We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sammy Hotel Vung Tau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sammy Hotel Vung Tau
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Vung Tau
Nederland, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

I chose Sammy based on wanting to be on the Back Beach and price. I found the hotel to be great. The beach was right across the street. And for $3 per day, I used the awesome public pool directly across the street, on the beach. The breakfast was as good as any I had in Vietnam, except the HCMC Rex. They had good internet service, good restaurant, great service on room service, laundry service and extra candy etc from housekeeping. $2-$3 cab ride to get anywhere in the downtown area. Great ATM next door at the shopping mall. Overall, I would definitely stay there. I enjoyed the laid back atmosphere of Vung Tao and the Sammy Hotel was very professional and clean. A good value.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    30
    9
    7
See reviews for
18
14
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

The room was so-so. The aircon did not seem to work properly with it going in an on-off mode. The room had a faint tabacco smell. Genrally, the city view was ok. If viewed from the balcony, there are like white stones . It's kind of creppy because it looked like cemetry. I would only reccomand it unless a person spends a large percentage on the beach.An added advantage would be the Imperial plaza which has a lot of shops.
Tip: The hotel rooom I stayed in had no electrical kettle to boil water, so it maybe be advisable to purchase bottles of water beforehand from Imperial plaza. The two bottle given was hardly suffient from two thirsty travellers. There is no safe though.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Modernbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vung Tau hotels

Hong Kong
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed here for one night and that was one night too many. First, there is only one Bell Boy for the entire hotel so if you are rushing to check out then DIY. Secondly, the room was horrible, it is not so clean, the air-con drips all night and although we reserved a non smoking room, they still give us a smoking room and when we complained, they put us in yet another room which smelled like a smoking den. Well, last but not least, the breakfast included in the morning is a BIG JOKE. If you do not like the local food then you only have bread with butter and Jam and horrible coffee instead of a so called "buffet breakfast". By the way, go early because they do not refill any dishes in their breakfast buffet. If I had a choice I would have moved to next door which is a much nicer hotel but they were full.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluePoolRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

We took a hydrofoil from HCM to Vungtau on a Sunday and decided to stay overnight in Vung Tau to check out the place. I choose Sammy hotel based on the info on TA and was not disappointed with our decision. The taxi ride from the Pier to Sammy costed 60K dong, and the walk-in rate on a Sunday was $40USD for two incl B'fast.
The room was OK clean with a small TV, mini bar fridge, desk, chair, coffee table and chair, however, there is no bath rob. Strange thing though, the bathroom is quite spacious but the shower is inside a very narrow bathtub. The breakfast buffet is quite good with zummy Western and Vietnamese choices with a standby chef to cooks the egg for you. But that is where the positive note ended. I found the man who worked behind the reception desk in the evening a bit creepy and unfriendly .... he would look me up and down and then stared at my neck... and I was with my husband. Would I stay there again? Maybe not unless reception desk staff would receiving some basic customer services training.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmocanu_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

Clean and generally comfortable. Would have been superb in its day, but looking a bit tired . Staff at reception and cocktail bar could do with some attitude adjustment. This hotel was undergoing some refurbishment during our stay; the noise was somewhat intrusive. Breakfasts average. Nothing I could put my finger on, but I did experience a feeling of unease here. On the plus side, the foot massages were wonderful!

  • Liked — Foot massages
  • Disliked — Noise, staff attitude
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redsgirlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
0.7 km away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#16 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.3 km away
Lan Rung Beach Resort & Spa
2.1 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#6 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.5 km away
Corvin Hotel
Corvin Hotel
#37 of 70 in Vung Tau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.1 km away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#9 of 70 in Vung Tau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sammy Hotel Vung Tau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sammy Hotel Vung Tau

Property: Sammy Hotel Vung Tau
Address: 157 Thuy Van St | Thang Tam Ward, Vung Tau, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Vung Tau
Price range (per night): $59 - $142
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sammy Hotel Vung Tau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sammy Hotel Vung Tau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing