We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
7
20
24
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
20
24
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air con double bed decent room diving trip toilet paper stayed nights dive centre convenience scuba
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Booked the package and stayed for 2 nights (Sept 19th - 21st 2013), and I entirely satisfied with the service provided. Love the ambience of the resort. Room was surprisingly spacious for 4! Toilet was acceptably clean with typical Malaysian setting. The A/C work well in the tropical heat. Food (included) was just fine. BBQ was just ok, nothing impressive with the recipe. After all, the whole experience was amazing and enjoyed my stay in Tioman.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fitrinnas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Tioman is a great place for all loving the see, beaches, diving etc.Still virgin nature not seen in many places! So that was the perfect getaway to relax from the busy city life. Family of four, we stayed in Salang Pusaka resort for 3 nights(August 8-10 th 2013).We had a standard bungalow. Place expected to be basic and cheep, despite the high surcharge we paid because of the public holidays. In short the accommodation was below our expectation. An old and torn room, no furniture, fridge or TV, except two mattresses and air con;smelly and sandy. Not able to have a proper sleep as you can hear a noisy neighbours chatting. Some problems with the water pressure as during midnight the water busted out from the tap and could not stop.Not to miss the dirty surrounding, full of rubbish and smell from the river near by.Pehaps,that is in general the accommodation offered. If you have a choice plase check carefully. Luckily all that was make up for the nature, food and relax we had.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Popova77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the "Love Suite", 5 of us including our 3 kids for a week while diving with B&J Dive Centre. It's fine as its reasonably clean but it is quite basic. We had 3 beds in one large room, a hall way which we filled with bags and wet swimmers. The fridge had seen better days and could do with bleaching, but it worked and kept the drinks cool. Aircon and hot water also worked. Bathroom is typical Malaysian "wet room" so take a pair of indoor flip flops if you don't want constantly wet feet. Towels were provided but very thin. Pillows are rock hard, but by the end of the week, you get used to them! You're not really here for a luxury holiday, so it's adequate. The diving made up for anything the room may lack! Didn't eat at the nearby restaurant as we preferred Salang Dreams (next to the jetty) for view and wifi and juicy salty BBQ sweet corn!!

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuffolkScoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed at this resort from 5th June until 8th June 2013. It is the first time that I've been to Tioman and i believe that Tioman is a haven for snorkelers and divers. Thats it.

About the accomodation, i am dissapointed. I have to say that this place is cheap, but that doesnt mean that the management can be bad and give bad service to their customers. I loved the environment of the place, it's like a kampung/village style chalet with close positions of each chalet to one another. With chilling areas like the gazebo or picnic table, its a nice place to hang out during the night or late evenings.

A couple of things i want to point out. The rooms are dirty. There were sands everywhere on the floor when we came in. I know its near the sea but the cleaners of this place should be more particular on this matter. The room that i got have problems with their AC, had to let it run for a few hours to cool the room down. Also, the electrical wiring has problems, my chalet is next to my aunts, and during the whole trip, the fuse box has been triggered a number of times and our chalet went dark. Complained to the management but nothing was done to solve this problem.

The toilets were okay, just that water supply there seem to have a problem. The first day that we were there it was okay, but the days after that was hell . Water keep stopping, even during i was taking a bath. Had to shower in front of the chalet, since it has a water tap. Complained to the management and no actions were taken. Just given an excuse.

The staff were not friendly also. When you wanted to ask them something they wont wait for you, they will sort of walk away. That is not good manner. Read some reviews here from foreigners that the staff here is excellent, maybe they just tend to foreigners better than they do locals. Maybe.

The food price is quite expensive but what do you expect on islands. Its hard for them to get their supplies. I understand that and i cannot complain on the matter.

But its not all bad, the environment of the sea and beaches are heaven on earth. The fishes, the coral, the water, all bliss. Its a good place to relax and enjoy the under water miracles. Tioman is not a place to party or have fun on land since every shop close at 1030 - 11 PM at night.

Overall, its a memorable trip. It would be even more memorable if the resort is better at servicing their customer and upgrading their facility. I shoved it all to the side when i think about the beautiful beach.

For people that think they want to stay here, take a chance, maybe your stay would be much better than mine. Its just that I am disappointed with their service during my time there .

Room tip: Choose the new rooms at the back of the main chalet area. Its newly built.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GnomeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just came back from Salang Pusaka Resort trip, after 14 years. A lot of things had changed and well developed. A very nice place to stay. Fully recommended to everyone. Island hoping was excellent.. The foods served were superb! People in Salang Pusaka were nice & friendly, we felt very welcomed.. Especially to Donn, Zaid and En Khalid (owner).. Thank you for this wonderful experiences!! Will be back one fine day!! :-)

Date of stay: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gdah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews