We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Kandy City Tour with Mahaweli
10

Book in advance
from
AU$58.37
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Kandyan Cultural Centre
from AU$58.37
More Info
from AU$350.24
More Info
from AU$221.20
More Info
from AU$408.61
More Info
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveller rating
94
131
630
243
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
94
131
630
243
143
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Had the opportunity to see Sri Lankan music & dance performances twice before this - at a wedding & at our hotel. On arriving, the performance area was quite full, hot & stuffy despite the fans being used.

The show went for around an hour or around 10 performance items, however despite some costume changes each piece is very similar - a few drums, a 'flute' & a symbol/tamborine type instrument. After a few pieces they tend to blend together with the occasional variant - plate twirling, fire eating/twirling, drum solos.

I think 30 minutes would have been adequate for all attendees even if they hadn't seen it before - I noticed some people left after 40 or so minutes (unsure if too long or their bus was leaving).

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

This was billed in our itinerary as ‘An Evening of Amazing Kandyan Dancing’.

Do not fall for this. It is nothing more than a one hour dance show in the Dom and dated back room of a hotel, with a creaking stage, and not even an attempt to put any decorations up to make it feel vibrant or authentic. Half the dancers were not in time and some of the ‘outfits’ Leo’s falling apart.

And then you get to the fire walking show. Which is a bloke in fancy dress in a backstreet car park walking on some burning ashes in a steel lid.

Utter rubbish. Felt like we were in the TV series Benidorm.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank AJS-Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

The performance was good although not quite my taste of music, performance was good but the seating was awful no room and all the same level so if your sat more than 4 rows back all you can see is the back of people's heads.
Some parts where a bit tacky and made me cringe.
The fire walking and fire breathing was good although the location of the performance could be improved.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Hawkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

The dancers seemed bored and as a result they were constantly out of sync with each other. Some of it was okay, and some of it was very impressive. Other times it was funny because it was just so bad!

At the end I was disappointed to see the dancers asking tourists for money in order to have pictures taken with them. I didn’t feel this was a very professional approach.

Overall It felt like a school play with adults.

Date of experience: September 2018
5  Thank Matty1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

In the name of Culture show it is a low entertaining not at all engaging local Dance performance.

It is usually done at a ballroom of a Hotel. No proper seating.

Pls visit only if you are really in to art and ancient dance and performance. Or at the end you will leave with a feeling of money being wasted.

The pictures are of thr last show where they show with fire, hence it is outdoor - at the entrance of the Hotel gate.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Raja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews