We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Ocean view across the dining table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ocean view across the dining table
Beautiful open ocean views from anywhere in the property The front garden, pool and open Ocean views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Ocean view across the dining table
Beautiful open ocean views from anywhere in the property
The front garden, pool and open Ocean views.
Our swimming pool as viewed from above!
The house, wall and pool lit up at night (just choose a pool colour!)
Beach towels are included
The beach house viewed from in front of the swimming pool
The main house, sun deck and shaded veranda with monsoon blinds
Outdoor living.  Day and night
Sliding glass doors lead straight out onto a large shaded veranda and living area
Locally-made veranda furniture for lounging and dining outside
Relax in comfort enjoying the sunsets and the ocean views in any weather with monsoon blinds
Let us prepare a seafood BBQ for you to eat at the beach house.
Outside on the upstairs studio apartment balcony
The kitchen inside the upstairs studio apartment
Inside the studio apartment upstairs
The en-suite bathroom in the upstairs apartment
The ground floor double bedroom
The ground floor double room en-suite bathroom
The ground floor twin bedroom
The twin bedroom en-suite bathroom
The ground floor kitchen
The back garden with secure parking space. Driver accommodation available (on the right)
Entrance to the beach house from the side garden
You'll never tire of these amazing sunsets!
Another sunset view taken from directly in front of the beach house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
WORLDLIKE...
UK
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 30 September 2008 for a stay in September 2008
3
people found this review helpful

We have just come back from Sri Lanka and stayed at the Beach House - it was exactly as described and we were very happy with the whole experience.

It was just myself and my husband and we prefer self catering as we feel we can just do as we please.

Mahinda and his team loked after us from the minute we landed - we flew with QATAR - which we would thoroughly recommend too!

We were picked up from the airport and then had the long journey from the airport - Mahinda was waiting for us when we arrived at the house.

Mahinda helped us arrange the trips that we wanted to do and whether it was him or another driver they made sure we did everything we asked and loads more. They arranged hotels for us when we went on trips which were very good value and excellent.

I would thoroughly recommend the beach house and my advice would be to put yourself in the hands of Mahinda and his team - you will not be dissapointed.

We went to Kandy for a trip via the elephant orphanage and was taken by Gamini (arranged by Mahinda) he was great!!! we saw lots of things on the way there and back and he arranged a great hotel in Kandy (see my other review). He is a very safe driver and made sure we were okay on the 6 HOUR!!!! drive there and back - I have checked with him and he is fine for me to give his mobile no. out - so even if you are not staying at the beach house you could perhaps use him for trips - 0094777450728.

The house is in a lovely location and although I wouldn't recommend walking along the road (due to mad mad drivers) there are always Tuk Tuks around - in particular Harold who was so kind and drove us wherever we wanted to go ensuring we weren't ripped off for glass bottom boat rides and the like. He is always around outside the house - make sure you use him.

Brilliant house, brilliant team, brilliant holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitem8
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tropical Hype”
Reviewed 7 March 2008 for a stay in December 2007
2
people found this review helpful

I am a frequent visiter to Sri Lanka and was really looking forward to renting a house on the beach. First, a few things to consider:
The Tropical Beach House is expensive, and small for what you pay for.
It is close to the road so you get a lot of traffic noise.
The house isn't well kept and needs repairs.
The staff doesn't do a good thorough cleaning, and often needed to be asked to come to clean.
The beach near the beach house is infested with sand fleas! Which are very annoying.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Liked best: On the beach
Liked least: Value for price
Visit was for: Quality time with friends
Travelling group: Solo traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2011
I'm really sorry to read that this guest had such a negative experience. Sometimes, managing the property from UK, I only find out about maintenance tasks that need doing from guest feedback but pride myself on taking immediate action to resolve any difficulties as they arise.

For all tropical beaches throughout the world, there are times of the year when sandflies can be more of a problem than normal. I think also that, as with mosquitoes, some people are just more suseptible to bites and irritation. I think this poor guest was just very unlucky on both counts!

Like all beachfront properties in Hikkaduwa, I'm close to the Galle Road but can't see it as really a problem from the seaside of the house where the most obvious sound is just that of the crashing Indian ocean waves. Either way, the Southern Highway is due to be completed in the couple months, which will reduce the road noise even from the back of the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdjlk
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great times,great place”
Reviewed 25 November 2006 for a stay in September 2005
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I were lucky enough to stay for two weeks at the Tropical Beach House in September 2005, the facilities and location are superb.
The staff who run the whole setup from our driver Lal to Chintaka the housekeeper and Mahinda the manager were extremely helpful and were kind enough to invite all of us to their house on our final evening for a wonderful meal.
It is located in a quiet part of the village but is only a short tuk-tuk trip from the centre of the action (about $1 each way).
The ability to walk directly from the garden onto the incredible beach is fantastic and we were lucky enough to help over thirty turtles get to the sea from their hatching place.
This really is one of the few places I have visited which will appeal to all age groups and types of traveller.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Honeymoon
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boblet
stafford
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great place to relax”
Reviewed 15 November 2006 for a stay in March 2006
2
people found this review helpful

We visited Sri Lanka in March 2006, touring for 4 days before relaxing at the Tropical Beach House.
The house, as the name implies, is right on the beach at Hikkaduwa and is well equipped, both bedrooms air conditioned and ensuite.
Gavin's staff, Mahinda and Chintikka, keep the place beautiful clean and will go out of their way to make sure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible.
If you wish to explore the area, either Mahinda or Lal (the airport pick up driver) will be only to happy to oblige you.
Sri Lanka and it's people is wonderful and really needs the tourist market to pick up again, as Bill Clinton said, the best thing you can do for Sri lanka is visit it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Liked best: location and being among the locals
Liked least: the trip to th
Visit was for: Other
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian
Schweinfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Vielen Dank für Ihre schöne rezension, Sebastian. Ich bin so froh, sie ihren aufenthalt genießen.

Sie sind willkommen, jederzeit wieder... mit dem Rabatt, den wir zu bewerteStammGästebieten immer!

Vielen Dank,
Gavin
---
Thanks so much for your lovely review, Sebastian. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.

You are welcome back anytime... with the discount, which we always offer to valued returning guests!

Thanks,
Gavin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing