We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a night...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Machu Picchu Green Nature
Ranked #18 of 39 Aguas Calientes B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok for a night...”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I think most people staying in Aguas Calientes are there for one night to see Machu Picchu the following morning. We stayed one night and our stay was not great but far from bad.

The pros:
* Close to the rail station, just a few minutes walk away and someone was at the station waiting for us.
* Clean comfortable room, no pests or critters.
* Satellite T.V. (not much to do in AC).
* Free Wi-Fi.
* Comparably inexpensive.

Cons:
* Train station was right across from our room and very noisy, the trains come in throughout the day and early morning and will wake you up.
* Breakfast was nothing to write home about, just grabbed a banana and headed for the bus to MP.
* For some reason when we came home at night the lights in the staircase (no elevator) were out and we had to ascend in the darkness... not fun.

All and all the condition of the rooms was good but basic and if your doing a night it is a good option I guess. You might want to ask for a room away from the front of the train station as it can get very loud. If in that neck of the woods I would stay again, but note that its not luxurious by any standard but get the job done at a good price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gred78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    48
    69
    22
    17
See reviews for
43
69
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

First of all, you don't really need to stay in Aguas Calientes for any length of time, 1 night at the most is sufficient. it's super touristy and overpriced. We were trapped here for 2 nights on the basis of mis-purchased train tickets, which was way too long of a stay. Anyway, my husband booked this place based on the reviews on trip advisor. They did pick us up from the train station as planned and walked us back to the hotel. We were able to check into the room right away and the internet worked fairly well which is the reason for my 2nd star. However, the place is noisy. The walls are paper thin and you can hear every conversation on every floor outside the rooms. Furthermore, it is right on the train tracks. Granted, we did have a room facing the train tracks which may have made it more noisy than a room in the back but be aware of the location if train noises bother you. Our room was never made up during our stay either and when we arrived there was soap from the last person still in the shower with an empty packet of shampoo. My other major complaint was no hot water in the shower for 2 days. When I asked about it, the women told me to just let it run for 10 min or so, which I did, but surprise, still not hot water. At this point, I was checking out in less than an hour and was just happy to be leaving. I'll just shower in the hotel back at Cuzco where I'm only paying $20 more a night for and is luxury compared to this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kraussla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We made our reservation weeks in advance. When we arrived on the late train, the staff claimed they had an "internet problem" and took forever to have our room ready. In the meantime they checked in 2 groups ahead of us. When we got impatient -- already looking at less than 4 hours of sleep before waking early to climb Machu Picchu -- we looked around and found the staff building an extra bed in our soon to be triple room. Instead of giving us a single and double they made us wait. Rediculous! Save the headache and go somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptJackNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Decent room for the price and location. Outstanding service throughout, included accomodating our late-night arrival with one extra person beyond expected (five in family), very hospitable for weary tourists on a budget. Breakfast was the only shortfall.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank js2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I was here for an overnight stay prior to my visit to Machu Picchu. The location was great...someone greeted me at the train staion at 10:30 am, and we had just a short walk to the hotel. Considering that most of Aqua Calientes is uphill from the train station, it felt good to not exert myself.
The room was ready and to be honest, it felt good to have a TV in the room following 3 nights of no television at the B&B I stayed in Ollantaytambo. The room was nice, spacious and bright (green) with a bowl of fresh fruit. Yes, the train station was right below and you could hear the trains coming and going during the day..however, come night and early morning, there were no trains arriving or departing. The view outside the picture window was absolutely magnificent. The pricey Inkterra was right across from here, and I can see the guests walking across the railroad tracks to take their excursions.
I awoke early in the morning at 4:30 am, and went to breakfast at 5:00am. I was concerned that breakfast would not be set up yet, however it was a buffet of fresh juice, avocado, meat, pancakes, and local food items that I do not know the names of. It was quite filling.
I was able to leave my bags while I visited MP, and returned to relax on a sofa in the lobby until my train departed.
The only real complaint I had is that they decided to paint the halls outside of my room during my one day stay. The fumes were horrible and I had to take the blanket off the bed to place beneath the door. Additionally, coming and going from my room was challenging. I believe there was a slow period at the time, and I can't much blame them. They need to keep that green paint fresh -lol. But I probably would give them a 4 star rating if not for the paint. Despite this however, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aquablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 km away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.5 km away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.3 km away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.4 km away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machu Picchu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Machu Picchu Green Nature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Machu Picchu Green Nature

Property: Machu Picchu Green Nature
Address: Barrio las Orquideas D-8 | Urbanizacion Las Orquideas D-8, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price range (per night): $99 - $127
Hotel Class:3 star — Machu Picchu Green Nature 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our place wich was decorated in good Andean sense and harmony with the great green local environment. Our place becoming an efficient and magnificent complement visit to Machu Picchu wonder world.The hotel was completely remodel with amplius areas per front desk, lobbies, restaurant and bar; also per mayor comfortability we set up an elevator. The lodging service are complement with free delicious buffet breakfast and free pick up service from train station.Our rooms was sep up with private bathroom, hot & cold water,hairdryer,LCD cable TV, telephone, small hall and nice view to mountain and river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Machu Picchu Green Nature reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing