We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good value for money”
Review of Hosteria Suiza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hosteria Suiza
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Huacachina
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not very good value for money”
Reviewed 15 April 2011

staff is moody. multi day stay discounts are not given.
hotel did not answer my email prior to arrival, eventhough the hotel is basically empty (you would expect them to want us to stay..)
wifi did not work for a full day. (after having to ask more than once for the problem to be fixed) it finally did
afterwards it did work in the room.
breakfast is a disgrace, eggs were still raw, the juice was gross and they did not even have some ham. go to Bamboo's next door, it's so worth the extra money.
rooms are overpriced, though clean and tidy.
rooms at the front are dark, small and outdated. near the swimmingpool they are a lot nicer.

Room Tip: Take a room near the swimmingpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JorisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    80
    53
    28
    13
See reviews for
40
86
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raytown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Included American breakfast and pool make this a good value in Huacachina. Free WiFi is available but not in rooms. Staff didn't speak much English and were not particulary attentive.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wardskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This is a hidden gem at the end of the road in Huacachina, especially if you speak Spanish and are prepared to pay for the more expensive pool-side rooms at the back. Front rooms are a bit old - though clean enough (but beware of wind and open doors - we are practically on a sand dune here, after all).

The service is friendly (mostly in Spanish only), though some staff seemed to be overwhelmed or intimidated by English in groups - we saw restaurant staff avoiding a big table, and when they finally ordered the poor chef seemed to not be able to get things out in good time. The whole restaurant seems new and some of the staff as well.

But, the chef is actually excellent and food is great (slow food in the positive sense prepared at the moment), if there is not a group (12+) waiting. I would go back just for the food (even if pricey for Huacachina - but I would guess none of the others around town have the same quality).

So the food quality and the relaxed pool area get top marks from me! (In the pool area, again be aware that sand can cover tables or chairs within hours with a thin layer when there is wind around - this doesn't mean it wasn't cleaned that morning)

I can't help questioning the one very bad review earlier (ridiculous - as their rating is based on only a brief exchange - and probably partly misunderstanding due to no common language - and never even stayed there to be able to evaluate the rest), because I would guess that what is written there is only half the story. The restaurant has 2 clear parts - Having a pool area for overnight guests only is very common around the world (incidentally the hotel they moved to apparently does the same), so really not enough reason give such a bad rating.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerhardbuttner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

How you feel about this hotel depends on what type of room you get. The rooms vary in quality, location and size. We stayed three nights. We had two different rooms. The night desk attendant was not particularly pleasant. We were shown another room initially - the only room they said they had left - but we refused. It was dismal. We got another room - which was acceptable - and the next day we got a larger, better room. All the rooms cost about the same - a llittle less than $50 a night - but varied greatly. We were there on a busy Peruvian holiday weekend. The hotel has the best setting in town. It is in a quiet area bordered by giant sand dunes. It is quite remarkable. The town was one of our favorite spots in Peru. Truly unique.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dk424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Likes:
-Lobby and pool area are very nice.
-Located on a quiet street with no cars. This is very important because the taxi drivers honk at anything that moves, no joke.
-The view of the dunes and oasis out the window was nice, though a little obscured by trees.

Dislikes:
-They turn the hot water off sometime before 8pm so don't expect a hot shower at the end of the day.
-Rooms are run down and a bit dirty. Our room had many spiders and the bathroom was covered with a 1cm layer of sand or dirt or something all over the toilet, sink, shelf. We had to clean the bathroom before using it.
-Staff speaks zero english so you need spanish
-Walls are very very thin and we heard our neighbors blowing their noses, experiencing various other bodily functions, and watching loud tv.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sn0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huacachina
0.2 km away
Hotel El Huacachinero
Hotel El Huacachinero
#1 of 5 in Huacachina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.3 km away
DM Hoteles Mossone Ica
DM Hoteles Mossone Ica
#3 of 5 in Huacachina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Restaurant Curasi
Hotel Restaurant Curasi
#2 of 5 in Huacachina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Hotel Las Dunas
Hotel Las Dunas
#2 of 28 in Ica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Villa Jazmin
3.0 km away
Hotel Las Flores
Hotel Las Flores
#4 of 28 in Ica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Suiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Suiza

Property: Hosteria Suiza
Address: Balneario de Huacachina 264, Huacachina, Peru
Region: Peru > Ica Region > Huacachina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Huacachina
Price range (per night): $102 - $156
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria Suiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Suiza Huacachina, Peru - Ica Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing