We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hotel, good food but quite pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2012

+
Excellent location, with beaches both to the left and right
Very good sized, well equipped well kept rooms with sea views
Excellent service and always with a smile in the restaurant
Helpful and courteous front desk staff

-
Very overpriced in the restaurant and bars

No watch tower, lifeguard or life dingy provided by hotel. I know it is a public beach, but there are a lot of hotel guests using the beach. On our last morning we witnessed 3 young men in distress and my husband and a local man swam out to assist them. My husband managed to rescue 2 of the men, but the local man who swam in to assist drowned. The 3rd man was rescued by local fishermen who I managed to alert. The hotel could at least provide life buoys with ropes on the front. The life buoy at the pool which the pool boy took with him when I alerted him that help was needed was very small and lacked a rope to throw to enable quicker assistance. A hotel of this standard should have a some kind of safety policy in the event of an accident

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have sea views, but we were first given a room on the 1st floor which smelt damp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,308 - 1,312 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

Second stop of our honeymoon was to Chaaya Tranz in Hikka town. This is a tourist town, which was a little disappointing. The locals seemed to be well aware of how to make a buck in this tourist infested city. We were taken on a glass bottom boat, when there was rough sea and we saw nothing and my wife and I got sea sick even though we had only gone as far as 50 meters to the sea. We turned back within 5 minutes but still had to pay the full amount set for 20 mins. The hotel experience was completely opposite. The service was excellent, amazing seafood, and very pretty colorful rooms. They have a all you can drink cocktail hour and this was great, as we had a lot of fun, trying out different drinks. And they even bring along little munchies to taste. Staff were the best. Thanks CHaaya tranza, you saved the day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

First of all, I must say that I was part of a corporate group staying at Chaaya Tranz over the weekend. It so happened that there were two corporate outings, so there were more local holidaymakers than foreign tourists. Our expectations were high, as the hotel was refurbished and reopened less than a year ago and JKH hotels being known for its tasty food and superb spread.

Reception - We arrived much later than the main group, the welcome was pleasant, a smiling staff member opened the car door, helped us with the luggage, handed us cold towels and a chilled fruit drink.

Check-in was convenient, with a stewardess escorting us to the room.

Room - was on the first floor with a view of the beach. The decor was nice and bright and I thought the floral printed material on the cushions made it cheery. The lighting is well thought out. The size of the room was ok, the bathroom rather small and cramped. A balcony extends out of the room, furnished with easy chairs, a small table and a comfy cushioned daybed for relaxing in. A lovely and thoughtful addition for sipping a drink or cuppa tea while enjoying the sea breeze and view.

Food- was more of a letdown. We expected more from a Keells hotel. Dinner was the main meal where the entire group was gathering. However the food was not tasty, spread was limited, there were only two action stations with kottu, stuffed roti and stir fried meat. The lack of seafood such as crab, prawn, squid as well as BBQ meats and sausages was apparent. The dinner menu could have been so much better, had there been actions stations out on the terrace considering the good weather. The dessert options lacked variety and overall the meal was a disappointment. The dissatisfaction was exacerbated by the fact that the hotel had separate dinning areas for the corporate groups and the other in-house guests, thereby creating the feeling that the locals were given a cheap dinner. The breakfast was good with a wide enough choice of western and Srilankan fare. There were actions stations for hoppers, pol roti, omelettes and waffles.

Decor and Gardens – The newly refurbished hotel has an edgy Srilankan style with chic accessories. I love the bright backdrop at the front desk adorned with wooden masks, a stylized version of the traditional masks found in Ambalangoda. There is a wall adorned with graffiti as you enter the hotel that catches your eye. The furniture is a mix of both modern and traditional combined stylishly. The light fittings at the bar and main courtyard are very nice. The lobby and lounge areas of the hotel do not give you a good sea view, but the open terrace dinning area does and is pretty cool. However, do watch out for the crows stealing your food!!
As for the garden, the hotel hasn’t bothered too much with it or the upkeep of the beach area. The lawns were not maintained properly, and overall landscaping had not been done contributing to a look of neglect. I do hope the hotel makes an effort to upkeep the gardens better, as it makes such a huge difference.

Service – All the staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful.

Getting there – We drove up on the expressway, which took only 40 mins, but from the exit to the hotel took another 30 mins despite the distance being only 14km!! The road is narrow and not so great, although you do get a glimpse of typical Srilankan village scenery of paddy fields and life at a slower pace.

I would say the hotel has the potential to do so much better in terms of food and general upkeep of the hotel and gardens.

Would I go again? Probably not!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sancharakaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Just spent two days at this seaside resort, it was well worth the visit. The staff were all very courteous and always ready to assist with a smile , The food was excellent only surpassed by the ever willing staff. The grounds were well maintained , the pool was fantastic , I could have frolicked all day there. The rooms were elegantly furnished , all with an ocean view and very clean.The A/C was whisper quiet. The room staff were always at hand to help. This is indeed 5 star service with a smile.

Room Tip: Getting full board with three meals a day will give one fabulous buffet at mealtimes which would sav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nalin_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Surrounding of this hotel really nice, it's just next to the Galle - Colombo main road. but still there is no disturbance because of that.

One problem we had was they had food arranged at the buffet but we were clueless of what to pick, we had to do trial and error with the food, but we enjoyed it since we try new food. but for someone who is not in the same track, may be bit confusing about what to pick. It would have being great if someone was there who can recommend food to those who are confused and don't know what to pick.

The staff is friendly, welcoming and serves at their best with lot of respect.

Room and the bath room were clean, it was cozy and nice.

Overall we only had a short stay but still spent some nice time there.. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dushmantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
5.6 km away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 29 in Hikkaduwa
635 reviews
0.5 km away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#9 of 29 in Hikkaduwa
763 reviews
2.3 km away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 29 in Hikkaduwa
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 29 in Hikkaduwa
409 reviews
2.8 km away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#22 of 29 in Hikkaduwa
157 reviews
3 km away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon

Address: Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#5 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $119 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
112 Km away from the bustling city of Colombo and located on the Southern shoreline of Sri Lanka is the district which offers a 24-hour party on the beach. Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon Hikkaduwa, rated a four star is built along the golden sands, calls out to all those who enjoy island-life and beach-life with a promise to pamper its guests with the Southern Sri Lankan hospitality. In each room there is a spacious private balcony looking out to a view of the Golden Belt of the South Coast. 2 family suites, 4 corner suites, 4 deluxe rooms, 140 superior rooms. Air conditioned and equipped with a DVD player, 32" LCD TV, WiFi, mini bar, safety deposit box, telephone with IDD, complimentary tea and coffee making facility, hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Hotel facilities and services: a selection of dining venues, the main restaurant, specialty crab restaurant, pool restaurant and coffee shop. A lounge and pool bar that offers a wide array of local and international spirits, a roof-top spa facility, banquet hall and conference facility (300 to 500 pax). Moreover the hotel houses a freshwater swimming pool, PADI certified dive center and an excursion counter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa Hotel Hikkaduwa
Coral Gardens Hikkaduwa
Coral Gardens Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing