We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The perfect escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection
Ranked #17 of 131 Hotels in Lagos
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

It was like stepping away from the madness of Lagos into a cocoon of serenity, luxury and contentment. I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nkoyo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    54
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
3
5
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I am a Business man and my business shuttles me between Abuja and Lagos very regularly. I had stayed at the Moorhouse, then referred to as the Sofitel a number of times during my lagos visits and then the rooms were in need of renovations.

It was therefore amazing to see the obvious changes in the hotel last week. The new gym is fabulous, spacious and the equipment very up to date. You can have aerobics as well. The Food in the restaurant remains the best in Lagos, great variety and tasteful!. The Bed!!! is fantastic and you need to experience it to know that sound sleep is achieveable in the city of Lagos. Definitely I am back at home with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I visited this hotel (still within Sofitel franchise) 2 years back and was not so positivie about it: it was aging, rooms were not up to the sofitel standard,etc. It is now part og the "M collection" of Accor hotels (same group as Sofitel) and suprisingly standards went up big time: renovated rooms at big (more than in competing Southenr Sun), well furnished and with nice bathrooms. More importantly they are very quiet (which is a big plus in Lagos, believe me !): the hotel is nested in some green areas and the pool side is really lovely. there are no big roads next to the hotel hence no traffic, and the Air conditioner power blocs are not inside as in southern sun, so you won t be disturbed. Last, the food is very good with some French touch (like freshly baked bread and croisant in monring which are reallz tasty and not dry, fresh Avocado salads with shrimps and chicken,..). Net, if you look for a quiet place to relax after the hectic day in Lagos, it's perfect. If you prefer the busy atmosphere of large hotel with packed bar and restaurants, Southern sun is a better bet but I feel less good there. Regarding Value for money, hey this is Lagos - everywhere is overpriced for what you get but Sofitel is amongst the "acceptable" rates. There is more an more compeition (4 points by sheraton has good echoes) so hopefully prices will go down.. let's see...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicostalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

I was really surprised by the Moorhouse. In a good way.
The Gym is well furnished.
the designed in my room was really nice, I felt like at home.
thats the reason why i took all my meals in my room.
Expect the last night, I took the diner at the restaurant. The food was excellent.
in few words I ll say it was a nice experience staying in Moorhouse former Sofitel.
I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndeye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Excellent and cosy luxury hôtel in Lagos ikoyi, the new fitness center and swimming pool are perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soxae75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.7 km away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 131 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
2.4 km away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 131 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.1 km away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
2.2 km away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#10 of 131 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
3.6 km away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#23 of 131 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection

Property: The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection
Address: 1 Bankole Oki Road | Ikoyi, Lagos 550104, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Lagos
#9 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price range (per night): $168 - $248
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star hotel is ideally located in the heart of the Ikoyi residential district, just 5 minutes from the new business district. It offers 90 rooms and suites, a cigar bar, MBar, MBar Garden, four meeting rooms plus a board room, swimming pool and fitness facilities. Perfect for business, romance or tourism, 10 minutes from Victoria Island, the commercial center of Nigeria, and 45 minutes from the airport. Discover this exclusive international boutique hotel and its high quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorhouse Ikoyi Lagos Hotel Lagos
Sofitel Moorhouse Ikoyi
Sofitel Lagos
Sofitel Hotel Lagos
Lagos Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing