We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
saramaes1...
Herentals, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a fantastic 4 days at PJ's.

The location is wonderful, perfect for a couple looking for a quiet hideaway.

We will definitely come back and highly recommend this place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimi11
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The place was so beautiful and peaceful. A great place to go with some friends and chill. the pool was great, a big garden and my favorite part was kayaking. We all had a blast and also the care taker was really helpful. Thank you to the owner and the care taker for making our stay very memorable. differently i will return to this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alun1955
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“THE GOOD AND THE BAD”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed 10 days at this property, our third one during our 4-week visit to Sri Lanka.

It is well off the beaten track, and requires a long walk to pick up a TukTuk, unless your fortunate in catching an empty one returning from the Fisherman’s Wharf situated at the end of the road.

The grounds are large, and partially screened from the road, giving a bit of privacy. The grounds overlook the lagoon, and passing fishermen and abundant bird life can be seen, as well as the occasional water monitor, crossing the grounds.

However the main feature of this property is the swimming pool, which is large enough for a good swim, and is very warm.

However the downside. The kitchen, if you could call it that is appalling. There is a two gas burner, run from a gas cylinder, a sink and a fridge freezer, which still contained green beans dated November 2014, as well as other leftovers. The kitchen was dirty, and basic, even by Sri Lankan standards.

The electrics are dangerous. The lighting in the main bedroom is provided by just two standard lamps, one of which had a live light bulb holder, which resulted in me receiving an electric shock. This was reported to the owner but no action to remedy this was made. We had a power cut one morning, an RCD on the main power supply burnt out. Although the caretaker was aware of this, he took no action until the evening for it to be repaired. We had no power until 9 p.m.

The caretaker had no respect for our privacy and would frequently enter the open living area, even whilst brushing his teeth. The final insult was to stand behind us watching a film, which we were viewing on our laptop. Despite a complaint to the owner PJ, these unwelcome intrusions continued throughout our stay.

Unless the kitchen and power supply was improved and brought up to acceptable standards, and the caretaker ceased his intrusions we would not stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
I am very sorry that your stay at PJ's was not as enjoyable as it should be. I just want you to know that, following your feedback, the caretaker has been instructed so that he is more aware of guest privacy. Also, a supervisor has been engaged to ensure better cleaning and maintenance. I hope you do change your mind about future visits!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineR...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A private slice of paradise at an unbeatable price”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This beautiful little gem is a slice of exotic country living at an unbeatable price. The pool is just stunning, especially in the evening, the open air showers allow you to feel at one with nature and the huge grounds going down to a lagoon allow for adventures galore for families and friends alike. My favourite moments; sitting poolside by night, chatting with my friends; plucking papaya right off the tree to eat for breakfast; ordering crabs in the morning fresh from the lagoon from the cook who they arranged for us and eating what must have been the best crab curry of my life. This is the perfect tropical getaway I wish I could call home forever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Not being able to stay forever
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
1 review
“Relaxing and stress-free holiday.”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The villa locates in a village where the local people lives, so its a total get away from the tourism.
Its a perfect place to enjoy of the quietness and the stress-free environment.
We had lovely time just playing cards and hanging out, it was a perfect holiday for us.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing