We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
42
31
5
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
31
5
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews body boarding jumbo prawns sri lanka surf beach air conditioning first floor indian ocean bars and restaurants sun loungers galle road surfing slips balcony buddhist surfers tuk jungle
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Wonderful stay in mid-December - in one of the big double rooms overlooking the sea, with it's own private bathroom and big balcony, with armchairs and table, and the sound of the waves all night long.
There is a cool shady garden and open terrace, with tall trees, tables & chairs for eating out or working (!), grass and sunbeds. The garden is right on the beach with a few steps down to the sand. The beach stretches in both directions.
Their food is fantastic, and management friendly, professional and helpful.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are lovely
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cmd5555123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilButler28, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Many thanks -come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Wonderful hotel, great staff, outstanding food... and what a location…!

Hard to explain how magical it is to slip off to sleep and gently wake to the sound of the idyllic Indian Ocean. Blissful. Eating breakfast, lunch, dinner or sipping a beer just a few steps from such a beautiful, clean beach is a joy to behold. Safe to say our family of four (two adults, kids aged seven and four) flew home seriously relaxed.

Hikkaduwa is a such a fantastic mix – a lovely, diverse, exciting, easy-going place. The town and its main roads are bursting with life, colour, wonderful scents, people and energy.

The beach, just behind the shops, bars and cafes on the coastal side of the Galle Road route through the town, is completely chilled out. There’s plenty of room here, plenty of surfers, swimmers, sun loungers all the way along.

We spent a few days slowly roasting, sipping from fresh coconuts (ahhh... fresh coconut milk), preparing ourselves for the daily 5pm sundowner cocktail. Sundown is a delight to watch, by the way, with the sky morphing through astounding colour schemes as – view uninterrupted – it slips away, leaving the warm Asian night behind.

Top tip: There’s a lovely little bar (Gamini’s) with a handmade awning two doors down, to the right as you walk onto the beach from the hotel, which makes for another great spot for a happy hour sundowner. 'Shabby chic' without even trying.

A walk further along the beach and you’ll find what we called Turtle Bay, where turtles (not captive), swim in to munch on seaweed. It’s kind of surreal to be knee-deep in the warm, rolling blue, crystal clear Indian Ocean while hand feeding a large, gentle, beautiful turtle.

We travelled around, mostly taking (the ubiquitous, joyful and really very cheap) Tuk Tuks but also hiring a van for longer journeys (staff can help with that).

Not far away there’s a poignant tribute, a grave site, for some of the 40,000 Sri Lankans who died in the tsunami of 2004. Some of the imagery on the wall there tells the story, without words, of what happened that day. It’s a moving, beautiful tribute. A little further along and there’s a sea-facing statue of the Buddha, gifted by Japan, at the site of the train disaster of that day, where so many lost their lives. It’s a serene yet striking piece of work.

Perhaps a little off topic, but we vanned it inland 120 miles or so to Kandy (check out the brilliantly loopy and spooky Helga’s Folly for a stopover and/or grub) to visit the Temple of the Sacred Tooth. One of the Buddha’s teeth (they were split among Buddhist peoples at the time, you see) is kept in this most holy of places and, basically, since way back when, the legend goes that whoever has the tooth holds the power (you don’t get to see the actual tooth itself, but we were assured it is there).

Further surrealness was had at the Hotel Kandalama (about 45 miles further), at Dambulla - five star luxury amid dense forest/jungle, where much of the inside is outside and vice versa (you had to be there). The surrealness came when local monkeys bounced through the branches and dropped onto our balcony after spotting some crisps. My daughter, to that point a fan of merely stuffed monkeys, fell silent in that wonderful moment as her brain exploded.

Much, much to say about this wonderful country and its wonderfully-natured people. In our first week we saw enough to make this a holiday of a lifetime. The Sunbeach was a magnificent launch pad and, in our second week, we did nothing but stay put and soak it up.

The hotel has developed in recent years partly as a result of the devastating tsunami of 2004, which swept up the length of the beach in Hikkaduwa. The management are now involved in leading and hosting gigs, fireworks shows, eclectic art and community projects which bring immense value to a place which lost so much. Big salute to one and all.

Great room (balcony on the first floor... a coconut tree growing through it), loads of space, excellent air con, outstanding view, slept like warm logs.

Our thanks to the team there for their kindness and thoughtfulness (they put on a little fireworks show for my son’s seventh birthday), and extra thanks for the magnificent grub.

As I reflect now, eating toast in wet Belfast, on that soup (damn… that curried crab soup!) or those jumbo prawns or flatbreads and dips (damn those amazing things!) it brings a little tear to the eye.

See you later, Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Best sea views, and sounds, from the balcony rooms at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCJ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilButler28, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Many thanks for such a wonderful review and comprehensive reflection on Sri Lanka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

This is a great hotel, I was really well looked after here and I loved the proximity to the beach and the grounds of the hotel itself. The staff are helpful and accommodating and the food is absolutely brilliant (amazing breakfasts and dinners!). I love Hikkaduwa as it's relaxed, less pretentious than some other resorts along the coast and it's great for access to the jungle and the beach with friendly tuk took drivers to help you around the town and beyond. I'd highly recommend the lagoon safari, the sunday market, the railway to Galle and walking the coastline to the nearby fishing village of Dodanduwa. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the sunsets are incredible at Sunbeach, and the hotel is in a wonderful position on the beach - sitting on the terrace with a beer as your sundowner is bliss. There are also some really friendly bars around and some great tailoring shops to get your favourite clothes copied in. I loved the swimming, body boarding and could have sat and watched the surfers all day long. I highly recommend Sunbeach Hotel and Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: at the front on the first floor you get the best view of the sea and sunsets!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LornaRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilButler28, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Many thanks Lorna you were a delight to host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

The Sunbeach Hotel is splendid! Gorgeous rooms and balconies, great beach, surf and surfing, warm tropical water, delicious mostly Sri Lankan food, friendly, attentive and helpful staff and a fun stretch of beach bars and restaurants in the evenings if you want to eat out. Good cheap surfing schools nearby. Day visit to Galle Fort is a must
My third visit ad I'll be back next year too!
Mike Rowan

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilButler28, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Many thanks Mike. Come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

My husband and I just spent the most fabulous 10 days at this lovely hotel. Booked the Double Deluxe room with Balcony and Sea view and couldn't have been happier. Lovely big bed with mosquito netting, overhead fan and air conditioning. Big bathroom with excellent shower. Walk straight downstairs and you are on a wonderful surf beach, beach beds along the front of the lawn, straight onto the sand. Excellent location, right in the middle of a strip of beach bars, and perfect for swimming or surfing.
Staff are very warm and friendly and fed us tropical fruit, toast and eggs at breakfast and the most delicious curries or fish dishes of an evening. Sitting on our balcony with cocktails or beers watching the sunsets was glorious.
We would highly recommend Sunbeach and are looking forward to returning ourselves next year.

Room Tip: Deluxe Double with balcony and sea view.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank surrealmccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilButler28, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Many thanks come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews