We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little secret getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BuBu Long Beach Resort
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We were a group of 4 people (2 couples) and stayed at Bubu for 2 nights. We visited on the last weekend of this season and that proved to be one of the best things about this trip.

Getting to Perhentian is not easy. We are from Singapore and our journey to Perhentian involved a road trip to Johor Bahru, a flight from there to Kota Bahru followed by a shuttle ride to Kuala Besut ferry terminal (arranged for by the resort). From here we had to take an hour long speedboat ride to Pulau Perhentian. If you have not done speedboat rides before, this can come as a rough ride for you. Hold on tight to the railings, take a seat at the rear part of the boat and hold on to your life jackets. Depending on the waves in the sea at the time this can be quite bumpy. But once you get to the island at the other side of your ride, it is sheer bliss.

The resort had very few occupants given that it was the end of the season and this meant that the entire beach was for a group of 15 to 20 guests. The weather is a key factor as far as this island is concerned, and it was just perfect during the weekend when we visited. The resort is on a beautiful white-sand beach and waters are clear blue.

We had booked ourselves on a honeymoon package and this was inclusive of complimentary drinks and food for all times of the day. The rooms are certainly of average quality only, but you really need them only to sleep in, for which it was good enough. This is clearly not a star resort and please don't go there expecting such facilities. The hosts were very friendly though and try to go out of their way to help you. Our flight was advanced by a few hours on the day of our return and they helped to arrange for a ferry at 6.30 am in the morning for us so that we can make it in time for the airport. While they did charge us extra for it as it was too early, it meant that we did not have to change our itinerary, which was very helpful.

The restaurant next to the resort serves reasonably good food - since we were there during the last weekend, they did not have most of the items on the menu, but this didn't bother us too much as it was still a decent spread (and we were vegetarians too!).

The snorkeling trip that the resort had organized was the one of the highlights of our stay here.
Nicholas and his boatman really know their way around the good snorkeling spots near this place and they made sure that we all had a great time. They brought us to show some beautiful corals, colorful fishes, baby sharks and a huge turtle. In all they took us to 4 spots for a period of 3 hours and made sure that we saw everything possible. The waters were crystal clear and the bright sunny day meant that the visibility was great. Some of us were beginner swimmers but Nicholas tried his best to make us all feel comfortable.

As part of the package they dropped us on "secret beach" that is right opposite the beach at Perhentian. This is a very small white-sand beach which is totally deserted. They dropped us off there and delivered a wonderfully-packed lunch of sandwiches, rice and champagne. Having an entire beach with blue waters just for ourselves was blissful (the silence but for the sound of the waves was amazing) and was the most relaxing thing we could have possibly done on any vacation.

On our return to the resort, we had booked for massage appointments with the therapist outside the resort. The cabana right on the beach and the therapist (who happens to be from Thailand) was fantastic. There were quite a few mosquitos there but it was not too much of a problem. This is a must-try if you go to Perhentian.

The only downside of the stay at Bubu was that it was expensive for the facilities being offered - we ended up paying SGD 1000 per couple for a period of 3 days and two nights, that too on the last weekend of the season. But by the time you have spent a perfect weekend on the beautiful beach, you return with a feeling that it was probably worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ravi Subramani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
There are newer reviews for BuBu Long Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 262 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stay here for 3D2N, food are very well presenting, fresh and delicious which the price is definitely good when considering those 5+ star a la carte. Seafood Platter is a must-try cuisine and dessert is awesome as well.

We join both snorkeling trip (start at 10:00am) and snorkelling by ourselves right outside the lovely long beach. Both are very nice with lots of tropical fishes around. Fist day are sunny thus perfect for outdoor, second and third day are rainy due to the early coming monsoon (mid-Oct) so remembering to check the season before planning to visit this lovely island! (Locals recommend April the best and good till early October)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmonlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Everything was so great till i have no idea where to starts. The view of the resort is already good enough plus the crystal clear water and the white sandy beach. I was stunned with the resort environment. From the first sight of the whole resort, I fell in love with it. And im so sure that my money worth everything here. The staffs here are ALL very friendly and the smile on their faces can be seen from early morning till late night. Great services during meal time, even though the foods were slow but it was understandable due to the quantity of guests. The foods were awesome! Fresh seafood! Although it was abit pricey, but u will never regret for having your meal at their restaurant. If you are interested in snorkelling, you can always look for Max, a very friendly helpful responsible guy. Kinda miss him too :P The rooms were comfy n clean with a sea view balcony. The sun rises in front of your balcony. It was a breathtaking view when u wake up every morning. In conclusion, Bubu is the place if u are searching for a nice and clean beach, a more private resort to relax, more quiter resort compared to those chalets down the beach. I will recommend Bubu. If Im coming back to Perhentian, for sure BuBu is my only choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JiaWChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed for 4D/3N on a full board package. Overall it was an amazing vacation for us.

Our journey began with checking into the rooms. Rooms were quite basic, One queen bed, wardrobe, toilet, no water boiler, no coffee/tea. Essentially, its just a place to sleep. The view from the room was however spectacular.

The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner was just edible, too simple and no variety. Bubu served the same food everyday. It was basically just fish, chicken, squid, beef and vegetable everyday for lunch and dinner + 2/3 variety of fruits and salad. However, the a la carte was 5 star because of their amazing chef!! My advise would be to go for a la carte and not buffet.

Snorkeling was amazing!! The reefs were alive and fishes were plenty. We managed to see sharks and turtles out on our snorkeling trips. The boatman during our snorkeling trip was very caring and guided us to spot the sharks and turtles.

The ocean @ Bubu was so very calm, clean and blue and the sand was so fine and white. It was just beautiful. We loved the scenery around Bubu. It was breathtaking.

The staff @ Bubu are very accommodating and friendly. They will try their best to cater to your wishes.

Overall, it was a great holiday. The scenery, ocean and great snorkeling trips made the holiday a memorable one. We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Request for a room far away from the generator, which is very loud and noisy and smells of diesel in...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClarissaCSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The food was disgusting!!!! Avoid if you can. Maybe we ordered badly, but we had one Malay and one euro dish do we did get a sample of both menus.

Happy hour until 7pm (tigers 8rm) but don't forget they don't include tax or service charge on menus do it not actually a big saving. Nice to lie one the couches though.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank 1mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
0.9 km away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#5 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
482 reviews
4.4 km away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
248 reviews
35.7 km away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
654 reviews
3.1 km away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
896 reviews
2.9 km away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BuBu Long Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BuBu Long Beach Resort

Address: Pasir Panjang, Pulau Perhentian Kecil, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Price Range: $175 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BuBu Long Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BUBU LONG BEACH RESORT, Perhentian Island Malaysia, is indeed a “trap” for the visitors who need to get away from it all. There is no escape… the blissful enjoyment and complete freedom of relaxation makes one feel entrapped… in Paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your BuBu Long Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bubu Long Beach Hotel Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Hotel Bubu Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing