We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect hideaway from the madness of Hikkaduwa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cinnamonhill House

Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance
Eingangshalle Sleeping Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Entrance
Eingangshalle
Sleeping Room
Kitchten
Front of the House
Bed room
Bed Room
Entrance Hall
Kitchen
Entrance Hall
Sitting Room
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
374arjanb
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect hideaway from the madness of Hikkaduwa”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We are a family of 4 - our children are 12 and 15. We stayed at CinnamonHill House from 18th to 26th December 2015 and had a fantastic time. The house is perfectly appointed and comfortable and serves as a good escape from the madness on the streets of Hikkaduwa. We hired scooters and explored the coastline north and south of Hikkaduwa. Although I thought the house was within a short walk to the beach, it really is not, especially if you want a decent beach! All 3 staff members (Upul, Navindra and Neil) are fantastic, and this is really an added extra that makes CinnamonHill very special - thanks to all of you!! We can highly recommend this accommodation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the architecture
Liked least: that we couldn't sit in the garden under an umbrella
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R0man2015
Islamabad, Pakistan
1 review
“Great Place for a Family”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This holiday house has a lot of style and at the same time is very practical for a family with kids. The garden is a good place to play badminton or just let the children run around. Every now and then they will even find a coconut that has fallen from a tree - cut it open and enjoy it! If you like to get into the buzz of the tourist places, it's only a 5 min Tuk Tuk drive away. If you are looking for some yummy local food, grab one of the bicycles and pick up some rotty or whatever you like.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredy C
Zuerich
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in Hikkaduwa”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Spent 10 days at this gorgeous house. Calm and away from the busy streets of Hikkaduwa. 10 minutes walking distance to the centre of town and beach. This place provides bicycles for easy transportation around Hikkaduwa.
We'll be back again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocs_912
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful palatial bungalow in paradise!”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were a group of four, a couple and two friends, who stayed at Cinnamon Hill House for 3 days in Dec 2014-Jan 2015. We were absolutely astounded by the sheer size of the house and the beauty of the quaint garden surrounding it! The pictures do absolutely no justice to how big or how well kept the property is!
This house is just a 10 minute walk form the HIkkka beach and the main road where you have so many restaurants that serve a yummilicious platter! Walking in the mid-day sun might be difficult, but any other time of the day, you're good to go! Or, if walking is not your thing, you can always call Upul, their tuk tuk driver who would be at the house in 15 minutes and take you wherever you wanna go!
Both Neil, the caretaker and Ravindra, the cook took great care of our needs and ensured that we felt at home throughout.... Ravindra helped us get an amazing deal for snorkeling!
The breakfast is typical toast, egg, marmalade, milk/juice. Neil can buy whatever you want him to, provided you inform him the previous evening. In fact, on New Year's morning, he made us feel so special by bringing us traditional food prepared at him home! Thanks Neil!!!
Only glitch was, there was some water problem in one of the bathrooms (the prettier one!) for 2 days. But it was fine since this property has 3 bathrooms.
On the whole, we had a lovely stay, had fun cycling through the town on their bicycles, enjoyed New Year eve dinner at Refresh Restaurant, had a amazing experience feeding turtles near the Chaaya traanz beach stretch, and would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How spacious and well maintained the property was
Liked least: Nothing, it was perfect :)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan F
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Cinnamonhill house is ideally situated for the beach just a short walk, but it's away from the busy Hikkaduwa main strip. Lots of lovely seafood restaurants Refresh and JL H are very nice, The house was a great size and the garden is a beautiful oassis of bananna mango and coconut trees where we would watch all sorts of exotic birds in the morning. The manager and housekeeper were so helpful we could not have asked for more,we feel we have made new friends and lookforward to visiting again thank you for make our trip A Trip of a Life Time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole holiday
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing