We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good for the family”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

It was the school holiday and the room which we wanted was full. So we ended up booking the Deluxe Chalet (which was a very good deal) through pulaupulau.my that includes ferry transfers, full board meal (breakfast,lunch & dinner) & snorkeling package. The Deluxe Chalet fits for 4 people as the chalet has 2 rooms,1 bathroom and 1 outdoor shower/bathroom in the master bedroom and it comes with the ocean view. You will need to climb a ladder to get up to the 2nd bedroom (architect purposes) so not advisable for old folks and disable. The only furniture that was broken is the cupboard door and apart from that, everything looks great. The exterior looks good and the management upkeep's the place properly.

Food on the buffet spread was not bad. It has limited choice but enough to get you around. The a la carte and the grill menu however, can offer you more. Apart from eating inside the resort, there are a few cheap & good restaurants around the area. Not far, just 3 minute walking distances. As Tioman Island is a duty free zone, cigarettes, beers & liquors are very very cheap. Watch out for cats too. They have plenty of this furry friends all over the island.

The resort offers a wide variety of activities from volley ball, pool tables, kayaking, fishing, snorkeling, diving (they have their own dive centre - Diver's Cove) and jungle trekking. They even have a swimming pool,tv and internet room. Also, don't forget to go to the Spa. It's cozy & quaint and very pleasurable to have a massage on a vacation. Great for families and large groups but not great for backpackers and those who's looking for peace & quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Superior Beach Front and Deluxe Suite has more privacy then the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank picklejuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    180
    145
    60
    49
See reviews for
152
171
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

WE went on our honeymoon to Malaysia, and discovered Tioman just by chance! And happy that we discovered it! Stayed at Paya Beach, and what fun it was! The wooden cottage by the beach was a beautiful way to start and end each day we stayed there! We had booked the package, so did the snorkelling and jungle trek too. Also did the leisure dive - our instructor was a brit and he was good! The spa was awesome too. They have a little shop in the hotel and nearby. Late night walk on the beach was such a perfect end to each day!
Food - err.. mmm.... being a vegetarian it was difficult in Malaysia and particularly in Tioman..

Room Tip: Ask for room by the beach side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meenakshimalpani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

General Impression:
On a whole we found the staff at the hotel quite friendly and helpful. On arrival we found all the papers waiting for us and the cot we had requested was already in our room. The hotel is obviously popular with young people coming up from Singapore for a weekend away with their friends, with the obvious results from having a good time with your friends over a beer or two. But I didn’t find this to be a major issue. I also found the whole of the resort to be slightly more laid back and relaxed than what I had expected, and with service levels maybe not quite at the level that one would expect from the top resorts. But again I didn’t feel this was a major issue and I suppose there is an element of getting what you pay for.

Package:
We booked a weekend package which include the ferry transfers from Mersing. In addition to the ferry transfers and the room itself, the package also included two dinners, one lunch and two breakfasts, and also either a snorkelling trip or jungle trek. We had an infant with us a cot was provided free of charge, and there was also no charge for the ferry, accommodation or for the meals. While the service at times could have been better I found that the package offered reasonable value for money.

The Room:
We stayed in a deluxe suite (SK-111) which is located upstairs next to the open area between the dive operation and the swimming pool. The room had a very limited sea view due to the palms along the beach blocking the view, and a view of the jungle.

The suite consisted of two rooms with an interconnecting door that could be closed. The living room was fitted with a huge sofa area where three or four people can sleep depending on how large they are and how much personal space they require while sleeping. The room also had a desk and a chair, a flat screen TV mounted on the wall above the desk, and a small fridge. There was also a fairly large open area just inside the main door which is a convenient place to stack any suitcases or bags. A sliding door allowed access to a small balcony where there was a small drying rack, and another door led to a small bathroom with a toilet and a shower.

The main bedroom was slightly larger than the living room and had a king size double bed and a small seating area with a coffee table and a couple of chairs. There was also a desk with a chair and a small wardrobe for clothes. A small TV was placed on top of the desk. Just like the TV in the living room this one also had no remote control. The only four channels available was Discovery, ESPN. CNN and HBO. No other channels were available (not even the local Malaysian cannels).

Attached to this room was a large open air bathroom area with a toilet, shower and a Jacuzzi style bathtub.

While most of the facilities were found to be in working order we had to ask to get the hairdryer and kettle replaced as they weren’t working. Also it was a little bit disappointing that they didn’t explain to us on check-in where the main electrical switch was, and that the hot water tanks for the two bathrooms had to be turned on separately.

The main problem we had with the room was that the water pressure was very poor, meaning that it was impossible to get the bathtub filled in a reasonable time and that the water pressure at times was so low that the shower in the main bathroom simply wouldn’t work.

Another minor problem was noise from the restaurant/bar area. This became very noticeable around 3am when the majority of the young people staying in our wing returned to their rooms after a jolly evening with their friends.

We asked for a late check-out on Sunday as our ferry was leaving quite late in the day. Initially we were told that we had to be out by 12am at the latest but after explaining the situation I was told that it was ok if we checked out when I arrived back from the morning diving trip.

The Spa:
The spa was ok and was open from 10am to 10pm.

Restaurant/bar:
All the meals included in the package was served buffet style in the main restaurant next to the reception. The only drinks available was water at lunch and dinner, and milk, some sort of cordial and water at breakfast. The food available was OK but definitely nothing to rave about. Most of the main dishes included in the buffet were quite spice and we found that we had to order food separately for our infant son as the food was too spicy for him. The prices for food and drinks from the menu were quite reasonable.

The Dive Operation:
The main purpose of my trip was to get some diving done, but I was also wanted to coordinate our activities with my wife who isn’t a diver. So I had tried to find out a few details about how the dive operation was working before arrival, and had some really friendly replies to my emails. I was also greeted quite warmly when I turned up and felt that they were all quite friendly. However, the schedule turned out to be quite different from that expected and that caused a few issues with respect to our plans. I had been told that they usually did two trips every day, one leaving at 9am and one at 2pm, usually with two dives on each trip apart from on Saturday morning when they usually only did a single dive. Instead I found that the trips seemed to be done on a bit more ad hoc basis and that there wasn’t really any fixed time when they left. On Saturday the morning trip didn’t leave until about 10am and the afternoon trip left at 1pm instead of 2pm. And on Sunday morning at 07:25 I received a knock on my door telling me that the morning trip would leave at 07:30(!) instead of 08:30 as I had been told the night before. But after a mad rush to get myself ready I was told that they had got it wrong and that the trip wouldn’t be leaving until after 08:00 some time.

At the jetty my buddy and I had been told we were going out on a different boat to the rest of the divers so we were left waiting at the dock as the boat we had been on the day before set off. A few minutes later we were told that there had been a mix-up and that the dive master that were supposed to lead our dive had gone out on the first boat after all. The issue was quickly fixed by transferring our gear to a fast boat to catch up with the dive boat, but it left us feeling that things could be a lot better organised. While the diving itself was quite good despite a somewhat poorer visibility than expected, I found it a problem that the dive boat itself was rather crowded. On both days I had been asked to stay at the front of the boat together with another 9 or 10 divers where there was only comfortable seating for four or five divers. Luckily the dive operator minimised the problem by insisting on everyone keeping their equipment tidy, but I felt that it was still far from ideal that a lot of divers had nowhere to sit apart from on a rather low railing. While waiting for the return ferry to Mersing I saw several dive boats leaving from the jetty that was less crowded and in much better condition than the one we were on, so there are obviously other options available.

The Ferry Transfer:
On arrival in Mersing we parked in the secure car park next to the jetty. The charge was 24 RM for the three days which I felt was quite reasonable. We easily located the desk we needed to pick up our tickets from and it was all ready for us. However, then the problems started. The whole of the jetty area was crowded with virtually no information about what was going on. As a result it was rather difficult to know when we needed to get ourselves ready to board our ferry. But after a half hour delay the ferry eventually turned up and we were tipped off by “our” agent that we needed to get in the line to board it. The boarding itself went quite well and the crossing went without any trouble. On arrival in Tioman we had been told to get off at the second stop, or when Paya Beach was called. There were no calls and the only way to find out where we were was to ask the crew. On arrival there were a few motorcycles with sidecars that helped us with our luggage and the reception was a leisurely fie minute walk from the jetty.

On the return trip our ferry was about an hour late. With absolutely no one to ask for any information about when the ferry could be expected most people waiting was starting to get rather restless by this time. The ferry was rather full as it was the last scheduled ferry of the day but apart from a bit of a wait to retrieve our luggage on arrival in Mersing everything went very well.

Room Tip: The deluxe suites are all in a two story block near the beach. You may want to ask for a room as far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheEagleGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PayaBeachResort, Owner at Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
We have had a wonderful 2013 and have been blessed beyond what we could anticipate or imagine! We are deeply thankful and honoured by the wonderful guests we have been blessed with. As much as we try to bless our guests by providing good comfortable and clean accommodation, excellent food and informative, fun and most importantly safe Activities, we unwittingly find that we are in turn blessed more. Having received more blessings, we are able to bless our other guests even more and it has really been a wonderful experience for us in 2013. We look forward to having the honour and privilege of being hosts again to so many of our repeat guests; many of whom have become personal friends whom we, the owners, catch up with for lunch or coffee.
We aim to make our resort a value for money and affordable 3 star beach front resort for guests to enjoy the abundant blessings of nature around us. We have had a new Management Team since October 2013. We appointed a professional hotelier of more than 20 years as Resident Executive Director. He is assisted by another professional hotelier who took up appointment as Resident Resort Manager. This new management team believes in actually getting things done and not solely use diplomacy to solve guest issues. They have a good track record of being able to effectively manage and lead a staff of workers. Most importantly, they are also able to administrate well which improves effective communication between staff, departments and management. They take good and authentic feedback seriously and are mature and secure enough to realise that they are not perfect. They are also professional and experience enough not to be hackled by anonymous reckless and wild reviews written out of spite, because we have a policy or not giving in to blackmail from opportunistic travellers who hide behind the veil of a pseudonym, in unregulated internet travel review websites that act more like spam without any credibility and who do nothing to verify the accuracy of whatever they publish. Worse, many such internet review websites are hesitant to publish our replies of fact for fear that it would dilute the sensationalist effect brought about by wild reckless fictional writings. Our New Senior Managers have the authority and mandate to make real rectifications be it the physical structure or our operations or administrative systems. There is no need for them to adopt the proverbial mindless lip service of "humbly apologising" for the sake of convenient public relations just for a fleeting moment. While having much to unscramble since mid Oct 2013, they have been able to establish their SOP's since mid Jan 2014. We have every confidence that guests in 2014 will most certainly reap the benefits of their professional management and leadership of the resort's staff.
As we are fair and reasonable employers, we abide strictly by the Labour Laws of Malaysia. The Labour Laws of Malaysia require reasonable proof of any infringement of Laws or underperformance of standards by all staff working in Malaysia. In accordance to legal advise, we wish to state that none of our staff's remuneration or employment terms are affected, positively or negatively, by reviews written on unregulated and unauthorised internet travel reviews, websites or forums as long as authors write under a pseudonym. As a result of the Law, we purpose not to react or tweak our splendid facilities or efficient operations by reviews written here as this is not our official feedback channel. Instead, we are indeed deeply grateful to all those who write reviews here on tripadvisor about our excellent and wonderful resort, as all of you, by your individual reviews, have blessed us with the wonderful privilege of presenting the facts and truth to all the many other readers of reviews here on tripadvisor. By your own hand, you have allowed us to tell everybody how wonderful our resort's facilities and services actually are. For this honour and privilege, we are deeply grateful for your blessing.
Comments about Food or Buffet
Our objective is to make ourselves not only a value for money 3 Star Beach Resort, we aim to make our hospitality and gastronomic experience affordable to as many as possible so that we can share the blessings of nature that we have been endowed with. Given the purchasing power of the Malaysians and the pricing by our competitors, we price ourselves extremely competitively by international standards offering excellent value for money with our our Buffet Lunch at USD 5.50 per head and our Buffet Dinner at USD 9.50 per head. Our main restaurant is opened from 6.30am to 10pm daily.
Breakfast Buffet
Our breakfast is COMPLIMENTARY for BONA FIDE REGISTERED paying room guests. We have received real compliments from many of our blessed guests as they go for multiple helpings, sometimes averaging 4 helpings per guest. Serving our delicious and excellent ample offers of breakfast BETWEEN 6.30AM AND 10am DAILY, our kitchen crew are now convinced that that is not a problem for them and instead of complaining that they have to prepare more, they now realize that these kind and real compliments are better than polite verbal ones that may mean nothing but polite pleasantry. They now feel HIGHLY BLESSED AND DEEPLY ENCOURAGED to provide plenty of these delicious and delectable breakfast offerings. Many of our wise and health conscious guests have told us that our AMPLE and DELICIOUS COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST for BONA FIDE PAYING AND REGISTERED GUESTS provide more than enough for them to enjoy the Activities in the Sun till late afternoon where they then have some light refreshing salads or sandwiches before a exotic and sumptuous gastronomic adventure in at our Beach Club and Grill in the evenings. For most times in the year, we serve a breakfast buffet which includes an array of different types of fresh breads, cakes and danish from our bakery, healthy cereals with a choice of chilled or table milk, fresh tropical fruits, choice of salads from our salad bar, sausages, scrambled eggs, two different local Malaysian breakfast delights, warm baked beans, hash browns, Beef bacon, Chicken Ham and an "Action Station" that serves Pancakes or Roti Chanai and eggs cooked to your preference. If any particular guest finds this spread too simple and plain for them, as our breakfast buffet is complimentary, they may, if they so wish, purchase breakfast from other shops and restaurants entirely at their own expense. No refunds will however be made for breakfast not consumed as it is complementary to our guests to start with.
Lunch Buffet
For the USD 5.50 per head all you can eat lunch buffet, we have themed buffet lunches that change each day. The themed buffet lunch which range from Asian Chicken Rice, South Indian, Local Malaysian to Italian themed buffet lunches all include Healthy Garden Salads and Tropical Fresh Fruit for dessert.
Dinner Buffet
For our Dinner Buffet priced at USD 9.50, we offer an "Action Station" offering local Malaysian Dishes and Western Roasts on alternative days. Bread is from our own bakery while assorted western and local desserts are from our very own dessert kitchen. All you can eat Roasts served daily from our Carvery include Leg of Spring Lamb, Prime Beef Sirloin, Chicken etc. Hot foods includes 3 western dishes and 4 Asian dishes. Fresh Tropical Fruits, Coffee and Tea are standard.
Beach Bar and Grill (A-La-Carte)
If you find our humble lunch and dinner buffet a little too austere for you, you are most welcome to order fresh seafood like lobsters, crabs, fish from our grill. Open daily from 6pm to 1am, you have the option of choosing your particular choice of live fish, lobster and crab and you may choose how you would like to have it prepared specifically for you. Where possible, we can prepare the live seafood Japanese Sashimi style, Lobster Thermidor, Steamed Chinese Style, Seafood with a fruit salad or our specialty where we take the live seafood and grill it in salted eggs and our special blend of herbs and spices. This is a favourite amongst many of our regular guests.
Asian and Western Kitchen (A-la- Carte)
We have delectable Chinese dishes from our a-la-carte menu or if you wish, we have a wonderful Western Kitchen which prepares Prime Beef Ribs, Sirloin Steaks, T-bone Steaks, Burgers, Chicken Chops and even healthy Seafood Platter for two or the age old favourite, the Paya Beach Resort Fish and Chips with the catch of the day coated in our own secret batter and fried to a crisp golden brown served on a bed of fries accompanied by the traditional salt and vinegar if you so wish.
Licensed Open Kitchen
We have the only Beach Front Resort with an Open Kitchen on Tioman Island. Our kitchens are certified by Kesihatan Sepanjang Hayat Kualiti Sepanjang Masa, Jabatan Kesihatan Negeri Pahang. We have invested in this Open Kitchen and located it right in the centre of the resort near the check in so that all guests are encourage to view how their food is prepared. Our chefs are certified by the Health Authorities of Malaysia and all have attended food hygiene and handling courses conducted by the Government of Malaysia. Our Kitchen has been rated as Clean and Hygienic by the Health Authorities of Malaysia.
We thank you indeed for your review as you have provided us the opportunity to introduce and inform guests of our effort and many dishes we have in presenting an affordable and value for money gastronomic experience to all our guests. You may follow the latest events and get a good feel of the culture of Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort on our Facebook page.



Comments about Activities or our Beach.
Our objective is to make ourselves not only a value for money 3 Star Beach Resort, we aim to make our hospitality experience affordable to as many as possible so that we can share the blessings of nature that we have been endowed with.
Rental for snorkeling equipment are priced at value for money and affordable rates. Our masks and snorkels are for rent at USD 2.20 per day, Life Jackets at USD 2.55 per day and flippers at USD 2.20 per day with each day defined to be the period between 8am and 8pm on the same calendar day.
Our waters are warm, ranging between 26-29 degrees Celsius, turbidity low with currents manageable (do check with our Activity Desk Guides for local and actual information on the day you snorkel). Tioman Island is a granite island. We have a nice beach which is cleaned twice a day of debris left behind by irresponsible people. We never want to interfere with nature and hence our beach is home to many beautiful and interesting wildlife which can been seen during low tide. Due to a flattish seabed, the intertidal zone is quite large so you would not find coral life for the first 50metres from the beach. Beautiful and colourful coral thrive after that and are found from the rock structure right in front of the resort and to the island (Tomok Island) on the right of the resort. The Rocky structure right in front of the resort is home to a family of black tip reef sharks who are accustomed to visits from our many guests. We have put up pictures of beautiful colourful fishes and corals in Tripadvisor for guests to view. Hawkbill turtles, Lizard Fish, Trumpet fish, Damsel fish, Wrasse, Parrot Fishes are aplenty and if one is quiet and respectful of nature, available in full visual splendor for our guests. There are Butterfly Fish, Batfish, Fairy Basslets, and the occasional moray eels. Blue spotted rays and even eagle rays are sometimes seen in the area between the rock feature in front of our Deluxe Chalets and Tomok Island. Anemone Clown Fish are the delight of many of our younger guests. There is a platform which we have put up for our guests to rest while snorkeling. In the vicinity of that platform, Shovelnose Rays or Raysharks have been photographed. Sea snakes like , Sea Crates, Banded Sea snakes, Coral snakes are sometimes spotted too.
The Tropical Rainforest neighbouring our resort is home to many animals that are endemic to Pulau Tioman like the Tioman Blind Walking Catfish. Macaque Monkeys, Bats, Flying Squirrels, Monitor Lizards, are all native and found in the Tropical Rainforest. Beautiful Birds of Paradise, Sunbirds, Water Hens, Hummingbirds, Ospreys, King Fishes, White bellied Sea Eagles and many beautiful butterflies like Common Blue Butterflies, Swallowtail Butterflies are abundantly available for visual splendor. Snakes like the Reticulated Python, Sunbeam Snake, Grass snakes, Palm Vipers, Paradise Tree Snakes, Cobras, Vine Snakes, Oriental Whip snakes and Dog fish Water Snakes are some species of snakes that may be spotted for the keen eyed.
Beautiful trees like the Banyan Tree, Willow Tree, many species of palm trees like the Giant Palm, Natural fruit trees like the Custard Apple Tree, Durian Tree and Mango tree are all abundantly available for those who are keen naturalist. Different species of ferns like the Jungle Fern, Peacock Fern, Dragon Scale Fern, Leather Fern and many different fungi with prominent meristems are found in the Tropical Rainforest right at the edge of the resort. Herbs and plants like the Tapioca plant, Ginger Plant, Chilli plant, Curry plant and Pigeon
Orchids are found in this beautiful Rainforest.
. There is a movie room where we show a complementary movie for our guests. We have free WIFI available for our guests at our food outlets. If you are in a group, you may have complimentary use of our multipurpose room (subject to availability) but a charge for Coffee and Tea on a per head basis is payable. Minimum number is 40 persons. Complimentary Indoor Board games like scrabble, Uno etc are also available for our guests. Beach mats are available for rent as these are so much more comfortable instead of using your bath towel on the sand. Ball games like volleyball are also complimentary.
Kindly contact our life guard certified guides for tours to view these blessings of nature found in and around Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort. You may follow the latest events and get a good feel of the culture of Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort on our Facebook page. We thank you very much indeed for your review as you have provided us the opportunity to inform all readers and guests of the wonderful wildlife and beach we have been blessed with.
For the sake of the Tripadvisor reviewer and reader, we have included more information about our Activity Packages.
Marine Excursions and Activities Price List
Renggis Island & Marine Park Snorkeling - Minimum 6 persons
(By Bumboat) RM 50 / person
- Minimum 6 persons
(By Speedboat) RM 60 / person
Coral Island Snorkeling
(includes Teluk Genting, Pasir Panjang Beach, Salang Village, Marine Park & Renggis Island) - Minimum 12 persons
(By Bumboat) RM 70 / person
- Minimum 6 persons
(By Speedboat) RM 110 / person
Round Island Snorkeling
(includes Mukut waterfall, Juara Village, Marine Park & Renggis Island) - Minimum 6 persons
(By Speedboat) RM 120 / person
Kampong Asah Waterfall Exploration
(The Mystical Bali Hai) - Minimum 6 persons
(By Bumboat) RM 50 / person
- Minimum 6 persons
(By Speedboat) RM 60 / person
Half Day Fishing Trip - Minimum 4 persons RM 70 / person
Full Day Fishing Trip - Minimum 4 persons RM 140 / person
Trekking Trip
Choose from 3 routes
1: Mother Willow Trail
2: Turtle Sanctuary Expedition
3: Kampong Walk - Minimum 4 persons RM 50 / person
Night Jungle Trekking - Minimum 6 persons RM 100 / person
Snorkeling Lesson - 5pm daily at the pool & Tomok Island Free of Charge
Beach Volleyball / Football - 1700 hrs to 1900 hrs Free of Charge
* Above rates are excluding equipment
Mask/Snorkel (RM15 per day), Fins (RM15 per day) and Life Jackets (RM7 per day) can be rented from our Activity Desk
* All Price quoted are subject to change without notice
* All Activities are subject to weather, sea considerations
* The Management reserves the right to cancel any of the activities without prior notice and for whatsoever reason


For the sake of the Tripdvisor reviewer and reader, we have a fully licenced SPA. Combining the art of natural healing with the warm hospitality of the islands, Paya Tropical Holistic Spa offers a tranquil place of rest and renewal. Our philiosphy is one of prevention; moving away from a curative approach to promoting a lifestyle where beauty and good health come naturally. There are various spa treatments available including :


Paya Classic Massage
1 hour | RM128
A soothing aromatherapy massage to relieve stress, tension and fatigue. It improves blood circulation and flexibility while removing toxins, repairs worn tissues and stimulates the body's nerve endings.

Six types of essential oils used to create the signature Paya aromatherapy blend. They are Lavender, Rose, Sandalwood, Lemongrass, Clove and Peppermint.


Paya Four Hand Massage
1 hour | RM268
Experience a luxurious massage by two of our most experienced therapists. A synchronised performance over your whole body balanced with our signature Paya aromatherapy blend. Highly recommended.


Warm Stone Massage
1.5 hrs | RM168
The treatment begins with an aromatherapy massage that culminates in having warm river stones placed over your body’s acupressure points to release retained heat from your body, leaving skin visibly smooth. A final massage completes the session, revitalising you.


Traditional Herbal Heat Massage
1.5 hrs | RM188
This age-old treatment begins with an hour-long session aromatherapy massage. A steamed poulitce of fresh Kaffir lime leaves, turmeric, ginger and lemongrass cleanses the body of excess gas and eases sore muscules, bruises, inflammation and back pain by opening pores and providing medicinal heat to induce relaxation.


Maternity Massage
1 hour | RM155
A special massage appropriate for any stage of pregnancy. Recommended to improve blood circulation, reduce hip and back pain, and help relieve leg cramps, swollen ankles and headaches.

Olive oil is an available substitute for those who may have sensitivity to our aromatherapy blend. Please inform us about any health problems, so we may customize the treatment to your needs.


Diver's Divine Massage
40 mins | RM100
A forty-minute sports massage using therapeutic massage oil and specially designed for divers. Improves flexibility and promotes relaxation and tranquility before or after a day of diving.


Classical Massage Class
3 hrs per day for 3 days | RM999
Learn the art of the healing touch in a three-day class conducted by our most experienced trainers. You'll receive step-by-step instruction in ancient techniques to augment health, beauty and youth as well as insights into the origins of this ancient art that lives on today.

Kindly contact us to schedule a course to your convenience.


Bamboo Massage
1 hr | RM150
For centuries, bamboo was used as a remedy to help ease tired muscles after a long day's work and signified good luck, long life, friendship and harmony. This invigorating massage helps loosen tight muscles and reduce tension, stress and anxiety. It also stimulates blood circulation to increase oxygen flow and promote vitality.


Neck, Back & Shoulder Massage
30 mins | RM78
A soothing massage that focuses on releasing the tension from the neck and shoulders. Perfect for easing the stress from working long hours and relaxing the muscles to ease stiffness and promote good posture.


Foot Massage
30 mins | RM68
A luxuriously relaxing massage using oils and gentle gliding strokes to ease tired foot muscles leaving your feet feeling fresh and rejuvenated.


Eye Area Massage & Mask
30 mins | RM66
A rejuvenating treatment to relieve and alleviate dark circles, fine lines and puffiness around the eyes. The result is visibly younger, smoother and vibrant-looking skin. Highly recommended.


Naturopathy Facial
1 hour | RM100
A revitalising treatment using natural products and herbs to deep cleanse and exfoliate the face. A selection of masks are offered to match your skin complexion and texture including Mud, Yogurt, Cucumber, Aloe Vera and Soya Bean.


Herbal Body Scrub, Wrap & Bath
1.5 hrs | RM188
Paya Holistic Spa's exclusive body treatment exfoliates dead skin cells, reduces cellulite and tones your skin. Using only the freshest herbs and organic products, a body-polishing wrap leaves your skin moisturised and feeling silky-soft.


Foot Pampering
30 mins | RM66
Pamper your feet with an invigorating cleaning and softening treatment using natural loofahs and sea salt followed by a special foot mask made from mung bean paste to moisturise and leave your feet refreshed and revitalised.


Ayurvedic Scalp Massage & Hair Treatment
1 hour | RM100
Give your hair that sleek, shiny texture Asian women are renowned for. A luxuriously relaxing scalp massage using aromatic coconut oils followed by a natural hair mask breathes new life to your hair, rejuvenating every strand from root to tip.



For the sake of the Tripadvisor reader, we also have a PADI Resort Dive Centre. Paya Diver’s Cove With our large range of equipment, we offer both shore and boat dives to some of Tioman’s best dive sites. An abundant growth of corals along with turtles, reef sharks, large moray eels, school of jacks and barracudas can be found everywhere. Dive courses are also available for the first timers to the pros.
Our Dive Centre offers a range of PADI Dive Courses. To provide information to the Tripadvisor reader, we have the following :




Dive Programmes
(include equipment rental) Bubblemaker RM 100
Discover Scuba RM 100
Discover Scuba Diving RM 150
Refresher Programme RM 140
Dive Courses Open Water Diver (Basic) RM 800*
Advance Open Water Diver (exclude equipment rental of RM100) RM 600*
Emergency First Aid Response RM 350*
Rescue Diver (exclude equipment rental of RM100) RM 700**
Divemaster Upon Request
Leisure Dives
(exclude equipment rental) Single Boat Dive RM 75
Single Boat Night Dive RM 105
Shore Shore Dive RM 40
Shore Shore Night Dive RM 75
Leisure Dives Packages Two Boat Dives (include equipment rental) RM 200
Equipment Rental
(per day) Buoyancy Compensator RM 35
Regulator RM 35
Wetsuit RM 25
Mask & Snorkel RM 8
Fins RM 7
Torchlight (Small) RM 25
Torchlight (Medium) RM 30
Dive Computer RM 40
Equipment Package rental (BCD & Regulator & Wetsuit) RM 80
*additional RM220 required for the purchase of PADI Course materials
**additional RM240 required for the purchase of PADI Course materials

Our Dive Centre is the only Dive Operator that is allowed to use our pool for novice scuba divers who are undergoing PADI Scuba Dive Courses. It is a safety requirement of PADI that any student Scuba Diver be allowed to experience breathing underwater using Scuba Diving Equipment and learn Scuba Diving Safety Skills in a safe confined water environment not subjected to currents, wave surges and allows the student to stand up with the head above water during the course.

Comments about our Room or General Area.
Rooms - New Management
Pest Control of the Whole Resort and Rooms.
We engage a professional pest controller who advises us on best practices to eliminate ecological systems conducive for pests to thrive and breed. They are appointed for a tidy sum so their professional advice is taken very seriously. All their advice is incorporated into our SOP's for all our departments. Staff who do not adhere strictly to the SOP are dealt with fairly, equitably and strictly by the provisions of the Labour Laws of Malaysia. In addition to best practices, the Pest Controllers also do regular bi-monthly maintenance. They come and lay poisons and chemical and physical bulwarks to pests. We have a written understanding with our professional Pest Controller that they are professionally liable for any loss of reputation suffered, provided that is good and reasonable proof of the presence of pests, if pests continue to interfere with the peace and enjoyment of our guests.
Power Blackouts From National Power Supplier - Emergency Lighting and Electrical Generator Sets
There are frequent blackouts on Tioman Island due to a very erratic and unpredictable National Power Supply Company. For the sake of our guests, the resort has invested more than MYR 500,000 in electrical power Generator sets located onsite at the resort. The Generator sets are able to supply enough power for all rooms and facilities at the resort. Everytime there is a blackout, our Generator sets which are professionally serviced and maintained, our maintenance team, is part of their Standard Operations Procedure, ensure that the Generator Sets take over the task of providing electrical power to all rooms and facilities and outlets at the resort. In addition to that, there is emergency lighting installed all over the resort and in the rooms so that guests are not caught in sudden darkness. Rest assured, despite the many and frequent power outages on Tioman Island, Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort has invested heavily in capital, maintenance and spares no effort in ensuring that water and power is available to guests despite the frequent blackouts from the main National Power Supplier.
Nature Friendly Practices
As Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort is keenly aware of the need to be friendly and protect nature, we strongly encourage our guests to save electricity wastage. To show our part in this endeavour, we have invested heavily in ecologically friendly room key lock system which disables power supply to the whole room when the card key is taken out of the card key socket in the room. Each room has a specific computer generated random security code and unless the socket verifies and tallies the code set by our front desk upon guest check-in, the door will not be unlocked and power will also not be supplied to the room. No other replacement card can be used unless it has been verified by our front desk personnel as the door and the socket must tally with the computer generated random code set by our front desk. If any guest wishes to have a second card key, we charge MYR 20 per room per day for the second key. This is done to protect our environment and we would appeal to all our guests to support this endeavour of ours.
All guest rooms are serviced daily but we would encourage guests to decide for themselves if they wish to be part of the global effort by responsible people to be friendly and protect our environment. If our guests wish to be part of this responsible group of people, we will support your gracious, responsible and wise decision by not changing towels unless they are left on the floor in the bath area.
A Brief Description of Rooms
We have 6 room categories each catering to guests with different disposal income. At the most basic, we have less than 20 beds at our Standard Lodge. Each single sized bed costs USD 12.60 per night including breakfast. There are 4 beds in each Standard Lodge Room and each room is airconditioned with ensuite hot water showers and toilet. Next category up is the Standard Chalets which sleep 4 adults comfortably. Appointed with 1 Queen sized double bed and 2 singles, each airconditioned chalet has an ensuite hot water shower room and toilet. The Superior Sea Facing rooms are the next category up from the Standard Chalets. These sleep 3 adults with one adult having to sleep on a pull out single sofa bed. There is a Queen sized double bed which sleeps two comfortably. Again, these airconditioned rooms come with ensuite hot water showers and toilets. The Superior Beach Front rooms are airconditioned and each come with ensuite hotwater showers and toilet. Each Superior Beach Front room is located right at the edge of the beach and is appointed with two queen sized double beds which sleep 4 adults comfortably. Next up are the Deluxe Chalets. Again located right at the edge of the beach, these are a favourite with families. The fullly airconditioned chalets come with one master bedroom with ensuite open air shower and toilet. The master bedroom has a European King sized double bed sleeping two adults very comfortably. This is also good for couples with a young child who is used to cohabitate with parents during sleeping times. There is a single pull out sofa bed in the hall which leads to the balcony which gives a wonderful view of the sea. There is a bath room with bath and toilet attached to the hall. This area can sleep one adult only. There is also a cozy attic bedroom which sleeps two adults comfortably on a queen sized double bed. The deluxe chalets sleeps 5 adults comfortably. The fully airconditioned Deluxe Suites are most luxuriously appointed with an open air hot water shower, hot water jacuzzi and toilet attached to the master bedroom. All these open air jacuzzi and showers allow a wonderful view of the ocean. The master bedroom again is appointed with another balcony which gives a wonderful view of the forest and Mount Kajang. There is a European King sized double bed which sleeps two adults very comfortably. This is also good for couples with a young child who is used to cohabitate with parents during sleeping times. The hall is appointed with a single sofa pull out bed and a queen sized sofa bed which sleeps 3 adults comfortably. There is a separate ensuite hot water shower and toilet to the Hall of the Deluxe Suite. The Deluxe Chalets and Suites come with a mini fridge. If guests of other room catergories wish to have a mini fridge in the room, a charge of USD 8 per day. Deluxe Suites and Deluxe Chalets come with complimentary bottled water which are replaced daily.
Except for the standard lodge, all our rooms come with a TV with 4 channels available namely, Discovery, ESPN, HBO and CNN. All rooms except for the Standard Lodge come with complimentary coffee and tea making facilities and set. All rooms including the standard lodge come with mini pantry with hot water kettle. We urge all our guests to boil their water before drinking for hygiene reasons as that is just plain common sense.
Movie Room, Wifi and Multi-purpose Hall for Guests
There is a fully air-conditioned movie room where we show a complementary movie for our guests. We have free WIFI available for our guests at our food outlets. If you are in a group, you may have complimentary use of our multipurpose room (subject to availability) but a charge for Coffee and Tea on a per head basis is payable. Minimum number is 40 persons.
All Rooms Serviced Daily and Brief Description of Room Service SOP
All Rooms are serviced everyday and we will provide fresh towels and linen during the service. If you feel that you want to do your part in helping the environment, we applaud and encourage your thoughtful and considerate intentions. You may inform us that you do not wish for your linen or towels to be replaced. We will however still service your room. Our linen and towels are no more than 6 months old and we replace them regularly. Strict hygiene is observed and all the linen and towels are washed in antibacterial solution after they are soaked in dilute chlorine for at least 15 minutes. All linen and towels are then machine dried at with the temperature set at 75 degrees Celsius. Your bath rooms and toilets are washed with antibacterial solution and when there is a change in guests, all the toilets, wash basins, WC, Showers, baths and Jacuzzi are treated with chlorine to prevent cross infections between guests.
Swimming Pool and Pool Deck
The well sized swimming pool in our resort is controlled by an automatic chlorinizer. In addition to that , the pool is serviced everyday. The chlorine reservoir is checked and the water condition for pH, residual chlorine is analysed each day. Part of the servicing includes clearing the water of debris through vacuuming. Our water is not green but blue. The pool deck is serviced and cleaned each day. Our pool is not an Olympic (50 meters) sized swimming pool with 8 lanes across. It is not meant for competitive swimming training hence the lack of need for such a pool. We do not hold any professional or amatuer swimming competitions at our pool. Most of our guests do not come to this Tropical Island Resort for competitive swimming training. The swimming pool is meant for our guests to get familiarized with the snorkeling equipment and for our Scuba Diving Centre to conduct PADI accredited Scuba Diving Courses in a safe confined water environment where the students are able to stand up with their heads above the water should they be uncomfortable at any time during the Snorkeling or Scuba Diving Lessons. Our Activity Guides are all Life Guard certified and trained and our Scuba Diving Centre has PADI certified and licensed Scuba Diving Instructors and Dive Masters. A large olympic sized swimming pool would be a misallocation of land and resources resulting in inefficient pricing of services and rooms for our guests. Professional cost benefit analysis has led to intelligent and efficient allocation of our resources. This is how we have arrived at a a pool of this size for our number of guests and for the intended purpose. For guests who would like to lie at the poolside, we suggest you use our greatest asset - the beach and enjoy the sun, ocean air at these beautiful natural surroundings. Our guests take the trouble to come to an exclusive Tropical Island Resort not the lie by the pool side which can be done anywhere in the cities or towns. Logically most of our guests come to enjoy the sea and beach. While there are some lounges at the pool deck, we cater more of those who would lounge on the beach. Beach Towels are available for rent from our Activity Centre.
We thank you indeed for your review and for the opportunity to inform our guests of the facilities available for them. You may follow the latest events and get a good feel of the culture of Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort on our Facebook page.
New Management
Resort Manager and Staff
Our Front desk is staffed by professional well trained staff who speak more than one Language each. All are fluent in written and spoken English and one other. The Front Desk is the core of the resort operations as that is the onsite guest feedback and communications centre. To make your stay more enjoyable and pleasant, we strongly encourage you to approach our front desk staff if you have any enquiries or feedback for us. You may also ask to speak to me, the Resort Manager and I will be there to speak to you personally within a few minutes as I am always contactable by walkie talkie. You may make your reservations for BBQ upgrade and Spa Sessions at our Front Desk.
Professional Security Service from Professional Security Vendor
For the well being and peace of mind for all our guests. we have a professional security company manning all aspects of security at our resort. We also provide security deposit boxes for all our bona fide paying guests. We strongly encourage all our guests to use this complimentary service available at the Front Desk. This is for the peace of mind of our guests so that you have a good holiday and not bother with writing vehement, wild and scurrilous allegations of theft here on tripadvisor and also for us to not have to write pages of explanation here at Tripadvisor why a guest lost any of their personal belongings when they could have just utilized the complimentary safe deposit box service.
Check-In and Check Out Time
Due to the wide open spread of our rooms which give our guests wide open spaces, and in consideration for the guests who are checking in, our official check-out time is 10am and the official check-in time is 2pm each day. Where we can, if there are requests for late check-outs, we will most definitely try to accommodate. Preference is always given to guests with young children or very old folk. If we are unable to accommodate a late check-out, we have an airconditioned movie room where guests can watch a movie and rest in comfort before they decide to leave. For the sake of good order, if no request for late check out is made or any request denied due to our high occupancy levels, then any guest who is inconsiderate of others and checks out after 10am and before 11am unilaterally will be charge an additional half a day's room tariff. If such a guest checks out after 11am, a full day's room tariff is levied.
Security Deposit
All guests are expected to provide a security deposit of MYR 200 per room. This is fully refundable during check-out if all bills and obligations, including property damages are legally and fully paid for.

We thank you very much indeed for your review as you have provided us the opportunity to inform readers here at Tripadvisor of our Front Desk staff, functions and professionalism. You may follow the latest events and get a good feel of the culture of Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Hi guys, this hotel in Tioman island in Malaysia is just great! It has excellent sanitary facilities, good food to be savoured and also, the rates there are cheap! If you happen to go to Tioman island during your holidays like June holidays, you will find something unique there that there will never be during other times. So, if you go to Tioman island next time, please please go to Paya village and go to this hotel and you will be astonished!!! Haha!!(Note: If my name is offending to you, please ignore it as I had an accident at home where someone just playfully got me this name.)

Room Tip: Get those rooms that are facing the sea, it will be more windy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pua Ji Bai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I love nature so I chose to stay in the wooden cabins. It was everything I would like. Rustic wooden cabin appointed with furniture that had character. The room slept my beautiful wife and our child comfortably with another extra bed just for little James to romp around. When I got to the restaurant, the first thing I asked " Do you serve Shark Fins?" Thank goodness, the answer was "no". I learnt later that the owners of the resort love nature and that was why they built the place. In support of shark conservation, they do not serve shark fin soup. Next test. I asked them what they would have for my wife who was vegetarian. I took a risk because I did not check if they served vegetarian food or not before I made a reservation.
My question must have been a tough one because the waiter kindly excused himself and got the Executive Chef to speak with me. First thing I asked him "Where are you from buddy?" Immediately, he smiled and said "Malacca". I told him I was from Malacca too and my parents still stay there but now I work in Singapore. MY wife is from KL. So I asked him "Do you have any vegetarian food for my wife?" He smiled and said " I not only have that on the menu, I will cook it for her myself!"

She had Vegetable curry, Vegetarian Duck, Spaghetti Primavera and Spaghetti Carbonara. Not all in one go la. She is slim and petite and still the most beautiful woman to me! He asked if my wife ate eggs and I said she did and he organised a delicious smooth steam egg custard just for her! I was getting a bit jealous and wondering if he maybe shared my view that my wife is the most beautiful woman in this world? No, I know he was just trying his best to make her feel comfortable.

That was something I noticed throughout my 4 day 3 night stay there. The staff were all personally keen that we were comfortable and had a good time. The eco guide Hafiz offered to bring us over to the next beach to see the turtle sanctuary. That was a great afternoon snorkelling trip and we enjoyed it so much.

I hear that they also organise tours with specialist biologist but we have to make the arrangements before hand. Next time, I will do that. My whole family also went for a diving familiarisation programme where the guides, after a 2 hour session in the pool, brought us out to sea for one dive. That was an exhilerating experience and I signed whole family (only 3 of us although I make it sound like we have so many people) for a course in Jun when my boy has his school holiday. I look forward to going back to this wonderful and hospitable resort for our diving course.

Room Tip: The wooden cabins by the pond. Its so serene and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamesbondfromkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
9.0 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.9 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
4.6 km away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
3.6 km away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
9.3 km away
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort

Property: Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Address: Kampong Paya | Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#5 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price range (per night): $58 - $118
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to one of the world’s oldest mangrove swamps and the Tropical Rain Forest, this Beach Front Resort also boasts having a spectacular House Coral reef. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort is the perfect getaway on the Tioman Island, the infamous volcanic island covered in rainforest, white sands, turquoise water, and unforgettable experiences. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort is ideal for visitors who seek to enjoy the nature’s gift, nestled in a secluded beach with rooms overlooking South China Sea. The wide range of facilities at the hotel includes spa, outdoor pool, beach bar, Grill, conference and meeting rooms, restaurant, and PADI Dive Centre. Moreover, fishing, Snorkeling and Ecological trekking tours of the Mangrove Swamp and the Rain Forest can be arranged at the Activities Centre. Restaurant and Grill is driven by a passionate Executive Chef with the team who create the works of gastronomic art in the only open kitchen in Tioman Island. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort invites all visitors to come and experience the unforgettable experience of picturesque view of the sea from our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Beach Hotel Pulau Tioman
Paya Beach Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing