We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Near the surf beach but quiet”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
garden wildlife
Ground Floor Apartment Verander
Upstairs guest double
External stair access
upstairs balcony kitchenette
Beach sunsets at the end of the road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ingrid903
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Near the surf beach but quiet”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Junglesidehouse - the name describes the place nicely. The house is surrounded by a garden + neighbour's gardens although it is situated at walking distance to the main road of Hikkaduwa with its restaurants, a supermarket and a part of the beach popular with surfers.
The house offers a big, well equipped kitchen with dining area and a big rooftop area apart from the sleeping rooms and a garage. I can recommend this place to people who enjoy to wake at the sound of birds, love to cook or surf but refuse to stay at the noisy main road.
Owner is nice and helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
Thanks for your kind words :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tali B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“JUNGLE HOUSE- the best place in Hikkaduwa”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I have spend 3 week at the Jungle house. the experience was overall amazing.
Mike, the host, was kind and helpful, he was able to answer any question we had, and fulfil our wishes.
The house setting in the jungle side made our vacation more authentic and wild. we enjoyed the silent although the beach is only three minutes away.
The house itself is well equipped, we were able to cook some fabulous dinner and use the outdoor grill as well . we'd enjoyed the huge rooms and balconies especially liked the roof top yoga hall. No need to say that all the beddings and towels, as the house itself were spotless clean.
It was an unforgettable journey, will defiantly return as soon as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Location, the Balconies, and the big sized bed
Liked least: it was perfect
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thanks much appreciated :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clareisaa...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“gorgeous house - great location”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Hikkaduwa is a great surfing/chilling/party beach & Junglesidehouse a fabulous place to stay. Great kitchen to cook if & when you like, 5 mins walk to the beach, yet in a different world of nature & wild-life. Lovely big bedrooms & a great roof area to enjoy a drink & look at the stars. Wifi & all mod-cons - everything has been thought of to ensure a wonderful stay here. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being in the 'jungle' & yet so close to the beach
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thanks much appreciated :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharina...
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“lovely house with garden close to the beach”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in December 2013

I ve stayed several hollyday in the jungelsidehouse i just love the place i always have the same nice clean room with a big bathroom big bed and a lovely balcony to relex after a day at the beach, it s quiet and the garden with all the exotic fruites, it s just a perfect place to stay,and just 4 min from the beach away.
the owner M. recived me very friendly everytime, it feel like my second home.
i ll be back 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the relax area next to the kitchen and on the balcony, and the bbq place in the garden
Liked least: the moskitos
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Many Thanks :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leasholm
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Smashing holiday at Mikes in Hikkaduwa”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in February 2014

This is the third time I have stayed at 'Jungle Side' in Hikkaduwa. The location is stunning 5minutes from the beach, activaties, shops and restaurants but with a taste of the rural. The local people are so friendly and helpful which makes the holiday a really pleasant experience. Mikes' guest house has all the amenities to make a very comfortable stay. I have always found the bedrooms spacious and airy with lovely views towards the jungle canopy or amazing garden. The beds are gigantic with access to the outside through patio doors and windows. The bathrooms are spacious with shower, loo and basin, there is even an out door shower which is a great way to cool off when you come back from the beach. I love the garden with its Barbie, many fruit and spice trees. The wild life is ever present and for those who are keen, a photographic experience. I have always found staying at Mike's in Hikkaduwa a wonderful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the property and close proximaty to beach and shops
Liked least: Lack of lighting in the road at night
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Many Thanks :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing