We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of the loris”
Review of Popham's Arboretum

Popham's Arboretum
Ranked #4 of 24 things to do in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The IFS-Popham Arboretum, Sri Lanka's only dry zone arboretum was established over five decades ago on 7.5 acres of thorny scrub jungle and abandoned 'Chena' land in Dambulla which is in the geographical center of our island, where history and culture merge amidst a natural landscape of water and mountains. The arboretum is not only about trees. There and many species of Birds, Butterflies, Dragonflies, Spiders and Mammals including Bats that can be seen within the premises.
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We was visiting night part of this garden/forest. Very interesting to found animals at night like that also the guide gave us an information we was interested in. A lot of different plants and trees.

Also good for kids. Easy to get to.and realy nice place to visit when you are in Dambulla.

Many thanks!

Thank Ілона С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayabuddhi, General Manager at Popham's Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you very much for you kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"slender loris"
in 13 reviews
"night walk"
in 5 reviews
"nature lovers"
in 5 reviews
"night tour"
in 4 reviews
"spotted deer"
in 4 reviews
"nature walk"
in 3 reviews
"yellow trail"
in 3 reviews
"local flora and fauna"
in 3 reviews
"medicinal properties"
in 2 reviews
"trees and plants"
in 2 reviews
"sri lankan nature"
in 2 reviews
"sleeping birds"
in 2 reviews
"morning or afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"civet cat"
in 2 reviews
"his enthusiasm"
in 2 reviews
"endemic species"
in 2 reviews
"local environment"
in 2 reviews
Filter

27 - 31 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

We did the the night time walk to see the grey slender loris, and it was utterly magical. With two guides we walked through the arboretum, past sleeping butterflies and a dozing hornbill. The guides were brilliant, and soon spotted a pair of Loris in the tree tops. Amazing to see these tiny creatures. We were lucky enough to then see three more in another tree. We also saw a number of different insects, some bats and a civet cat. It was a great experience and comes highly recommended.

Thank Chiara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayabuddhi, Manager at Popham's Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you very mush for your great review .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We went on the day tour AND the night tour and really enjoyed this glimpse into Sri Lankan nature and wildlife. Butterflies, insects, slender loris, bats, birds, snakes, mouse deer can all be seen in their natural habitats, as well as dozens of plants & trees. It's a place of education and research and there is a respect for the natural environment here. We turned up on the day without booking anything and had the pleasure of meeting Poorna who became our guide. He is a bright, educated, and interesting young man who is studying horticulture and has a passion for the environment he lives in. He's a real credit to the arboretum- we certainly learned a lot from him!

Quick note - if you do the night tour expect to use a lot energy! You will be walking in the pitch black in the forest with only a few torches to light the way. It's exciting and memorable (especially as we saw three slender loris!), but be careful if you are tired or don't the like idea of walking in the woods in the dark.

Thank 535ChrisS535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayabuddhi, Manager at Popham's Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

thank you very much for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We had a very different evening in Sri Lanka as our guide walked us through the forest in the pitch black looking for night time creatures. The most elusive being the adorable Lorus which we all searched for and finally found ! Hearing about how it all started and the amount of work they put in was quite amazing. Certainly worth a visit while you're over here.

Thank DarrenMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017

This is the only dry zone arboretum in Sri Lanka, established over 50 years ago by a british sailor. Sadly he was educated at Eton and sadly like one of prime minister he separated himself from the Europe and settled there for a long time until retirement when he returned to UK.
Here was a land scared by cut trees including native trees such as palm. He established the arboretum and now after almost 650 years it is flourishing.
It a marvelous place to see tons of butter flies, unusual and almost histori trees , bats and many other small birds including a rare giant squirrels.
The current director, a native Sri Lanka has continued to improve on it and it loos great.
You would be advised to visit for a morning or afternoon. It is in close proximity of Dumballa.
Sadly it is not supported by the government and the project is dependent on visitors and donations.

I likes most the rare buts in the old shed and massive formations of butterflies in the late afternoon.

Thank amiresteki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Popham's Arboretum also viewed

Dambulla, Central Province
Dambulla, Central Province
 
Dambulla, Central Province
Dambulla, Central Province
 

Been to Popham's Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing