We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exellent lodge!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Severin Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Severin Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exellent lodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed on night at Severin last week and it was wonderful. The setting, the service, the tents, everything was great. Im all ready thinking about coming back as soon as possible.

From our tent we could see and Zeebras, Giraffs witch was awesome!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    38
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
152
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, QC
Level Contributor
352 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

This camp that we visited in mid-December 2011 is located in the heart of Tsavo West Park. The tents are extremely luxurious and located close to water hole so it is quite easy to see animals during diner or hear some hippos during nigh time. The food is quite good though sometime a bit too elaborate for the kids. The pool is extremely nice and the location is perfect. The managers were accommodating and provided an extra tent when they noticed we couldn’t fit all in the one that had been reserved for us. A bit expensive but worth it for the location and the nice pool and view on the Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boutip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed here as part of a 3 day trip to Tsavo East and West, We wished we had stayed much longer as the camp and location was fantastic. The tents were excellent and we really felt like we were in The African Bush. When we arrived there were Zebras wondering in front of the dining room and lovely birds flying about. The food and the service was excellent. The only thing that spoilt it for us was a very loud German Lady in the next tent who spent all afternoon talking loudly by Skype on her laptop, and then again after dinner, until we asked her to be quiet at 10.30 pm. It was a shame because all we wanted to do was listen to the bush noises. I feel the camp should request people not to do this in their tents but to use the public areas of the camp. That said I appreciate that the camp are not responsible for guest inconsideration. Otherwise this camp is truly excellent and we would like to return next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubiesTorbayDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

The Severin Safari Camp is located in the north-west of the Tsavo West National Park near Mzima Springs. We had a 100 km drive from Tsavo Gate through the park which was already a first fascinating game drive. The camp has approximately 30 comfortable, beautiful decorated tents with view into the savannah. It is not fenced so that the game passes directly in front of the tent. Therefore, in the darkness a Misaim escorts you between the tent and the restaurant. During dinner the gazelles can be watched directly in front of the restaurant. The service is very friendly. Lunch and dinner are served as a menu in the open-air restaurant. Between the game drives you can relax in front of your tent and watch the game or hang out at the swimming pool. We didn’t use the beautiful wellness area due to our short stay. The camp is perfectly integrated into the natural environment but nevertheless offers full comfort. And if you are lucky you can even see the Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MX5Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Wow, I never stayed on a camp where it is NO fence before, but instead to be sleeping IN the national park, the only downsize of that, is the fact that after 7PM no right to get in or get out of our accommodation or to walk around without the help of a REAL MASAI who is on site in the camp.

The Staff is wonderful, the tents so romantic and beautiful, the sound of nature right outside the zipper door...[I wonder if a lion want to get in how the Masai would stop him, lol], BUT I have to say that we spent a great time in this Safari Tent Lodge. The manager (Mania) is a sweet heart and would do almost anything to make your stay wonderful.

This place is really magical, and the view of Kilimanjaro is almost impossible to miss, a view from almost our tent, as well as sooooooooo many wildlife presence around the camp. At night the light goes off at 11PM, no more generator, no noise ONLY the sound of nature!!!

A great time to enjoy the special 100% unbleached cotton robes provided inn this luxurious African Safari tents, and to enjoy the private porch, looking at the real world, no fumes, no noises, no traffic, we will go back DEFINITELY, and this time get a double entrance visa for Kenya in order to go to Tanzania which is ONLY 10 miles from this camp!!!!

Room Tip: If you are with kids, please do not hesitate to book the special luxurious DELUXE tent, suites for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsavo National Park West hotels
13.0 km away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
23.2 km away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
66.5 km away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.8 km away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
11.3 km away
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
#2 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
61.1 km away
Lions Bluff Lodge
Lions Bluff Lodge
#1 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Severin Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Safari Camp

Property: Severin Safari Camp
Address: | Kitani Wildlife Area, Tsavo National Park West 00400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tsavo National Park West
Price range (per night): $317 - $632
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Severin Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Safari Camp Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Severin Safari Camp Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing