We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sri Lankan sanctuary”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and pavilion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and pavilion
pool view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Pool and pavilion
pool view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kim f
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sri Lankan sanctuary”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our initial three day booking at Gallindawatta villa drifted irresistably into five very relaxing, comfortable ones in this peaceful home. Meeting the friendly Roshan and other staff was the first in a series of surprises that enamoured us with this place. The garden and pool were more beautiful than the photos showed, the house was immaculate, well appointed and homely and the food and service was really wonderful. It seemed nothing was too much trouble in the kitchen and all tyhe staff went about their work, conscious of providing guests with privacy combined with service, suggestions and advice when needed. We felt especially spoilt with the range and quality of fresh, delicious meals, with far more than adequate quantities served.The property is quiet and secluded, not far from the simple activity around small nearby villages, or a tuk tuk ride to town or beach. The feeling is that of safe sanctuary, close to nature and free from the noise of city life, yet there are all the modern facilities you need to stay entertained and in touch with the rest of the world. The website description is understated, so finding our accommodation better than expected made it very difficult to leave. We highly recommend an extended stay to settle in, feel the rhythms of life at Gallindawatta and fully appreciate all that it has to offer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judithcha...
UK, Warrington
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Pure tranquility”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the villa for 14 nights in August and can say from booking the villa we could not wait. Tam the owner was very helpful and kept in touch with us.

Firstly the villa - in beautiful surroundings and we felt very much home from home. The villa had everything you could possible want and the space and bedrooms were of a good size. Sometimes we felt like we were rattling around as there were only 2 of us and the villa is really for 6 people.

Thushara and Roshan really look after us. Roshan offered advice of where to go to eat what beaches were best to visit etc. Roshan cooked for us in the evening and made us whatever we wanted. The quality of the food was by far the best we eat in Hikka, Roshan's Sri Lankan curries were fantastic. One night Roshan did a BBQ for us by the pool and visited the fish market to get plenty of fresh fish and seafood for us.

You pay for breakfast which is about £2.50pp and a Sri Lankan evening meal was £4pp, if you wanted anything else then you just paid for the cost of the food from then shops.

Thushara stays at the villa in a room behind the kitchen and is on hand to do anything for you, whenever you need it. Each morning he would set a table up for us in the garden overlooking the pool and then make us breakfast, again anything that we wanted. Thushara comes over as very quiet but he is a really friendly and helpful person who always had a big smile. Thushara also drove us around in the villa's tuk tuk and he was a very safe driver. When we wanted Thushara to pick us up we would just text Roshan and he would then get Thushara to come and pick us up.

The grounds of the villa are fantastic and the number of birds that visit the gardens is unbelievable. We loved nothing more then just walking around the gardens walking down to the pool area and then sitting in the pavilion looking out over the paddy field.

I can not recommend this villa enough, the actual villa is fantastic but add in the surroundings, the pool, the food and the service from Thushara and Roshan and it is a 5 star +++

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules R
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Asia's best kept secret; a private sanctuary”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I loved it so much I had a tear in my eye when leaving… I want to go back to 'Villa GW' asap! It felt like our own private sanctuary surrounded by nature and I was seriously considering an early retirement plan and buying the property next door. I’ve travelled extensively through Sth East Asia, India and Nepal and wasn’t expecting to be so enamoured with this place. What got me in was the feeling of escaping the world amidst this gorgeous, well established, tropical garden, with the infinity pool overlooking the lush green rice fields. The al fresco shower attached to a king coconut palm was a treat. The kilometre of distance between ‘Villa GW’ and the shops, restaurants and beach of Hikkaduwa was just right. The other factor that charmed me was the cuisine cooked by Roshan and Thushala and discussing the menu for the day and selecting exactly what I felt like… Lady Muck or what! (a woman who has pretensions to be of high station but who in reality is anything but). In particular watching Thushala grating the coconut for the freshest and tastiest sambal ever. Starting the day with a tranquil swim and tea served by the pool followed by breakfast was the ultimate. Pleasures here are pure and simple, eg swinging in a hammock listening to the sounds of nature, spotting a blue kingfisher bird or making an exotic flower arrangement with flowers picked from the garden. The Fireflys at night are magical. All this with a cost that is so very reasonable. Villa GW is one of Asia’s best kept secrets. A big THANK YOU to Roshan and Thushala and Tam (the owner) for making our holiday so special.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansje
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Get pampered in Hikkaduwa”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Allthough you can book the three seperate rooms via Agoda, Villa Gallindawatta is definetely not an hotel. It's much better. We rented the whole villa for a week in July 2013. We arrived around 9 o' clock in the morning, straight from the airport and thoroughly jetlagged. We we're welcomed with fresh fruit juice en big smiles by cook and manager Roshan and his aide Tishara. The villa has a vestibule, a large living room with dining area and three double bedrooms. The bedroom are airconditioned, the living room has a fan. There's an entertainment center with loads of movies and cd's for when the weather isn't to good, but if it's dry it's much nicer to venture outside. The 6000 square metre property has it's own infinity swimming pool, grea foor cooling of at the end of the day. Anytime of the day. 
Allthough we visited in the southwest monsoon low season, we did not get a lot of rain, except during the night when we were sleeping.The villa is situated about one kilometer inland and it's an easy 10 minute stroll to the beach. As it was low season, there weren't many tourists, so not a lot of beach restaurants and bars were in operation. Basically we had the beach (and the Hug Inn) almost to ourselves. We visited Galle by tuktuk an Roshan took us to a moonstone mine where we made our own silver jewelry. 
There is a menu, but you don't really need it. Roshan worked as a cook in large hotels and on ships, so he is able to rustle up anything you order. We had all kinds of curry meals, fashioned to the not spicy taste of our kids, but also great spaghetti bolognese. Breakfast with lovely fruits and lunch are also made to order. Roshan does the shopping and you pay the bills and a little extra for cooking gas and petrol.If you book, deal directly with the owner Tam via Flipkey, that way you avoid the bookingfees of Agoda. 
We we're thoroughly spoiled during the week and really enjoyed our stay here. 

Travelling group: Gezinnen
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliona H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bespoke luxury”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in August 2012
10
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a wonderful eight days in Villa Gallindawatta in March 2012. We were there for him to watch the cricket test in Galle, about 20 miles away. The villa is beautifully appointed with a lovely garden and swimming pool The setting is magnificent The birdlife and nature there is stunning. We were looked after by Roshan, who is an excellent chef. My beloved husband died two months after we came back from Sri Lanka, so it is unlikely that I will ever visit the lovey Villa again but I will always remember the truly wonderful time that we had there. My husband called it "bespoke luxury" which sums it up very well.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing