We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
85
91
39
21
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
91
39
21
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colonial building no alcohol old trees monkeys playing hear people walking sacred area old colonial style frosted glass large garden ruined city free bikes rice ayurvedic massage spacious grounds dressing room modern bathroom wake up call
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This hotel is converted old governors home, so it is located in the old city, far away from other hotels which are mostly in new city. It has a very large garden, the room is large too. The restaurant is surprisingly good, and the price is far cheaper than similar hotel. However because it is located in the old city, the sacred city, no alholic drink is provided ,,,

Room Tip: Good looking big old house, located inside the sacred city, but no drinks allowed
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lingang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to let us know your experience at this hotel.Our main aim is that all guest who patronize this hotel receives excellent service and hospitality,and we are glad to hear that you did receive and enjoy all our services well.We do not serve alcohol as our property is in the vicinity of the sacred city.Our team welcomes you back to spend more nights and enjoy our variety of food on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Stayed here for two nights. Nice colonial feel and the food is very nice. Surrounded by lushed foliage and trees. Walking on the grounds you will be able to spot one or two peahens. Very quiet even though it is near the roundabout. Nice place to rest your head if you are to visit the stupas.

Room Tip: Remember to lock your doors when you are out Asia there are monkeys about.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AustinTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and meals.Hope you enjoyed watching the lovely peacocks and peahens.Our team welcomes you back to spend more nights and enjoy complete relaxation on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

overnight stay and had breakfast here, was really tasty and a good price, good quality food and local coffee. very old building with nice design. good service. located within vicinity for many ancient ruins. can see monkeys.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank CALTON_SRI_LANKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and the amenities that were on offer.All the staff welcome you'll back to spend more nights and enjoy variety of food on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the sanctuary during a very busy couple of days in Anuradhapura
The location is probably the best if you want to explore the sights as most are of walking distance to the hotel
We had Sri Lankan cuisine and it was very well prepared and served on time
The staff is very very friendly and they deserve a special mention
The rooms were a bit of a let down
The satellite tv connection was very poor and with no wifi in rooms, options were very minimal
My 2nd room had a couple of cockroaches which freaked out our babysitter at the middle of the night
Overall this is a good place but with room for improvement

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dilina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at The Sanctuary at Tissawewa,
Anuradhapura. Your feedback is important to us in every way. Appreciate your comments you have mentioned in some areas & truly apologize for the unfortunate incidents that you have faced during your stay.We are taking immediate action to remedy those aspects.Trust that you would come back to the Sanctuary at Tissawewa & spend another great Holiday with us. We assure you our best service at all times.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Stayed here for five nights in July 2017. Wonderful old renovated colonial governor's mansion, with delightful historical flavor. Really a beautiful old building, and it was a delight to be able to stay in such a place. The grounds are large and full of a variety of beautiful old trees, all very well taken care of. If you go for a stroll you might see anything. Two species of monkeys seem always to be around. Peacocks. And also saw a five-foot-long water monitor lizard once. It is really the only place anywhere near the sacred area, but this is a mixed blessing because it means a longer ride into town if you need to use wifi (on which, see below). If you want to go to the Sri Mahabodhi early in the morning--it opens at 6am and this is usually when the most is going on--you really can't stay anywhere else.

Staff is very friendly, attentive, and helpful. Nishantha, the manager, speaks excellent English and really goes out of his way to help.

Food is good, though the cook does like to plan in advance. They will ask you what you want for breakfast in the evening. You can get a Western breakfast in the morning, but if you want the Sri Lankan breakfast you need to order the night before. The cook sees it as his responsibility to take care of the guests in the hotel, and does a good job of it. Several non-guest reviewers have criticized the service, but if you are staying there it is quick and attentive.

The issues are: wifi is no good. You cannot access wifi from the upstairs rooms at all, and even if you go down and sit right next to the router, the internet is usually so slow that it is unusable. This was a major source of frustration. I had to go to a restaurant in town that had wifi. Second, AC is only in the rooms. All other areas are open-air. Third, definitely a smell in the bathroom. It's not terrible; the manager says that it comes from old plumbing, which they cannot fix because of the building's protected status.The door to the bathroom keeps the smell from the room. Fourth, the electricity is iffy; the circuit often tripped and they had to show me how to reset it. Fortunately the circuit breaker was in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDD29626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear valued Guest,

We would like to Thank you for taking your time on Posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Sanctuary at Tissawewa. We are glad that you have enjoyed the level of Personalized service from our Team of Associates and our Environment provided you with the perfect setting to Simply Unwind & Relax. Our Location is the Highlights of Most of the feedback we receive from our Guests.We are Truly Sorry to hear you endured some inconvenience in other areas that you have mentioned. We Truly regret if you were Disappointed & Sincerely Apologize if we didn’t meet your Expectations in those areas.We are Taking immediate action to remedy those aspects.Trust that you would come back to the Sanctuary at Tissawewa to spend another great holiday with us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews