We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 3:30 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Centre
from USD 102.57
More Info
from USD 85.90
More Info
from USD 124.00
More Info
from USD 119.24
More Info
Reviews (1,628)
Filter reviews
1,628 results
Traveller rating
917
493
173
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
917
493
173
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews next door viewing platform well worth a visit sanctuary animals zoo tree orang rehab
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,628 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2019 via mobile

We took a short visit here as part of our exploration of this part of Borneo.
This charity run place has only recently opened its doors to tourists and primarily exist to rescue and rehabilitate. There is a walkway above enclosures where you can see rescued bears re-adjusting to life after injury or maltreatment. This is not a zoo so dont expect animals on tap but we did see the bears foraging.
A short visit is all you need.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Janboy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2019 via mobile

We really liked this place. It’s a good idea to do this and the sepilok orangutan rehab centre as one trip as they are directly opposite each other.

There’s lots of education available about the bears and there were school trips of kids there learning about them.

The bears there had all been rescued from being kept as pets and the plan is to try and reintroduce them to the wild.

We were able to spot them fairly easily. The younger ones are kept separately from older ones as the older ones can bully them for food etc.
One of the bears climbed a tree opposite the walkway so we were able to see him well. They are very loveable.

You only really need half an hour to 45 mins here but for us it was well worth a trip to try and support these bears.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2019

We visited here along with the visit to the Oranguatuan centre, another great organisation doing great work. We saw lots of sunbears

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2019 via mobile

We loved seeing the sunbears. Unlike orangutans, which we also saw in Sepilok and alongside the Kinabatangan River, these were the only sunbears we saw in Borneo. The experience is somewhat zoo like - viewing the bears from high up board walks - but the enclosures are large and if this is what it takes to rehabilitate the bears then so be it!

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank 328rachelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2019

Opposite the Orang Utan conservation centre, the Sun Bear conservation centre is just as important in helping to preserve the Sun Bear for future generations.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank peterpockets64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews