We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
307
33
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
33
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews negev desert hiking trails double room well equipped kitchen stayed longer enjoyed my stay ramon crater main building min walk lee hostel volunteers puzzles israel dorm makhtesh camel
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This was my first hostel. We took a private room, so not the full experience, but you have to start somewhere! We were in the alternate building down the street, which was clean and quiet. Fortunately one night we were the only people in the building and the other two nights we had very quiet neighbors. I think that the place attracts tourists who want to go hiking early in the morning and get a good night’s sleep makes it especially chill. We cooked in the main building 2 of our 3 nights’ stay and found the kitchen well-equipped.

The staff really made this place. They were great about explaining directions, local attractions and restaurant recommendations. I had an asthma attack the first night we were there, despite the place being super clean. When I spoke to the staff, they were so invested in figuring out what happened and checking on me to make sure I was okay. The volunteer, Michaela was genuinely kind and helpful. Everyone went above and beyond!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGreenBMR, Lקק at The Green Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you so much Talia for this really really great review.
Your kind words really warm our hearts.

We are happy you feel this way and really appreciate the fact that you took the time to post this review. Especially after you where actually here a few month ago already...
Thanks a lot and hope to see you again in the future.

Our warmest regards,
Lee and the rest of the green staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

This is a super cute small hostel with few rooms and a living room and kitchen space which creates community! We were there in the winter when the evenings consisted of everyone sitting around the fireplace, talking, drawing, laughing, eating, drinking and completing a group puzzle together. This place attracts nice people to, all the volunteers and other backpackers were nice people. We had a great experience. We stayed in the room with the 'pipe' stairs and 'pipe' bed frame which was very visually appealing. Would definitely recommend!! Also right next to the crater where you can go hiking for 1h30 to 5h or more :)

Room Tip: we stayed in the private room with the pipe bed frame and loved it - quiet and comfy and cute
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterflyfairy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Three of us stayed in the hostel on our way from Elat to Tel Aviv. Even though we only stayed one night and we arrived quite late we experienced exceptional service. Girl that welcomed us was very helpful and provided us with the essential information about different hikes/walks and other things available in the area. As we woke up very early the following morning to enjoy the views of the crater, rushing to see everything we planned and to get to the Tel Aviv before the sunset we left our stuff in the room we shared with other guests (phone and some clothes). Once we had reached the Tel- Aviv we found out about our loss. Even though I was very skeptical about contacting the hostel, my wife was determined to get her pictures from her phone back !!!!She contacted the hostel and received immediate reply that all our belongings are safe and were sent to us next day. Thank you very much Green Backpackers !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elwira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

As a solo backpacker, this hostel was great. I stayed in a shared dorm which was cleaned daily and provided extra warmth from a hot water bottle. The living room was very nice, cool upcycled material for the couches and coffee table, nice music and always a puzzle to play with. Though the hostel doesn't provide dinner, there are restaurants in walking distance (about 15 mins) or grocery stores about the same distance, where I purchased food and made use of the kitchen in the hostel. They have great hiking recommendations and beautiful scenery around the crater and other parts of the Negev Desert!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meagan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

As Israelis, we always went to hotels in Israel, and for the first time we experienced a HOSTEL in our country, truly- we're surprised how much fun is it!
The different perspective to come as a tourist to a hostel, speak with tourists from Germany, Poland, etc. how curious they were, how much impact we have as Israelis - here in Israel! Just by sharing, talking, laughing and being. We did Kidush together, shared wine and Chala (Shabat bread), and thanks to the environment of the Green Backpackers hostel, we felt like a family.
The place was clean, the double room was comfortable and cozy, the kitchen is well facilitated- everything we can wish for and even more.
Thank you for creating a home in Mitzpe Ramon for us, to come from time to time

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnyaShani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews