We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John & Chris”
Review of Matildas

Matildas
Ranked #3 of 183 Restaurants in Vung Tau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Description: Matildas, an International Restaurant/Pub specializing in comfort foods from around the world. We cater to tourists as well as locals and provide the best quality food and drinks available in Vung Tau. Are you interested in a game of golf, or looking to hire a car or motorbike tour? We are happy to help.
Restaurant details
Description: Matildas, an International Restaurant/Pub specializing in comfort foods from around the world. We cater to tourists as well as locals and provide the best quality food and drinks available in Vung Tau. Are you interested in a game of golf, or looking to hire a car or motorbike tour? We are happy to help.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Fantastic bar & restaurant excellent service, owners Molly & Mark a great couple helped us sort out a visa problem with a contact they had. The staff are so friendly & Pearl is a diamond, we can't wait to visit again later this year. Love love love it.

Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iluv2golf2, Owner at Matildas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

John & Chris, having you here was like family visiting from overseas. Thanks so much for finding us in Vung Tau, it was truly a pleasure to meet both of you. We look forward to your return, and ThankYou for taking the time to write this lovely review. xo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This place was walking distance from our hotel so we popped in for a beer & something to eat. Burgers were good, my husband had fish & chips & it was revolting! It was just a soggy, greasy oily over cooked mess! We gave it a second try & had the noodle soup which was good, but would of been delicious if they had of used rice noodles. Staff were pleasant, beer cold, very clean loos. My suggestion - stick with the burgers. I would give them another go.

Thank LittleJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iluv2golf2, Owner at Matildas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thanks for your review, LittleJourney. We appreciate the fact that you noted our staff, products and cleanliness. So sorry we missed the mark on your fish and chips, however. We look forward to your return, and when you do, please introduce yourselves and let us know you've joined us again. It is our hope that we can tick all the boxes for you. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We found this place on Google and had seven adults to feed so after reading reviews we said why not. Although small to most pubs/restaurants the atmosphere is just right and its location just of the main road makes it a hidden gem to the unknown. A great range of food and drinks on offer you are spoiled for choice whilst you sit back and relax to watch the sport/s on the tv. We found it that good we even went back the following night and still enjoyed it, even meeting the owner who has made this place a home away from home for travelers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iluv2golf2, Owner at Matildas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review, Andrew W. We are happy that you were able to join us and were thrilled to have you join us again the following night! Your group was easy to accommodate and loved having you around. Don't hesitate to join us again when you're in Vietnam. Safe travels xo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is a revamped water hole in an old venue, that has undergone several upgrades, with several changes in names by new owners.

It is a relatively small space and is open to the elements. The place is deceptively quiet, even when busy and a civilised conversation can be conducted with the TV's and chatter, in the background.

The plan was to have a quiet beer and catch a bit of cricket. We did that. But we were distracted by the scrumptious looking meals coming from a busy kitchen. It was tempting, so we asked for a menu to peruse the offerings.
Yes, we succumbed. I couldn't resist trying the Bo Kho. It is a slow cooked stew, Vietnamese style. Yummo. It was a good choice. And the accompanying banh mi, bread roll, was used to mop up the tasty gravy/soup!

The food was delicious. The beer was cold. The several TV's screening different sports was enjoyable. The venue is clean and comfortable. The service cannot be faulted.

Do yourself a favour and get down there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 70Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iluv2golf2, Owner at Matildas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Hi 70Gordon! Thanks for your lovely review and kind words. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay in our little slice of life. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again for spending time with us. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Yankee cheeseburger, fries and Tiger the best. The beef is real proper beef and every topping is like home. Totally impressed by the lettuce and tomatoes. For what you get the price is a little high but all in super stuffed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iluv2golf2, Owner at Matildas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thanks for your review, Michael K! I'm glad you could have a taste of home while you were with us in Vietnam. Hopefully you will be able to join us again. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matildas also viewed

Vung Tau, Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province
Vung Tau, Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province
 
Vung Tau, Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province
Vung Tau, Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province
 
Vung Tau, Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province
Vung Tau, Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province
 

Been to Matildas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing