We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 76
USD 64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 81
USD 43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 22/07
USD 61
USD 58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Utopia Villas(Hikkaduwa)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 30
USD 15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 78
USD 67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 59
USD 57
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sea Front Villa(Hikkaduwa)(Great Value!)
USD 28
USD 27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aditya(Hikkaduwa)
USD 228
USD 222
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roman Beach(Hikkaduwa)
USD 130
USD 117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveller rating
378
348
189
68
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
348
189
68
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankatop floorpleasant stayspecial thanksswimming poolf b managersea viewfront office staffrestaurant staffdinner buffetoff seasonnice beachcoral reefindian oceanseafoodcurrydelicious food
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

In our two weeks in Sri Lanka we spent 4 nights at Hotel Citrus. Hikkaduwa is a terrific tourist town with lots of things to do. At the top of our list was relaxing.

Hotel Citrus is located on the beach, with the sandy shore right next to the hotel pool. Grab a sun lounger and you won't have to leave to dip your toe in either.

The hotel is next to some great snorkeling spots. Unfortunately, the reef is somewhat damaged/dead but is still home to some tropical fish. Please tread lightly and cautiously. We also saw some some sea turtles just further up the beach.

Breakfast in the hotel is good. The buffet serves a fair variety. But you may want to go elsewhere for lunch and tea. Our lunch experience wasn't the best. The food was mixed (the potato wedges looked more like chips) and the service was slow despite us being the only ones ordering. Fortunately, there are plenty of great restaurants nearby.

The hotel is also located next to a liquor store, a shop and an ATM.

The room was comfortable and clean on the top floor with a balcony with a sea view. It was definitely worth getting the sea view. Free bottles of water are supplied in the room every day.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus L, Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Citrus Hikkaduwa following your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. We hope you will visit us again on a possible future visit.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Located right on the beach, Citrus is a great property with good rooms and a fantastic beach facing pool. I would say this is one of the great hotels in Hikkaduwa that offers a great deal for the price. The breakfast spread is huge and good. The rooms are also very comfortable. We enjoyed the pool very much, really added to our trip. The location is the highlight. Located right on the beach and equidistant to most restaurants, the view is fantastic and is not very crowded. All in all we had a great time. Comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vrndarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus L, Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with the community. It is delightful to note that you had a wonderful stay and that our standards and services were up to your expectations. We hope you will visit us again on a possible future visit.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We spent two weeks at hotel Citrus in February-March. The service was excellent and the staff was so kind. Special thanks to Upuli and the staff of The restaurant. The hotel area is nice with green areas and big trees. Next winter I will return ❤Kaija from Finland

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Kaija Marjatta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus L, Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to see the sentiments you have shared on Citrus Hikkaduwa followed by your stay.

We are delighted to note of your positive endorsement granted. We hope you will visit us again on a possible future visit.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience. Even though We went there during the off season time, there was was no difference in terms of service and quality if the food. Chef Ruchira and his staff were excellent and accommodated us very well.
The location is excellent with easy access to the beach and other restaurants.
We hope to go there many more times. All in all definitely worth the trip.


Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Iranthi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus L, Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you so well.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Arrived in Hikkaduwa without reservation and got not only the best deal but also the best service upon entering the property. Receptionist Ishrak Sadath provided an excellent service, and he made our stay a great one! In general lovely rooms with balcony, overlooking the sea, beautiful swing set at the beach, and last but not least: friendly and warm service at all areas: Ishrak at Reception, Sambat at the Bar and the two Indonesian ladies at the spa! Beautiful sunset at the beach, unforgettable experience with turtles in the morning! One of our best memories of our time in Sri Lanka. Always again!

Room Tip: Sea view deluxe recommended.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank contactmuneeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus L, Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the compliments and for your review. The team will be delighted by your feedback and for highlighting the experiences you have had with us. We are really happy to hear that, you have had a memorable stay with us. Look forward to welcome you back again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews