We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Chilled out beach holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property
Beach bliss
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach bliss
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Beach bliss
Pool
Dining table seating 8
A well equipped pantry
Sea views
Front Garden
Private beach garden
Pool as seen from the beach
Views of the ocean from the living room
Cool, uncluttered interior
View of the ocean from the living area
Spectacular sunsets over the Indian ocean
The pond
Bedroom with private garden and open air bathroom
Sea view bedroom with attached bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
2tubby
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chilled out beach holiday.”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Spent a wonderful 5 days just chilling out at the villa. The staff were absolutely brilliant and could not do enough to make sure everything was perfect. One word of warning, if your on a diet don't expect to lose weight as the food is both delicious and plentiful. Particularly the seafood and fish try the jumbo prawns if they are available each one is almost as big as a lobster.The house itself is probably best described as "shabby chic" with the rear windows acting as picture frames to give a beautiful view of the ocean at the the end of the garden. There is some traffic noise from the road in front of the house but this is not overly intrusive.The sea is probably a little rough to swim in for anyone who is not a strong swimmer but then there is the private pool for that, leaving the near deserted beach for peaceful walks particularly at sunset.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The staff were great
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Thank you, we are so happy you had an enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossandLi...
Gold Coast, Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beachside holiday”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Good;

The house is in a beautiful location, right on the beach. The design is light, open and airy, capturing every sea breeze available. the furnishings are comfortable and the ambiance relaxing. The pool and garden area are fantastic. The wifi worked well.

The staff are friendly, and go out of their way to be helpful. They arranged fireworks for our 25th wedding anniversary (which we paid for).

The owner is very accomodating, especially after the difficulties encountered in booking (more below).

The Bad;

Despite the rave reviews of the cooks ability, we very quickly reverted to self catering; cooked breakfasts were cold - despite being up waiting for them and the interpretation of spaghetti bolognese was one of the most original we have ever experienced - and not in a good way. There did appear to be lots of strange little additional charges each day - very small in value but adding up to an additional $10-15USD per day.

Daily cleaning of the bathrooms and bedrooms just did not happen, for three days. The linen was never changed over a five day stay and we wound up laundering the towels ourselves. The top sheet was a single bed sheet for two people with no quilt/blanket.

The traffic noise can be problematic, if you are a light sleeper - bring earplugs.

The Ugly;

The booking process through Tripadvisor was a complete shambles - this was completely beyond the control of the owner - but we would NEVER book trough Tripadvisor again. Our booking was cancelled and both the owner and ourselves were told the other was responsible. An automated alert to complete payment from Tripadvisor was never sent resulting in an automatic cancellation, attempting to recover the booking took almost three weeks.

The toilet system does not allow the disposal of used toilet paper, this is disposed of in a bin in the bathroom - as the bathrooms were not cleaned for three days…. there are lots of flies in Sri Lanka this time of year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on the beach, pool and garden.
Liked least: Lack of servicing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
I am sorry to hear of the shortcomings you have mentioned about some aspects of your stay with us. Allow me to clarify the points raised by you. We ask our guests to place their breakfast order in the evening for the following morning, but, you had consistently failed to do so. The cook had to purchase ingredients and prepare your breakfast whilst catering to last minute requests. The one and only additional charge was approximately US$2.50 for a bottle of olive oil. There were no other additional charges, so your claim about a charge of $10-15 per day is, to put it kindly, an exageration! The linen was changed in two of the bedrooms when your group decided to change the bedrooms on the second night. The rooms/bathrooms were cleaned on two occasions, the only occasions when you actually allowed my staff access to the rooms. Our staff do not enter private spaces (the bedrooms) without permission from guests. You were actually provided with a towel change, again proving your claim to be untrue. Light duvets were provided when requested - it is generally too hot for duvets even with the ac on, so they are not standard issue. Traffic noise can be heard only in the bedroom on the street side, so yes, light sleepers using this room should use ear plugs. Yes, we have a very eco-friendly wc system which works beautifully with the waste bins for non organic waste. It is clean and efficient. There are never flies in the bathrooms. All our guests until now have shared our high standards of hygiene, and allowed our staff to clean the bathrooms daily! I am astounded that you never once called me during your stay (on the house telephone, at no cost to you), to register a complaint. I spoke to you on the day you arrived at the villa and told you to contact me if you had any problems or questions. By the way, I discovered that Tripadvisor had actually sent you an email reminder, with a copy to me which I found when I did a better search, about the second payment being due. It was no fault of Tripadvisor but an oversight on your part. Your booking was eventually reinstated with no additional costs to you, which I found to be very gracious on their part, do you not agree?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionamac3...
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute Delight”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Booking on the internet all the way from New Zealand seemed like quite a risk, but from the moment we arrived we were more than delighted with our decision. The villa is architecturally beautiful with a simple design allowing for a lovely breeze, views out to the ocean, plenty of space and stylishly decorated. We had brilliant weather - the only rain being on the night we arrived. The sea was a little rough to swim in, but the sandy deserted beach was perfect and we spent many hours in the lovely pool.
It's a little beyond walking distance to restaurants and bars so we took full advantage of the staff who cooked us endless Sri Lankan dishes with fresh locally produced produce. Most days we hired a car and driver, or tuk tuks and had an explore up and down the coast. Loved going down to Galle (about 40 min) and blown away by Lunaganga Gardens. So we also had fabulous meals when we were out.
Would definitely recommend this villa. You'll be extraordinarily well looked after by the staff and it feel like a little piece of paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShanghaiK...
Shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for somewhere private and peaceful for a vacation, I highly recommend visiting Olu Beach Villa, as we had a most relaxing time for 7 days. Although it’s a 2.5 hour drive from the Colombo airport, it's all worth it as you get peace and quiet in the villa, as well as the beautiful beach, ocean, and private pool.

The villa has 3 bedrooms, however we only used one bedroom since it was just the two of us. The bedroom faced the ocean and provided beautiful sunrises every morning. We even took a nap a couple days, as it was so relaxing & peaceful.

The four staff of the villa are very professional and dedicated. We had a cook, helper, gardener and security guard. They all spoke wonderful English. The cook used local ingredients as much as possible to create delicious Sri Lankan food for us everyday. We enjoyed it very much, however we wanted to have some Western food. The cook was also able to create Western dishes and it satisfied us very much. In addition, they even were able to use the grill to cook local lobster and crab for us one evening.

The villa location is in between two towns, so we actually took a 45-min tuk-tuk to Galle to visit the Galle Fort and check out the town. There are some nice western restaurants in Galle, so if you want to get a sense of what the town looks like, I would recommend you spend a day in Galle to walk around.

One of the highlights of our visit was getting exposed to the local culture and life. We visited a local outdoor market which was a five minute walk from the villa. It was incredible, and as crowded and loud as ever. If you are an adventurer I would suggest you take a look, as you see the local life and also may buy fresh vegetables & fruit.

Overall we had a wonderful stay in Olu Beach Villa and it is much more beautiful than you see with your own eyes, when compared to the pictures on the website. The owners Nirmala and Dave are very nice and they welcomed us upon our arrival with a detailed explanation of the villa and everything they thought we might need.

We will definitely miss this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NKittoSwi...
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
“Paradise exists here”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The Olu Beach Villa was truly the ultimate holiday- relaxing, restful and rejuvenating! We were there with two little boys (3 and 1 year old) and the visiting grand parents. We rented all three bedrooms to allow the littlest to have his space to sleep in at night. The Olu Beach Villa really thinks of everything- pack and play available with mosquito net, high chair, sand toys etc. The beds were extremely comfortable, the space was clean, the area was always nicely groomed and managed and the pool was perfect. The beach is a little rough for little kids but we took a quick train ride into Hikkaduwa (15 minutes away) to enjoy their calm beach for a morning and then back to the villa for naps and pool time. The food was fun and we felt spoiled by the attentive and kind staff. I will definitely be coming back here.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing