We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best place I'd ever stayed”
other travellers have booked this property
relax by the private pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
relax by the private pool
open plan living and dining area dining area and staircase to first floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
relax by the private pool
open plan living and dining area
dining area and staircase to first floor
indoor dining area
formal indoor dining
kitchen island and hob
the kitchen
double staircase
the view upstairs
upstairs landing
upstairs landing to third bedroom
master bedroom
master bedroom view
master bedroom dressing area
master bedroom and veranda
master bedroom en-suite
veranda off master bedroom
bedroom 2
bedroom 2
bedroom 2 dressing area
bedroom 2 en-suite
bedroom 2 veranda
bedroom 3
bedroom 3 dressing area
bedroom 3
bedroom 3 en-suite
outside dining area
outside dining table and stools
ground floor veranda
Lagoon view of The Retreat
the cabana
cabana view with ponds
our paddle boat on the lagoon
jetty view of the lagoon
front view of the villa
three wheeler in the driveway
the pool and gardens
rear view of the villa
sunbeds by the pool
pool view of The Retreat
side entrance
the fantastic team at The Retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Marie R
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best place I'd ever stayed”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The house was absolutely amazing. Everything and more that you could ever have dreamed of. The housekeepers Prem and Sunitha were very kind to us, and Sunithas cooking is absolutely amazing. My family and I couldn't have dreamed if a better place to start our vacation in Sri Lanka. Even though the house is a bit hard to find and far away from the beach we wouldn't have stayed any where else in Hikkaduwa. Every body should treat themselves with a stay at the villa. The pictures of the interior of the house, doesn't do any justice to experiencing the house in reality. It's much nicer than what the pictures show.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for the great review. Please do recommend us to friends and family and should you decide to make a return trip we can offer you a 10% discount on the total cost of your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manisha A
1 review
“Beautiful place with excellent caretakers”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at The retreat, total of 6 adults and 2 small kids(under 7). The villa is very nice, comfortable and situated perfectly on a lake. The bedrooms are large, bathrooms are modern and the grounds are excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool, which was kept clean every morning by Prem. Prem's wife Sunitha does excellent cooking and we enjoyed her breakfasts and dinners. Sunitha also took care of our laundry and numerous other chores. since the Villa is right on the lake, we were able to do fishing and go on boat ride. The Hikkaduwana beach is about 15 mins tuk tuk ride. Our entire stay at the villa was excellent and we were very well taken care of by Sunitha and Prem. If there was one thing that was a nuisance, it was the mosquitoes(byproduct of being on a lake with lot of greenery). Take a lot of bug spray/cream.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karie H
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a Retreat”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This 3 bed/3.5 bath house is set in a quiet corner of the lagoon. We had two families with four children aged 5 to 7. The kids never wanted to leave the house. We took the boat out in the lagoon, swam in the lovely pool, and ate food created for us by Sunitha. It was simple and easy and we were well taken care of by the staff. I would recommend asking the owners to book your incoming taxi - the house is quite difficult to find if you don't know where you are going. Also, the pool's shallowest depth is over 1 m, so the two smallest children couldn't stand on tiptoe.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudeSwin
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at The Retreat in July. The villa is absolutely beautiful...a real 5 star experience! Prem and Sunitha are truly wonderful hosts who looked after us really well. I would highly recommend Sunitha's cooking - homemade Sri lankan dishes - delicious!! Prem kept the grounds spotless, cleaning the pool every morning and both always had a smile to greet you. Our drivers, Channa, Sanjay and Upul are very knowledgeable about Sri Lanka. We wouldn't have seen the best Sri Lanka has to offer if it wasn't for them. They are very proud of their country and quite rightly so!!
We experienced the elephant festival - a definite must see - a very grand affair. Also, take a train ride up the mountains to see the tea fields - a fabulous experience.
We will definitely be returning one day as this is one of our best holidays ever!!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah K
1 review
“Beautiful, relaxing retreat in a tranquil location.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The picturesque retreat is situated in a stunning location, sat on the banks of a shimmering lake aptly named 'the blue lagoon'. If requested , the local Staff will cook delicious traditional Sri Lankan foods, which can be enjoyed 'Al Fresco' on the terrace whilst watching the sunset over the Blue lagoon after a relaxing dip in the pool. The regular drivers have extensive knowledge of the area and attractions further a field, offering cheap rates to guests at The Retreat. Excursions can be arranged at short notice with the Drivers, to many fascinating activities and attractions for example: Elephant orphanage, turtle sanctuary and a ride on a Steam train up the mountains to visit the tea fields.My stay was breathtaking, relaxing and the very best holiday i have had in my life.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing