We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
108
77
44
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
77
44
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner coconut ice cream san ramon waterfall plastic bottles other places teaching english private room quiet hours building materials watch the sunset short kayak bike rental lake nicaragua hotel restaurant horseback riding amazing location local community
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

This place has the best sunset on the island but it hard to get to. The chicken bus comes 2-3 times a day (if it comes!) and the only reliable one leaves at 8:45 to Santo Domingo and Moyogalpa.
Food was good but a bit pricey and after 2 weeks it was lacking variety. One buffet night was good if you were willing to pay $9 US!
Other restaurants were open sometimes but were very slow. About $3-4. If you don't like bugs make sure you get a dorm with a net as the rooms aren't sealed well and noise travels between walks as do the bugs. A couple of us had disputes with our bill at the end so keep a tab of your own and if you ask for the tent make sure you know the nightly rate! Even if you're alone they'll charge you double occupancy.
There is a school owned by the hostel which is cute and children come to eat lunch in the dining area. Volunteering is available but be very clear about the daily fee, this was where I got overcharged compared to my fellow volunteers.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

We have stayed for four days at the hacienda Merida. We left early due to the fact that we didn't like the place at all.

Rooms: The rooms are not clean, bed sheets are dirty and matrasses totally worn out.

Service: worst of all! We tried to make a reservation online which didn't work. After contacting the hacienda via mail to make the reservation via mail and not online didn't help at all.
When we arrived there were no rooms reserved. Due to this we had to change rooms every night. The staff had absolutely no plan about which rooms are available they nor helped us to finde the best possibility for our stay!

The staff is unfriendly, slow, lacks sense of privacy!! and behavior! It seems like they have no idea about proper service. They gave false information about public transport only to arrange overpriced private shuttles.

Location: the hacienda is pretty, though has seen better days. Meridas is very remote and peaceful.
Negative was the lake. The water is badly polluted; we didn't swim in it!

Food: the restaurant is maximum over pieced for the quality of the food.
The dinner buffet is poor. It contains mostly potatoes, beans and not enough meat nor vegetables. Definitely not worth 9$

Restaurant Tips:
We had breakfast (fresh fruit granola, jogurt, pancakes for maximum 120 cordobas) and dinner in the two comedors on the parallel street to the hacienda. Just walk through the yellow gate and follow the path.
One comedor had amazing pollo fritto for 100 cordobas which was very tasty.
The quality of the food was very good and freshly made. We never had any problems eating it!

Date of stay: March 2016
3  Thank sophiaddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

I stayed at merida for two days in one of the dorm rooms. Be aware that after the ferry it takes around 1.5/2 hours to get to the hostel on a very bumpy road. Taxis are not cheap (30/40usd) on the island and buses very infrequent so if you are travelling alone find some others to share.

The facilities in the hostel are good with hot showers and clean bathrooms. The dorms are basic but good enough. The views of the lake and own pier give a very relaxing atmosphere to the place.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ManonChiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Arrived off meandering 2 hour bus ride all over the island at 4,30pm.
Dropped bag, got a Tona and was out on the pier striping off to jump in for a perfect sunset.
What could be better.
Chilled place. Amazing location for lake swim and waterfall hike.
Food is not the cheapest but good so I think worth it.
Clean, friendly, perfectly lovely place.
In bed 10pm for a good sleep.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FlorenceSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Stayed here for a few nights and loved it. It has the nicest most helpful staff ever. The rooms were very cute-romantic and very clean and the hotel restaurant open seemingly all hours. Try the fruit juices! They are incredible!
Best part are the sunsets. Stunning sunsets as the hotel is right on the shore and facing west over lake Nicaragua. The hotel has a long pier into the lake that's great for swimming or just hanging out. You can rent kayaks and kayak about 20 minutes to get to the monkey island. And there are amazing hammocks everywhere.
When we were leaving the ferries had been shut down for a couple of days and the hotel arranged a boat to take us to the mainland (because we had a flight to catch). The kindness of the staff was just above and beyond.
Free wifi. Great crowd. No AC but good fans.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kristina20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews