We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay due to an early departure from Ayutthaya”
Review of Grand Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Point
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Phitsanulok
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Due to departing Ayutthaya a day earlier than planned we needed a hotel at very short notice.
Our pre-booked hotel for Phitsanulok didn't have any vacancies for that night so the La Paloma Hotel had to suffice for the night.
The hotel is large and has the structure and facilities that were probably grand and ornate in years past, however time and maintenance issues have seen it wither from any glory.
There was virtually no occupancy and felt like staying in the hotel depicted in "The Shining".
After Ayutthaya though it felt like 5 star.
Breakfast was poor, rooms spacious if not a little musty and décor / cleanliness bearable.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

Circa 1980's decor
Cold shower
Miserable welcome
Musty room
light bulbs missing
Clearly neglected really dont bother!!

It really is the most forgetable hotel ive ever stayed in

Im travelling by motorbike from bangkok to Nan and decided to pick this as my overnight stop

Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank scriabin1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is a vast 1980ish hotel that has seen better days, however, the rooms are large, clean and everything works.
Great shower, minibar, cold and quiet AC, reasonable breakfast. Yes, the rooms could do with a lick of paint but given the room price its the best deal in Pitsanulok!
A pool, very friendly and helpful staff and management. This is a hotel I will definitely come back to.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeninnbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at the La Paloma hotel for 3 nights with my family in December 2012 and had a horrible experience. Unfortunately, we had pre-paid for the stay here not having researched the horrible reveiws published online... all of which, I can personally varify, are true!

This hotel was built on a grand scale, with a huge pool, marble changing rooms, billiard rooms, parlours and decent fittings and furnishings... and then left to rot for the next couple of decades. The water in the swimming pool is murky and smells bad... I was scared to get in, as I am sure I would have become ill from swimming in it. The changing facilities beneath the pool area are completely wrecked: full of broken pool furniture and years of dust and neglect. The lights were often completely switched off in the common areas of the hotel, most likely to conserve on electricity bills.

The worst aspect of staying here were the rude and genuinely unfriendly staff. They were unable to manage a smile and seems to HATE working at the this 'hell hole' of a property. We asked if they were able to help us arrange local transport to some sights in the area and they came back with a laughably overpriced quote... we instead arranged transport elsewhere (with a very friendly local tuk-tuk driver) only to return to verbal abuse (in Thai language, to avoid us understanding) from the angry staff.

DO NOT STAY HERE. There are dozens of better options in Phitsanulok. You have been warned.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kansasforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed only one night, room was old and dirty, smelt too. Stay away!!!! When we arrived I noticed that only the pillow cases were changed, rest of bedding was dirty with blood stains on them, absolutely disgusting... I had to ask twice at reception to change the sheets and finally they did. Phitsanulok is a very run down town, nothing there for tourists, there isnt even a sign in english in centre, stay away from this place if you can!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Z N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phitsanulok hotels
1.2 km away
Amarin Nakorn Hotel
Amarin Nakorn Hotel
#15 of 48 in Phitsanulok
115 reviews
3.5 km away
Amarin Lagoon Hotel
Amarin Lagoon Hotel
#3 of 48 in Phitsanulok
262 reviews
3.8 km away
The Zense Boutique Hotel
The Zense Boutique Hotel
#2 of 48 in Phitsanulok
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Royal Place Hotel
Royal Place Hotel
#6 of 48 in Phitsanulok
29 reviews
1.1 km away
The Grand Riverside Hotel
The Grand Riverside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Phitsanulok
145 reviews
2 km away
Topland Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Point

Address: 103/8 Srithamtraipidok Road, Phitsanulok 65000, Thailand (Formerly La Paloma Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phitsanulok Province > Phitsanulok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Phitsanulok
Price Range: $33 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Point 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing