We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful, dirty and unfriendly... avoid at all costs!”
Review of La Paloma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Paloma Hotel
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Phitsanulok
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at the La Paloma hotel for 3 nights with my family in December 2012 and had a horrible experience. Unfortunately, we had pre-paid for the stay here not having researched the horrible reveiws published online... all of which, I can personally varify, are true!

This hotel was built on a grand scale, with a huge pool, marble changing rooms, billiard rooms, parlours and decent fittings and furnishings... and then left to rot for the next couple of decades. The water in the swimming pool is murky and smells bad... I was scared to get in, as I am sure I would have become ill from swimming in it. The changing facilities beneath the pool area are completely wrecked: full of broken pool furniture and years of dust and neglect. The lights were often completely switched off in the common areas of the hotel, most likely to conserve on electricity bills.

The worst aspect of staying here were the rude and genuinely unfriendly staff. They were unable to manage a smile and seems to HATE working at the this 'hell hole' of a property. We asked if they were able to help us arrange local transport to some sights in the area and they came back with a laughably overpriced quote... we instead arranged transport elsewhere (with a very friendly local tuk-tuk driver) only to return to verbal abuse (in Thai language, to avoid us understanding) from the angry staff.

DO NOT STAY HERE. There are dozens of better options in Phitsanulok. You have been warned.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kansasforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed only one night, room was old and dirty, smelt too. Stay away!!!! When we arrived I noticed that only the pillow cases were changed, rest of bedding was dirty with blood stains on them, absolutely disgusting... I had to ask twice at reception to change the sheets and finally they did. Phitsanulok is a very run down town, nothing there for tourists, there isnt even a sign in english in centre, stay away from this place if you can!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Z N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Beyond revolting, legitimately grimy, shabby, dusty interiors accented by a constant looming mustiness. Broken shower, cold water, wavy t.v. screen and noisy 1970's air-con. No in-room WiFi. A lot of it looks very similar to the hotel in The Shining. Dilapidated. The low-cost means little in exchange for such a depressing experience; one's better off booking someplace smaller, cleaner, and fresher with fewer "amenities." Fresh-air. The only saving grace is a kind staff. They deserve better. Recommendation: Avoid at all costs. Renovation, no. Demolition, yes.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Anandadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Large clean rooms but far away from city. About 5-10 minutes with taxi or a heavy walk of 30 minutes. Rooms have TV with movie; sport channels, mini fridge. Air-condition was a disappointment. We had maximum power and were not cold enough for us. Breakfast buffet was included and tasted delicious. They have a swimming pool also. One thing is good; it’s very close to and from airport if you have a stopover in Phitsanulok.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The rooms a reasonable size but looking somewhat tired and could definitely do with a freshen up. The room furniture was very simple and plain. Lots of hanging space in the cupboard. Bed mattress a bit on the hard side but not unacceptably so. Room had a mini fridge but no mini safe or tea/coffee facilities or room hair dryer. Only one available power point in the whole room for guest use which is pretty poor really. The air-con though worked well. Room was a bit too minimalist for me but at least there was some wood panelling to add some decoration. I didn't try out the internet access. The TV had Cable though very few English language programmes.
Bathroom was absolutely tiny, only soap and small shampoo provided, no other toiletries. Also no shaver point in bathroom. Combi shower with small bath and simple shower through good water pressure. Toilet was pretty low down so a bit awkward to sit on.
We were very annoyed when the hotel tried to charge us 50 baht each when we asked for 2 extra pillows as only one each had been provided, one pillow is really totally unacceptable in this day and age. However, to their credit Reception didn't make much of a fuss when we phoned down to complain and they quickly rescinded the charge. Generally, the staff were pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast wasn't included in our rate so as we were only staying one night we decided to not bother with breakfast at the hotel, so cannot comment on the food. We ate out in the evening before.
The lifts were fairly efficient and one didn't have long to wait. The car park area is fairly large, including some covered spaces so unlikely to be an issue for guests. There was a decent sized pool available though we didn't use it.
Be aware that the one way system and narrow streets in Phitsanulok and few street names which easily visible all makes finding the hotel a bit difficult, so either call first for directions or else print out a decent map of the city centre from the internet, if it is your first visit. The nearest major landmark is the Buddhachinaraj Hospital.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a room higher up, say the 5th floor, as we did, as although the city is not very pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthurrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phitsanulok hotels
1.2 km away
Amarin Nakorn Hotel
Amarin Nakorn Hotel
#12 of 47 in Phitsanulok
114 reviews
3.5 km away
Amarin Lagoon Hotel
Amarin Lagoon Hotel
#3 of 47 in Phitsanulok
252 reviews
0 km away
Phitsanulok Orchid Hotel
Phitsanulok Orchid Hotel
#22 of 47 in Phitsanulok
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Rueanphae Royal Park
Rueanphae Royal Park
#15 of 47 in Phitsanulok
54 reviews
3.8 km away
The Zense Boutique Hotel
The Zense Boutique Hotel
#2 of 47 in Phitsanulok
26 reviews
0 km away
Hansanan Hotel
Hansanan Hotel
#8 of 47 in Phitsanulok
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Hotel

Address: 103/8 Srithamtraipidok Road, Phitsanulok 65000, Thailand (Formerly Indhra Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phitsanulok Province > Phitsanulok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Phitsanulok
Hotel Class:3 star — La Paloma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Paloma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing