We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
85
14
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
14
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peanut sauce family chalet juara beach place to stay single bed a family run business ferry terminal the duty free shop hot water banana pancakes small fridge your doorstep good size private beach coral island fish snorkeling trip
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017

If you don't wanna read until the end, my main recommendation has nothing to do with the hotel itself, which is a very good one. it's about the sandflies on this part of the island. Save yourselves and bring a good repellent, perhaps a few, of different types, and see which works best. With that out of the way, you'll be able to properly enjoy this place as it deserves to be. We didn't have one and we had a hard time.

Had a great stay there. Bushman and his crew are great. Always replied quickly to our emails before arriving, and gave us directions on which ferry terminal to drop off. There they were waiting for us with a pickup to take us to the other side of the island where the hotel is located, and offered to stop on the way at the duty free for our purchases.
The beach feels almost like a private beach, and the ocean in front is great for scuba diving. So many fish, manta rays, corals, everything. A week there to just forget the office life is what everyone needs from time to time.

The chalets are so charming, it felt so relaxing to end a day at the beach and just sit by the porch, enjoying the wind and the sound of the ocean.

Pack your snorkel, diving mask, sunscreen, and above all, repellent, and have an amazing time at this place.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing chalet.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thiago C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Bushman for one week in August 2016. The cabins are located on the edge of the beach and offer a great view on the sea. Interior of the cabin is basic but clean. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The atmosphere is relaxed and laid back. They offer several snorkling trips, as well as snorkling gear. The Juara beach is a quiet beach, great for relaxing. Be aware that the kitchen/bar is closed between 15.00 and 19.00, so if you fancy an afternoon drink, you should stack up before hand, as alcohol is hard to get in shops on this side of the island.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Brucius86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Went there with Mr Husband just for a short 3 days 2night stay.. very reasonable price for a chalet.
The room was well equipped and comfortable.. I got the 2nd last chalet that was really close to the sea (few step to the water).. surrounded by trees and shaded..
the food was superb.. loved their chicken with peanut sauce.. the pineapple juice is the star of their menu.. not many restaurants around..tried the lunch from neighboring chalet and must say it was disappointing for the price and portion.. it's plus point if you have bike/car to go around..
go during peak time to enjoy motor sports or beach activities..
I went just to escape into nature..clear waters and white sands..
the boss and workers were very accommodating and friendly too..
definitely worth returning..

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sehnnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Super stay for our family. Great beach almost all to ourselves. Very good service and great food at the restaurant. Great for snorkeling. Just be careful with sand flies. Bring some bugspray for sure. We stayed here for 8 nights.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank DanielM3607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

My husband and myself spent six nights at Bushman's in June 2016 and loved every minute of it. In order to avoid endless repetition, I suggest you read the review of R0dTravels from July 2015 (keep scrolling). We found everything to be exactly as described in their review. I also do share the hesitation to not want to spread the news about the the awesomeness that this place is too far for fear of it getting busy.

A little fun fact on the side is that the owner (who goes under the catchy name 'Mr Bushman') had the idea for this place 20+ years ago but with the distinct lack of funding starting building the huts with wood and items he found in the jungle - hence the name!

The only bit of extra advice I have to offer comes from a lovely Swedish family which stayed in the beach hut next to us. They have been spending their four week summer holiday at Bushman's every year (!) for the past eight years (!!): the secret weapon against the sandflies is coconut oil!! Bring it with you, use it, and you won't get a single bite. I have tried it and it works.

For peace and serenity in a place that is a complete and utter steal - Bushman's is were you want to be!

P.S.: At the time of our booking they were having some trouble with their website which ironically is probably why we still got a spot at fairly short notice - don't be put off by the technical hurdles, if worst comes to worst just shoot them an email or call, they're lovely and very responsive.

Room Tip: There is only wifi in the restaurant area and my guess is that it's accessible from huts 1-2 as they are close enough.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CarefulSlippery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews