We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Kandy City Tour with Mahaweli
10

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Kandyan Cultural Centre
More Info
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveller rating
94
131
630
243
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
94
131
630
243
143
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018

If you’re not familiar with Asian dancing or drumming this show would be very worthwhile. Each of the dances was relatively short, and the whole thing lasted an hour.
The fire swallowing and fire walking at the end were entertaining.
The flyers provided to guests in their own language about the dances were useful.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

This is an ok activity if you arrived after 3:00 pm in Kandy like me
The show starts at 5:00-5:30 pm .

Better view is in the second floor.
Price is 1000 srupees

This is recommended

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank paolodecastr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed the Kandy Dance show with all its wonderful traditional costumes, dances and instruments. The highlight for us was one of the drummers in particular with his I credible talent and speed of play.
The theatre is right on the lakefront and has a small tuck shop selling snacks, lines of plastic harden style seating and a wide raised stage to watch the dancers and musicians.
It lasts about an hour. The performance closes with a display of reiterating and firewalking that is quite fantastic.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Dancing by the locals was a good way to fill and hour. The Red Cross hall were it happens can be stifling. You will see a lot of dances, and at the end fire eaters .

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank esopus35
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2018

if you are in Kandy and love the local heritage then you should try the Kandyan Dance Performance. People from South India can so relate this to be a blend of Mohiniattam to Katahakalli and so on to other related dances.

Word of caution.. these happen each and every day by the evening and most of the centers are around the city center which is a one hand throw distance from the Kandy Lake. The stage is nothing to talk about.. very old, ill maintained and one can but not ignore the hanging cob webs.

The management does take about USD $ 30 from the whites and if being from SAARC country you get to pay in LKR and we paid 5000 LKR for 3 adults. Which is about INR 2000.

For the monies they take, they should maintain the place, which is not the case. I am told that the artist are from the dance school students so not sure if they get paid or its a test and there are young and old who participate.

Else its good 1 hour entertainment ... a time I felt was good spent.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Arul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews