We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, basic breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights while visiting Machu Picchu. The room, on the 3rd floor, was spacious and comfortable, and there's a spot outside (shared) to sit and watch the birds in the tree adjacent. There's also a bigger sitting area on the second floor, and one on the ground floor.

We had no trouble with hot water in the shower. There was some noise transmission in the bathroom--while we didn't really hear the neighbors in the room, we could hear them clearly in the bathroom. But otherwise everything was quiet.

The very-early breakfast (pre-5 am bus to MP) is pretty basic--just rolls and jam (plus coffee/coca tea). Later, for those not running out for the bus, they offer eggs. It's not a huge portion but it's enough. The seating area isn't very big, so if the hotel is full there might be a traffic jam. Our only knock on the food service was that there were often no cups for the all-day coffee/coca tea pots. But if you want one you can ask.

The employees were all friendly and helpful--they even helped carry our bags to the train station on the way out. Their English is fairly limited but we got by. There's a locking little room for luggage storage after checkout so you can wander town unencumbered.

The Internet does go out fairly regularly, so if that happens when you're trying to check out the card machine won't work. Not just here; we experienced it several times throughout the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wyliefool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017

Very disappointed. And this place got a Trip Advisor excellence award for 2016. How? While the staff was friendly, the property itself is shabby. Upholstery is dirty and stained, paint peeling, etc. There was such positive feedback online when we booked, but now I see that there are disappointing reviews--perhaps the owner or management changed since then? Not sure, but we actually left a day earlier than planned. I didn't even care about a refund--I just wanted to go to a hotel where you could get a hot shower--which Terrazas del Inca B&B couldn't seem to offer. OH...one other thing: if you book here (not advised), we were told at check-in if you take more than one shower a day there is an additional charge!!! WHAT??? I'm all for water conservation (and with the cold water, I was taking a short shower anyway), but if you go in hot season and are hiking around Machu Picchu all day, you might need an extra rinse. Just be prepared to pay for it.

Room Tip: My tip is to book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank X573OYstuartm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Spent a night before our Machu Picchu visit. Got probably one of the best rooms of the place, it had no views but at least was calm. Saw others that had windows to common area, didn't seem much fun. Staff was friendly, breakfast (super basic) started early, so we could get a quick bite before visiting the ruins. We were recommended a guided tour (guide: Edgar) by the hotel that turned out to be a disaster. All-in, mixed experience, if you come here, make sure that you get better service for you money than we did...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank arpadou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Out of our 15 day stay in Peru, this was the only bad hotel experience we had. We booked months in advance and paid for 2 nights for a room at the Terrazas del Inca. Upon arrival, we were told our room would now be in the hotel next door, at the Wiracocha. There was no explanation on why we were changing hotels, only told they have the same owners. There was a huge language barrier. My Spanish is limited, but their English was more limited so I didn't pursue additional questions on why we were being moved.

The room was spacious but smelled like a combination of urine and oregano. There were a lot of dead bugs in the light fixtures above our bed. It was pretty disgusting. This was the loudest hotel we stayed in. The noise was unbelievable. It has an open staircase and the staff would be making a lot of noise early in the morning with tables and chairs, which echoed up the staircase. The doors and floors were really loud. We could hear every single person going up and down the hall and opening and closing their doors.

There were windows in the room above the doors that made it impossible to keep the bright hallway lights out of our eyes while trying to sleep. They should have had curtains to block out the lights. Between the constant noise and light, it was basically impossible to get any sleep, and I ran a sleep fan app from my phone to help drown out the noise.

We were told that for the "free complimentary breakfast" to go back to the Terraza. Our breakfast consisted of 1 egg each, 1 piece of bread and juice. It was very meager and gross. We asked for coffee and the young man brought a small pitcher of coffee that was as thick as mud to our table. There was about 6 ounces in it for my husband and I to share. I'm not sure if it was the breakfast from this place, but we ended up having diarrhea shortly afterwards with abdominal cramping. I'm not sure where else we could have gotten it from since we had bottled water and packaged granola bars later.

We had left our room for the day to go to Machu Picchu and came back to find that housekeeping never made up our room or refreshed our towels. We needed clean towels because we had reused ours a couple of times. I went to the desk and neither employee spoke English. I tried asking in Spanish but she called another employee from upstairs to come down and talk with us. The woman who came down didn't look happy to be interrupted. I explained to her that housekeeping never made up our room and requested two clean towels. We never received an apology for housekeeping not showing up. She just asked if I really needed two clean towels or just one. There were two of us standing there and I said yes, two towels. Didn't I say two towels?

The Wi-Fi was terrible. We weren't able to use it the first couple of hours after we checked in and then it was spotty for the rest of the times we were in the hotel.

This was a really terrible experience. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue2ribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

I booked in February after reading overall positive reviews. I see now that there have recently been more negative ones.

I’ll start with the positives:
1) comfortable bed
2) luggage storage and use of the common area when returning from Machu Picchu

That’s where it ends...
1) The receptionist lied about the credit card machine not working and said we needed to walk right to the bottom of town to draw dollars from the atm. When I protested and said we could try later, suddenly the machine made a miraculous recovery. I can only imagine this was an attempt for them to avoid paying card fees.
2)We battled to sleep (two rooms in different areas of the hotel) Terrible noise from the street and foyer until about 2am. We needed to get up at 4am for Machu Picchu
3)Cold shower
4)The worst breakfast experience in Peru; disorganized staff, no plates, no cutlery. Stale bread and butter.
Not enough seating for everyone at 04:30

There is construction, but this did not trouble us.

My impression was that because people are only staying for one night, there is no attention to small details.

Maybe we were just unlucky...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dorianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 km away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.4 km away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,171 reviews
0.5 km away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,071 reviews
0.2 km away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#14 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
55 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast

Address: Calle Wiracocha M-18-4 Machupicchu pueblo, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 08681, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: AU$55 - AU$102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the bank of the little river that runs through the village of Aguas Calientes, most of the rooms have a beautiful view over the river, and each room is very well equipped. There are outdoor terraces where you can read a book and drink a cup of coffee while enjoying the great view. Breakfast is served very early. At the moment you check in, you will receive lots of information about Machu Picchu and the surrounding area. There is herbal tea constantly available, which you will be able to enjoy free of charge throughout your stay. There is a small restaurant where you can order up food and drink. If you walk for 5 minutes up the hill, you will arrive at the entry gate of the hot springs. The train station and the bus stop is just a 5 minute walk down the hill. The Machu Picchu Archeological Complex is a 30 minute bus ride up from Aguas Calientes. If you choose to walk up to the ruins, it will take you about an hour and 40 minutes. There are nearby sites such as the Mandor Garden where you can commune with nature in all her glory. The Garden is a 40 minute walk. The beginning of the hiking trail up Mt. Putucusi is a 10 minute walk away. If you hike up that trail for an hour and reach the peak, you can look across at Machu Picchu. The people who work at Terrazas del Inca are very warm, friendly, and happy to be of service. For all these reasons, come visit Aguas Calientes, and enjoy a wonderful experience in Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrazas Del Inca Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing