We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK though not special”
Review of Grand Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Point
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Phitsanulok
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The rooms a reasonable size but looking somewhat tired and could definitely do with a freshen up. The room furniture was very simple and plain. Lots of hanging space in the cupboard. Bed mattress a bit on the hard side but not unacceptably so. Room had a mini fridge but no mini safe or tea/coffee facilities or room hair dryer. Only one available power point in the whole room for guest use which is pretty poor really. The air-con though worked well. Room was a bit too minimalist for me but at least there was some wood panelling to add some decoration. I didn't try out the internet access. The TV had Cable though very few English language programmes.
Bathroom was absolutely tiny, only soap and small shampoo provided, no other toiletries. Also no shaver point in bathroom. Combi shower with small bath and simple shower through good water pressure. Toilet was pretty low down so a bit awkward to sit on.
We were very annoyed when the hotel tried to charge us 50 baht each when we asked for 2 extra pillows as only one each had been provided, one pillow is really totally unacceptable in this day and age. However, to their credit Reception didn't make much of a fuss when we phoned down to complain and they quickly rescinded the charge. Generally, the staff were pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast wasn't included in our rate so as we were only staying one night we decided to not bother with breakfast at the hotel, so cannot comment on the food. We ate out in the evening before.
The lifts were fairly efficient and one didn't have long to wait. The car park area is fairly large, including some covered spaces so unlikely to be an issue for guests. There was a decent sized pool available though we didn't use it.
Be aware that the one way system and narrow streets in Phitsanulok and few street names which easily visible all makes finding the hotel a bit difficult, so either call first for directions or else print out a decent map of the city centre from the internet, if it is your first visit. The nearest major landmark is the Buddhachinaraj Hospital.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a room higher up, say the 5th floor, as we did, as although the city is not very pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthurrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

This hotel was probably built around 40+ years ago, and in its day was doubtless a very fine establishment. However, time has moved on, leaving this - like so many Thai hotels of that era - as a "Miss Haversham hotel" waiting for guests who will never again fill its 300 plus rooms or its enormous in house restaurant.

The location of the hotel is outside the town centre (such as it is) in a largely residential area with no restaurants or shops nearby, though one of the main streets is perhaps 10 minutes walk away and the night market maybe 15 minutes. There is a good sized car park.

The rooms in use (it looked as if whole floors had been closed off) appear to have been recently and pleasantly re-decorated, with new carpets though the old, dark furniture remains in place, and no new lighting installed. Lighting in the room - there was only one wall light to illuminate the entire room - and the corridors generally was poor and not up to modern standards.

The bedroom and the bathroom, together with the public areas, were spotlessly clean.

The bathroom - over the bath shower - was fine and the shower delivered good pressure and adequate hot water, albeit that the controls were showing their vintage and my wife had some difficulty operating them.

The restaurant was not noteworthy. The food - we both ate Thai, though "western" food was available on the menu - was at best "average" in quality. Service was not great, the staff seeming reluctant to serve the small number of customers in the restaurant. The inevitable live entertainment is best described as "provincial", and was of a standard with the rest of the hotel.

The breakfast selection was good, though unfortunately the staff did not think to light the burners under the "bain maries" - filled with cold water when we passed them at dinner - thus the "hot" breakfast items such as eggs were almost stone cold. Other than this and the somewhat haphazard service, the breakfast was fine.

The clientèle of the hotel when we stayed was mixed and included a farang tour party as well as Thai families. A tolerable amount of English was spoken, for which I was grateful given my still minimal Thai.

This is not the best hotel in the town, but then this is not a town most people are likely to spend more than one night in. It is however very well priced - we paid B700 for an en-suite double with breakfast - and if you are looking for a cheap stop over and are not too much in need of modern facilities or service with a smile, this may fit the bill, though it is nothing special and we would not choose to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pigman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Phitsanulok is one of those towns in the middle of Thailand that no one really thinks of or goes to, nevermind that it is a great stopover between Bangkok and Chiang Mai. The La Paloma hotel is perfect for that one or two night stopover, with decent rooms and good service. Don't look for a gym (there wasn't one as of the end of May), but the location is great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank croctad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

we stay there for a nite only ... JUST STAY AWAY... it is dirty, rusty and musty!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 7 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phitsanulok hotels
1.2 km away
Amarin Nakorn Hotel
Amarin Nakorn Hotel
#15 of 48 in Phitsanulok
115 reviews
3.5 km away
Amarin Lagoon Hotel
Amarin Lagoon Hotel
#3 of 48 in Phitsanulok
262 reviews
3.8 km away
The Zense Boutique Hotel
The Zense Boutique Hotel
#2 of 48 in Phitsanulok
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Royal Place Hotel
Royal Place Hotel
#6 of 48 in Phitsanulok
29 reviews
1.1 km away
The Grand Riverside Hotel
The Grand Riverside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Phitsanulok
145 reviews
2 km away
Topland Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Point

Address: 103/8 Srithamtraipidok Road, Phitsanulok 65000, Thailand (Formerly La Paloma Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phitsanulok Province > Phitsanulok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Phitsanulok
Price Range: AU$33 - AU$35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Point 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing