travels in a foreign land with good first impressions. Thanks to Sujatha's and Roney's hospitality and helpful insights and tips, we fell in love with Sri Lanka even before exploring it completely. And then there were the rooms - homely, clean and decorated with some of Roney's own paintings. The compound is like a mini garden of fruit trees and flowers - calming and gentle to the eyes.

Despite being a homestay, we had our privacy when we needed it, but the truth is we much preferred (and missed!) the evening chats with our hosts over cups of Ceylon tea.

Location-wise it's a bit out of the centre of Kandy, but the hosts will arrange for a very reliable tuk-tuk for you as and when you need it.

There's no doubt that Sujatha's Homestay will be my choice the next time I'm in Kandy. And I hope that will be soon!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank SpicyOlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

This was our first ever stay in a home stay and we absolutely loved it! Upon our arrival, Roney made us feel very comfortable. A beautiful home, away from the city, with such good ambiance. The rooms were neat, spacious and contemporary. Breakfast was delicious too. We stayed here for one night only but wished to stay longer.

The only thing that we felt sad about is that we couldn’t meet Sujatha as she was out of town. But left a beautiful note for us :) We totally enjoyed our stay and would definitely return when in Kandy. We are so glad that we found you guys. Thanks for a lovely time. All the very best! And we would definitely recommend this home stay without a second thought.

Room Tip: They only have 2 rooms. One on the upstairs with a lovely view and the other on the downstairs is also good and neat.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nidhiya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We stayed here on our arrival in Sri Lanka, arrived at the house late at night in pouring rain after a long train journey. we had asked if we could have dinner that was a feast..... just amazing, the couple gave us great advice, Helped with trips, vetted our driver to ensure we had a great trip to the sites, We had the upstairs room with balcony and the comfiest bed, fabulous breakfast two nights and we missed the place when we left

its in a quiet area what a lovely lovely stay, well priced just perfect

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews