We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humidity and the ocean killed the place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nippon Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Reviewed 8 May 2017

The villa itself looks really nice but ocean view rooms are really uncomfortable to stay .Humidity and ocean noise are just killing the place .The rain didn't help either ... the room was so wet after it .

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Mashasklyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

The bed and accomadation is fine but,the room has to be cleaned properly and the pool doesnt seem to be very clean but its "CLEAN".THE property really needs a alot bigger parking lot and the breakfast served is good and the property needs to have a lot of renovation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Govinath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

This hotel is very good value for money, we stayed for two nights. It leads straight onto the beach and is clean and adequate - we need to remember this is a very cheap little hotel.

If you are looking for luxury this isn't your hotel!!! as it is very very basic and old fashioned, but clean and good value for money - the views, pool, being directly on the beach and breakfast made our stay [we only showered and slept in the room]

The breakfast was VERY good with an Indian flair, we had fruit - omlets and dhal, rice, roti, coconut spicy pancakes etc

I would definitely go back here!

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LeicesterSallyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

You get what you pay for. This hotel is right on the beach with a lovely pool and very convenient for restaurants and bars. We stayed in one of the balcony rooms which has a stunning view of the beach, pool and sunset in the evenings. The staff are very friendly and there is a great buffet breakfast included in the price. The room and communal areas were cleaned every day however the whole place needs updating and re-decorating. The bed was extremely comfortable however the 4 poster frame was held together by string. Although the bathroom was cleaned there was ground in dirt that just wouldn't come off and the grouting was black with old dirt. The main issue however was the electrics. There was no earth and many wires were exposed. Part way through our stay the switches and sockets in our bathroom stopped working, as well as the switch for the fridge (which we only realised was on the same circuit when we found a huge puddle on the floor). After re-setting the fuse box several times (and getting a couple of electric shocks in the process) we complained that this was dangerous and an electrician came out within 30 minutes to fix the problem. However if the place was upgraded I'm sure it would no longer be a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms at the front give views over the ocean and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RS60girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

The hotel in situated on the main road but the rooms are well away from the traffic. I stayed there for 2 weeks and enjoyed the experience. The room was cleaned every day with plenty of towels. I styed in a first floor room with a balcony 210 and the view was stunning but sea noisy a night but worth the ear plugs. Rooms are basic but comfortable, clean and comparable with others in Sri Lanka. The inside rooms are a bit dark but if you want to stay inside all day why go on holiday? The pool is clean and safe contrary to another review. Breakfast has enough choice and plenty of it for anyone. The staff were friendly and always willing to help. People react to the way you treat them. I think some people are only happy when they are moaning. 25 metres to the left is The Den and 30 metres to the right is the Blue Note hotel and both have good food and drink. If you want loud music, cheap drink and also food try Chill Space about 25 metres further on from the Blue Note. The ear plugs come in handy if you want to sleep they have a party on Saturday night that lasts till dawn - great fun. I will try and go back 2018. PS the dog is Duke and is adorable, if he barks just give him a fuss.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor I was in room 210 at the front but surf is noisy take ear plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Davefire49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#16 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
114 reviews
0.2 km away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
2.4 km away
Villa Birdlake
Villa Birdlake
#12 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
0.5 km away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#13 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
79 reviews
1 km away
Avenra Beach Hotel
Avenra Beach Hotel
#17 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nippon Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nippon Villa Beach Resort

Address: Galle Road | Wewala, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $51 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nippon Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nippon Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nippon Villa Beach Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing