We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Richard W
Australia

Great Location

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Mar 2012
This hotel is in a beautiful old timber building right on the Mekong and next to the Tha Sadet markets. The room was ok - clean and comfortable. Reception was slow and disorganised and not particularly welcoming. The restaurant overlooks the Mekong and is a great spot to spend time in the evening.
Date of stay: August 2011
Trip type: Travelled solo
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Mekong Riverside
Free Wifi
Free parking
White Inn Nong Khai
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Mekong Riverside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$53
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from Mekong Riverside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Mekong Riverside
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.2 km from Mekong Riverside
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    2.0 km from Mekong Riverside
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    2.5 km from Mekong Riverside
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    17.0 km from Mekong Riverside
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$26
    • Booking.com
    2.2 km from Mekong Riverside
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
      2.6 km from Mekong Riverside
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Nong Khai
      Reviews (18)
      Filter reviews
      18 results
      Traveller rating
      1
      2
      9
      4
      2
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      1
      2
      9
      4
      2
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      11 - 16 of 18 reviews
      Reviewed 11 January 2012

      We thought we had found a gem, an old wooden guest house on the bank of the Mekong in a great location. We should have realised something was wrong when we found the staff so unfriendly. Not smiling, not welcoming - the promised 600 Baht rooms were suddenly 800 Baht etc.
      The rooms have a sort of tatty, run-down, rustic charm. But the tiny bathrooms are the sort with no shower curtain so everywhere gets soaked when you have a shower.
      However the BIG PROBLEM is that they have a major plumbing noise problem. The water pipes made a terrible noise all through the night, buzzing, humming, droning - at times it felt like the whole room was vibrating with it. Impossible to sleep for long.

      WORST OF ALL was our experience in the "restaurant". The restaurant looks great, but the food is awful! The waitresses were in a bad mood from the start, banging plates down rudely. I live in Thailand and eat Thai food 99% of the time, but just sometimes I fancy some European food. They had 'T-Bone Steak' on the menu for 300 Baht. Obviously domestic beef at this price, but still expensive for a meal in Thailand and I have enjoyed steaks for 2/3rds the price. When it came the ‘steak’ was a twisted, blackened mess, with about 12 tiny glass-hard chips. I tried to cut the steak (with a steak knife) from every angle – it was like the sole of my shoe! I just could not cut it at all. We called over the waitress who went away and came back saying there was nothing she could do because they didn’t have any sharper knives!! We explained that if I could not cut it, then I could not eat it, and so it was no good. She took it away saying they would cook it again! It came back hammered all over into pieces with a thick brown sauce over it. I tried a piece, but had to spit it out – it was just too revolting. I refused to pay for it. There was no manager present so they phoned him/her. I ended up having to pay half to avoid trouble – but had nothing to eat! The Thai people I was with said their Thai food was awful also – far too salty.
      I walked along the river (turned right) and soon found a bar called ‘The Local’ and had an excellent hamburger with loads of chips for 100 Baht!

      Room tip: Stay and eat somewhere else! This place looks nice but is a disaster!
      Date of stay: January 2012
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      7  Thank zzzzzebra
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 14 April 2011

      Best location in Nong Khai, next to Tha Sadet Market. Guest House on the Mekong River. Fantastic view from restaurant. Guest House is next to Tha Sadet Market, so you will wake up with the city. If you're a late sleeper, this is not for you. It is very noisey. Bathroom is not the best, nor the worse, I had in rooms. I do like a clean bathroom. Hot water and air available. Staff is approachable, but not outgoing. Neither friendly nor rude. Guest House is an old traditional, style Thai house with great wood structure. Wake up and walk into the Tha Sadet Market, or down the prommenade along the Mekong, or walk two (short) blocks away to find either Thai or European restaurants.

      Room tip: Ask for riverside rooms ahead of time.
      Date of stay: April 2011
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Totsagan
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 11 August 2015
      Google Translation

      Date of stay: September 2014
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 4 June 2015
      Google Translation

      Date of stay: July 2014
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 16 June 2014
      Google Translation

      Date of stay: October 2013
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews