We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Merzouga Desert
from USD 77.90
More Info
from USD 39.66
More Info
from USD 145.20
More Info
Reviews (1,783)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
419
51
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
51
7
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camel ride sand dunes stay overnight bucket list lifetime experience lawrence of arabia warm clothes sunrise and sunset visit morocco highlight of our trip berber camp highest dune one night days tour long drive awesome experience shooting stars
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 481 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

In every way, this was a stellar experience. We rode camels to arrive at this luxury tent camp. This sounds touristy but it was a peaceful, great experience. We were greeted warmly with mint tea. Our tent wasn’t a tent. It was a luxury room complete with large and comfy bed, beautiful,bathroom and hot shower. There were on,y six tents in the camp so it felt exclusive and quiet. The meals were served in a luxury heated tent and the food was terrific served with first class service. We awakened early to see the sunrise and also viewed the sunset over the Saharan sand dunes....not to be missed. The staff were warm and wonderful with warm fire pits ready in the morning and evening. This is a wonderful, luxury experience......not to be missed

Thank Journey614327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

i had great trip in merzouga the tour to the desert start in the evening i went with a group to the camp it was great trip

3  Thank ElenaSanti12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at our riad, Chez Julia, arranged an over night camel trek into the desert, which is highly recommended. You sleep in a tent on a bed and there is a separate structure with a toilet - so it's somewhere between camping and glamping. You leave your luggage in your hotel room and you bring a small over night bag with essentials. You ride a camel through the dunes to an oasis where the over night camp is located. Your are served dinner and musicians perform Moroccan music. You wake up to see the sunrise and then take a camel ride back to where you started. Riding a camel is easy - a comfortable rolling motion. Lean forward when you're going up hill and lean back when you're going downhill. Being out in the dunes, particularly at sunset and after dark with the stars out, is an amazing experience and well worth it.

Thank Spudrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

In september there are less tourist. Wonderfull place. Beautiful view and sunset/ sunrise. must see if you are in marokko

1  Thank JeffreyRabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Merzouga desert is not the Sahara desert, it is the Merzouga desert. A lot of people here seem not to understand this point.
It is beautiful and usually quite windy which explains why the dunes look so good. Great sunrise if you are willing to get up early.
Also note that it is rather cold at night and early morning.

Thank Jean-Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We reached the merzouga desert and our first stop was at Nasserpalace, very nice place where u can stay before and after the Adventure in the desert.From there we started out journey....
Difficult to discribe what u feel when u reach the camp at sunset after 1 hour on camels back, listening to the music that spreads from out Loud speaker.
Experience it u will love it

Thank BaBordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An incredibly fun and moving experience. The desert is really unique from the camel rides to the unbelievable landscape and night sky views. We booked our trip through a local hotel, Auberge Chez Julia, and they did a great job of setting it up. Our guide, Mustapha, was first-rate. He and Omar, our cook, took care of everything in the camp and provided a rhythmic Berber drum serenade after dinner. Breakfast in the hotel's charming dining room after coming back from the desert capped the whole trip.

Thank KHCl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately, I don't know which camp we stayed in, as it was arranged by our tour company, but all of us got our colorful scarves and boarded our camels for a peaceful trip to our camp via camel (very gentle ride!) Sunset over the dunes was gorgeous, and sitting on the dunes at night with a totally dark sky and looking at the stars and planets in the complete stillness was an amazing experience. We had a decent (not outstanding) Berber dinner, and then sat outside our tents on comfy cushions, while staff played Berber music. Our tents were luxurious--beds, en-suite toilet and shower, electric lights--much nicer than we expected. We woke before sunrise the next morning, and were dazzled by the colors of the sky, again in complete stillness--so peaceful! Our kids tried sandboarding (boards provided by our camp) but they apparently weren't waxed enough to get up much speed. After breakfast, we peacefully rode our camels back to Merzouga.

Definitely worth the long drive for this unique experience!

1  Thank Susan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'd highly recommend visiting a desert camp. The camel ride and night at the camp was a very special experience with exceptional service.

Thank RoInCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

you want to have fun, enjoy you vacation, it's easy: book your trip to the Moroccan sahara desert. Merzouga is a wonderful place with its golden sand dunes. If you are in Morocco or you plan to visit it, don't miss to add Merzouga in your backet list

Thank med-bms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews