We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rex Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Vung Tau
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rex Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

In this hotel everything is old and need a renovation or replacement, the breakfast was good though. We made a reservation for a deluxe room seaview, which we did not get in the first place. After asking why we didn't get the room we booked we got the room. The walls are thin, this is certainly not a 3 star, at most 1,5.
For the price they charge you'd better go to another hotel.

At the swimmingpool there is a pool with girls wearing sexy dresses to lure men. When we came back at the hotel at 10 pm an elderly man with was at the reception with a vietnamese girl booked a room for one night. We noticed the majority of the guests are men. Very questionable what is happening at the hotel. This hotel is certainly not suitable for families with kids if you have 'strict' ethics.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    21
    32
    23
    2
See reviews for
14
27
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Was in town for one night. The palace hotel was full so stayed here instead. The place is in a major time warp circa 1980. It is clean, the room was big and the staff were friendly. Expat bar next door and number off massage parlours close by. Therefore this is a business traveller hotel. Not a honey moon place ,etc. breakfast was passable but not great. I would try a different hotel next time. Swimming pool next door only has a few sun loungers. Cash machine next door which is handy.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Traveller_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G.B.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just returned from a month in Vietnam. Went to Rex for a bit of R&R what a disapointment!!! The room was grubby with mould all over ther ceiling. The bathroom had a terrible mouldy smell. Whilst the bed and sheets were clean the towels were thin, gray and well worn. Breakfast was acceptable. There is a lovely pool area which has 5 hard wooden slat sun beds, with no covers, to serve 78 rooms. When I complained to the manager but he was just not interested.
On our journey we stayed in 2*/3* hotels that were far superior the the Rex. If you go to Vung Tau Do Not Stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vung Tau hotels

3.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I have been to Vung Tau before, but this was my first time staying at the Rex. My husband and I stayed in Vung Tau 1 week after the Lunar New Year. There is a park next to the Rex that was beautifully decorated with flowers for the new year. It also had free live shows at night. Across the street, there is a nice walkway by the water. You will see a lot of people picnicing here. This is the first time we have stayed in the "front" beach. We could pretty much walk everywhere. Of course, if you want to swim, you will have to take a taxi to the "back" beach which is about $2.50usd. The Rex was pretty nice to stay. Our room was huge ( compared to most hotels in Asia). We had a view of the Ocean and pool :-) ( our room was on the 3rd floor). We had a balcony which was great for my husband to smoke. Breakfast was included. The breakfast was ok... They had both western and eastern things on the menu. The hotel was clean. We had free wifi in our room. It would be great if they did a little updating, but overall it was a great stay. The staff was helpful and friendly. I will definatley stay here next time. Try going into the local areas to eat. You will find the food is better and cheaper. Just an FYI.... You can find cheaper hotels in the area. ($15-20 per night) but i would say this is the nicest one I have stayed in yet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly2715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

My company has a corporate rate with this hotel and it's very cheap. So cheap that it justifies for the tired looking hotel even though with the renovation. I'm not sure of the star rating of this hotel but I would put it to 2* or 3*.

It's a no frills hotel as far as I can tell. Fruit baskets delivered to the rooms daily which was a nice touch. There's a pool with a bar area that you can see local (prostitutes?) girls hanging out with hotel guests. It looked abit dodgy and so I stayed away from that area.

Hotel is at the other end of the bay, from the jetty. So if you come in by speed boat to Vung Tau, you'll need a 5mins cab ride to this hotel. As the hotel is near to the beach, you can probably have sea view if you are staying on a floor higher than the trees. Lift is small and just enough for maybe 2-3 pax with some luggages.

Breakfast is typically vietnamese style and you can also see more well off locals coming into this hotel just for the breakfast + swimming pool on a weekend.

There's a convenient store along the road where the hotel is, which is cheap. Hotel is also next to a open field where if there's any local festive activities, it will most likely be held there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SporeSamSeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
0.7 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#9 of 70 in Vung Tau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Petro Hotel
Petro Hotel
#13 of 70 in Vung Tau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.9 km away
Vung Tau P&T Hotel
Vung Tau P&T Hotel
#17 of 70 in Vung Tau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
2.4 km away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#11 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Property: Rex Hotel
Address: 1 Le Quy Don, Vung Tau 790000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vung Tau
Price range (per night): $53 - $77
Hotel Class:3 star — Rex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rex hotel is well-known in Vung Tau city of Vietnam as one of the first international standard three-star hotel. Located in central of beautiful city, within a few minutes walking to reach the Front beach and very close to many tourist attractions of Vung Tau city, REX hotel is ideally convenient for staying working, visiting, relaxing and shopping. Rex hotel comprises of 77 well-appointed guestrooms with stunning view over the sea, mountain and downtown of Vung Tau city. All the rooms are featured with a traditional and sleek design with warm furnishing. You can enjoy the fresh air and sea breeze from every private balcony. Lying in the white wooden lounger chair in the swimming pool area will make you feel most comfortable and really relax. Our obligation is to make REX hotel be "Your home away from home" when you go on vacation or business to Vung Tau, a beautiful coastal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Vung Tau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing