We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
17
34
36
14
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
34
36
14
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean wavesair conditioningcleaned every dayrotipool arealocal foodprivate balconyvery nice hotelhumidityhikka
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

The bed and accomadation is fine but,the room has to be cleaned properly and the pool doesnt seem to be very clean but its "CLEAN".THE property really needs a alot bigger parking lot and the breakfast served is good and the property needs to have a lot of renovation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Govinath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

This hotel is very good value for money, we stayed for two nights. It leads straight onto the beach and is clean and adequate - we need to remember this is a very cheap little hotel.

If you are looking for luxury this isn't your hotel!!! as it is very very basic and old fashioned, but clean and good value for money - the views, pool, being directly on the beach and breakfast made our stay [we only showered and slept in the room]

The breakfast was VERY good with an Indian flair, we had fruit - omlets and dhal, rice, roti, coconut spicy pancakes etc

I would definitely go back here!

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LeicesterSallyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

You get what you pay for. This hotel is right on the beach with a lovely pool and very convenient for restaurants and bars. We stayed in one of the balcony rooms which has a stunning view of the beach, pool and sunset in the evenings. The staff are very friendly and there is a great buffet breakfast included in the price. The room and communal areas were cleaned every day however the whole place needs updating and re-decorating. The bed was extremely comfortable however the 4 poster frame was held together by string. Although the bathroom was cleaned there was ground in dirt that just wouldn't come off and the grouting was black with old dirt. The main issue however was the electrics. There was no earth and many wires were exposed. Part way through our stay the switches and sockets in our bathroom stopped working, as well as the switch for the fridge (which we only realised was on the same circuit when we found a huge puddle on the floor). After re-setting the fuse box several times (and getting a couple of electric shocks in the process) we complained that this was dangerous and an electrician came out within 30 minutes to fix the problem. However if the place was upgraded I'm sure it would no longer be a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms at the front give views over the ocean and pool.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RS60girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

The hotel in situated on the main road but the rooms are well away from the traffic. I stayed there for 2 weeks and enjoyed the experience. The room was cleaned every day with plenty of towels. I styed in a first floor room with a balcony 210 and the view was stunning but sea noisy a night but worth the ear plugs. Rooms are basic but comfortable, clean and comparable with others in Sri Lanka. The inside rooms are a bit dark but if you want to stay inside all day why go on holiday? The pool is clean and safe contrary to another review. Breakfast has enough choice and plenty of it for anyone. The staff were friendly and always willing to help. People react to the way you treat them. I think some people are only happy when they are moaning. 25 metres to the left is The Den and 30 metres to the right is the Blue Note hotel and both have good food and drink. If you want loud music, cheap drink and also food try Chill Space about 25 metres further on from the Blue Note. The ear plugs come in handy if you want to sleep they have a party on Saturday night that lasts till dawn - great fun. I will try and go back 2018. PS the dog is Duke and is adorable, if he barks just give him a fuss.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor I was in room 210 at the front but surf is noisy take ear plus
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Davefire49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We stayed in this place for 8 nights. First we got the room upstairs but it was very small, with a view to the wall of the building next to, with one window that could't be open, very dark and it smelled on damp. We asked to change the room for the one downstairs and they did it without any extra charge. The rooms downstairs are bigger, with more natural light and they look newer. They cleaned our room every day and changed the bed sheets and towels. The staff is great, very friendly and polite. Breakfast was good, the same every day, but I liked it, although we ate at the hotel maybe 2 or 3 times, because we wanted to try different food outside. The pool wasn't clean, but anyway we were all day on the beach so actually we didn't need a pool at all, but it was nice sitting there in the evening, watching ocean waves. Also, you must take into account that their culture and standards are different from our "Western", so you can not expect the same service. We also had the opportunity to be in the 5* resort where hygiene also was not at a satisfactory level how we used to, the pool was also not cleaned regularly, and the night in a standard double room costed about 200eur. All in all, it was ok for a budget hotel, since we spent most of the time outside and we've used the room just for sleepover.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are better. Ask to first see the room and check if everything is working (water heater, fridge, air-conditioner, fan...)
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sonjamamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews