We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUCK - smells like mildew and nothing works”
Review of Hotel Pachacuteq

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pachacuteq
Ranked #24 of 39 Aguas Calientes B&B and Inns
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“YUCK - smells like mildew and nothing works”
Reviewed 23 April 2010

I stayed here with a friend and the rooms are dark and dingy (although the first night my window opened outside where it was LOUD and the second it opened to a concrete wall..) and the hotel is like a huge maze with a lot of steps. My linens smelled like mildew and our showers didn't work. There was standing water in the bathroom upon arrival and my bathroom door was also locked upon arrival (bad for traveler's diarrhea!!). The breakfast was measly and it took a lot of walking uphill to even get to the place. GROSS. This was the worst "hotel" I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redefinition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    21
    42
    14
    8
See reviews for
8
25
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

My wife and I had an unexpected four-night stay at Hotel Pachakuteq (that's how it's spelled on the sign outside the hotel) when we got stranded in Aguas Calientes due to landslides that canceled train service.

My main complaint is that when I paid with a MasterCard, they charged me 25% higher than the rate they quoted me despite the fact that they have the MasterCard logo on the front door. I consider this a very dishonest practice and urge anybody to confirm the rate if intending to pay via credit card.

Aside from the issue with the rate, service was okay. Most of the staff spoke English fairly well, which was helpful for us. They provided a phone at the front desk for local and calling-card calls. When I was stuck on the phone for a long time with American Airlines, they allowed me to bring the phone up to the room.

Our room was rather basic. It was in the front of the hotel, and we heard a lot of noise both from outside on the main street and from other rooms in the hotel. We had a TV but it didn't seem to work. Hot water only lasts for ten minutes, and then you must wait another ten minutes to use it again. We were not informed of this, and my wife was quite shocked when the water suddenly turned very cold. We also noticed one day that the towels smelled really bad.

The hotel is located on a main pedestrian avenue with lots of restaurants, bars, and hotels. The avenue is steep and Patakucheq is near the top, so be prepared to do some climbing.

We met several people in Aguas Calientes who were staying elsewhere. They all seemed satisfied with their accommodations and were paying less than we were, so I have to suggest looking somewhere besides Hotel Pachakuteq when staying in Aguas Calientes.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

I stayed at this hostal for one night to visit Machu Picchu. it is very basic but meets the needs of having somewhere to sleep. The rooms are quite spacious, breakfast is adequate and it is located on a street with a good selction of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2008

Even if your room number is 201, don't assume you are on the 2nd floor...you climb up and up and up 5 or 6 flights of stairs (with a few giant flying cockroaches to urge you on). The rooms are large, and the hotel is quiet. The neighbourhood is fantastic...lots of open markets and interesting restaurants/patios.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank CVfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochinver, NW Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2007

A budget hostal and not so basic actually. Decor is a little bizarre but still very good value and clean. Breakfast included. Curtains concealing windows to the corridor barely adequate to cover ones modesty!

Biggest CONCERN .... escape in case of fire. Labyrinthine, dark and confusing interior, zig-zag passages, occasional power cuts (lit by candles when we arrived) no emergency lighting, smoke alarms, firefighting equipment in evidence or escape route signs posted in corridors or rooms. Long drops from the upper bedroom windows. A potential nightmare if things went wrong at night.

Staff are pleasant and try to be helpful but are not multi-lingual. Some facility with Spanish necessary.

  • Liked — clean and cheap
  • Disliked — SERIOUS safety concerns in event of a fire, especially at night
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't get a room on any of the upper floors! Keep a TORCH handy.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MikeRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
30.8 km away
Inka Paradise Hotel
Inka Paradise Hotel
#16 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
150 reviews
0.0 km away
Llaqta Wasi Hostel
Llaqta Wasi Hostel
#22 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
8 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostal New Day Machupicchu
Hostal New Day Machupicchu
#10 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast
Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakf...
#2 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
690 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Royal Inti Inn
#15 of 39 in Machu Picchu
6 reviews
0.0 km away
Hostal Las Rocas
Hostal Las Rocas
#24 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pachacuteq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pachacuteq

Property: Hotel Pachacuteq
Address: Avenida Pachacutec 809 | Urubamba, Aguas Calientes, Peru (Formerly Hostal Pachacuteq)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price range (per night): $70 - $101
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pachacuteq 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Pachacuteq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Pachacuteq Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing