We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Kandy City Tour with Mahaweli
10

Book in advance
from
AU$58.37
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Kandyan Cultural Centre
from AU$58.37
More Info
from AU$350.24
More Info
from AU$221.20
More Info
from AU$408.61
More Info
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveller rating
94
131
630
243
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
94
131
630
243
143
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

We were taken here by our driver which was part of a service provided by our accomodation. We paid 9000 lkr to be driven to and from various activities arranged by our host over the course of two days....however nearly all of these activities envolved paying entrance fees including this one. Something that was never explained to us. We have since learned that drivers get a percentage for every person they take to events like this. The dancing itself is interesting to see albeit it goes on a bit too long. For us it wasnt something we enjoyed. We really dont like these particular things which are put on just for tourists especially when we werent told we'd have to pay to see it. You could easily bypass this. It doesn't feel very authentic. Its purely to make money from tourists.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Climber745892
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

It seems there are a few venues that hold the same dance performance. We went to the one next to the hospital. The performance commences at 5:00pm and lasts an hour. At the end they had fire walkers. Cost to see the performance is 1000 SLR.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Nads71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Whilst this performance is aimed at the tourists it was impressive. The venue is huge being the auditorium of the Kandyan Hotel. We were lucky as there were very few people. It would be uncomfortable in high season with a full house.
The handout given explains each dance which was done with much enthusiasm.
The athleticism of the men was impressive as were the costumes. The colours were wonderful.
As it was raining the fire walking was held in the garage of the hotel and was truly awe inspiring.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank julie_higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

While I must commend the dance troupe for their energetic performance the set up itself was quite basic. The dance happens in a hotel ballroom on a small stage. There is no backdrop or any decorations. The lighting is basic. The performers gather behind banquet tables(thankfully draped with table clothes) turned on their sides before walking on to the stage. The drumming within the confines of the ballroom can be a bit overbearing. The firewalking part of the event happens in the hotel parking which is next to the road. Traffic slows down while pedestrians stop to see what is happening.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank umeshr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Kandy is also the place where you can enjoy some local classical dance performances. These are nice 1 hour show to connect with local culture...

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank 284umanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews