We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing place Amazing Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charm Churee Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charm Churee Villa
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place Amazing Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

There is nothing bad that We can say about this place. set on the side of a hill on an island surrounded by nothing but beauty and water. You can't go wrong. We spent 4 days at charm Churee Villa/ Koh Tao Bamboo huts. We'd splashed out a bit more for a waterfront bungalow and upon arrival were delighted to hear that we had been upgraded to a bigger waterfront sunset bungalow. Having no idea what we were in for we were skeptical as lead through the tropical trees on a funny little paved path to our Bungalow, But as our door was opened our Jaws Dropped. A huge marble room with a giant double bed right in the middle looking out through a wall on windows that presented us with unobstructed Panoramic views. .... Then it got better. Our bathroom was Outdoors. This place really emphasizes on being unique and sustainable and we could see a view from even point in our bungalow. Even whilst on the toilet. Pretty cool.
Every one was nice and friendly but the service really shined through when we got food poisioning from a local restaurant in town. Both My partner and I woke up Incredibly sick in the middle of the night and had to go to hospital. The caretake got up at 3am to take us, and as we struggled to walk through to the car along the long footpath he even Rubbed our backs when we stopped to be sick. Now that is service.
We were in Hospital for about 16hrs on a drip and first thing in the morning we got a visit from 2 charm churee staff coming to see how we were. They then brought us some plain rice to try and eat cooked from the charm churee villa and had someone clean our room and collect our books so that when could read whilst imobile at the hospital We checked out, and went back to our gorgeous clean room and we given room service and once again were checked on by the same two staff members to see if we were okay. ..... we also met the Owner of the resort, Mr Jaks. A lovely and very interesting man, who has a Passion for people and life. On the day we left he organised for us to be picked up from the pier in chumpon by people who worked at his sisters hotel on the mainland and take us back to the hotel for a shower and a place to leave our stuff while we had 5 hours to kill before our train to BKK left. Mr Jaks kept calling us to make sure we were okay and to inform us about our train status as he was looking it up on the internet to inform us if it was delayed which it was and is very common in Thailand. When we tried to tip the men and say thank you they wouldn't accept it, ( which is uncommon) said that it was all just a helping hand. These people went above and beyond.
We met a couple who weren't very pleased with their room. The cheaper ones are in the jungle set back from the water and are unable to get much sunlight through the trees. They voiced their disapointment and were suprised to get such an accomodating response. The people at charm churee villa apologised and then gave them a choice of a few other rooms that were not booked ( within reason of course) and let them choose the one they wanted.
It is exciting they have weddings, snorkling a bar and everywhere a great view. I hope to go back to see Palin Mr Jaks and the Charm churee Villa crew sometime soon in the future. Thank you to all the staff for your generosity and help.

Room Tip: If you want a good room. Do what we did. Pay a little extra. Nothing compares in Thailand what you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZoSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    301
    149
    61
    58
See reviews for
144
461
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I have a love/hate relationship with Charm Churee.

When you arrive at CC, you realise that your in a jungle. If your older or have a walking impedement, this is not the resort for you as there is an immense amount of walking to and from ammenities within the resort and its up and down hills like i have never had to climb before. However...

On arriving, we managed to change our room to 30A. What can i say...absolutely amazing location. Uninterrupted view of Nang Yuan Island and the water and shared walk down to a small rocky beach...shared with only about 4 other units. The unit was completely privtae and the water was so clear and full of vibrant fish that i was gobsmacked when i took my first swim. However...your paying purely for location here. The accomodation is rustic...and by rustic, i mean bamboo structure, no TV and at night, we had the horrendous task of listening to all sorts of live animals playing cat and mouse games on our tin roof. A giant water spider on our toilet paper on the first night in the bathroom was a ghastly surprise, but again...your in the jungle.

Despite all this, i love the location and the private beach at Jansom Bay. So prvt and protected, the snorkelling was amazing and i couldnt get out of the water since there was sea life everywhere, from feeding schools of fish on coral to even a blue spotted sting-ray. Absolutely heaven.

I will be back i am sure, but only due to the location and Margo and her team, including Ben at the Charm Churee Dive shop. They made our experience truly worthwhile and we survived on snorkeling and scuba diving for 5 days, wishing it was longer.

All in all, loved the place and a little hint..take your own mossie spray...the buggers are the size of mice over there. Also, be wary of organising excurision through the hotel as we did a fishing trip which was a disaster and the long tail boats are easy enough to hire from Mae Haed harbour and a lot cheaper than through the hotel. Also, there Starlight restaurant is a very pricey, but a beautiful location. However, we found the Elvis bar at the beach was great.

Room Tip: Try find a room close to the beach or the ocean. Getting to town from there is easier anyways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WadeNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virum
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

A very secluded resort, with bungalows "hidden" between treetops up the hill. A long walk to the nearest town, but the private beach is just beautiful! It is a little bay, with crystal clear water and you can snorkel for hours. There is also an amazing spa, and beach bar and restaurant there as well. Just beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nimo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Had an amazing 5 nights here...
The 4 poster bed was picture perfect with sea views and private sunbathing platfrom in the jungle. The room was well equipped, had a large comfy bed and keen cleaning staff who waited outside each day with armfuls of clean towels!
Breakfast was average with little choice, not excellent but the friendly staff made up for it. The Elvis Bar had decent food for lunch but very overpriced. The Starlight restaurant was great, very romantic, bitten to pieces by the mosquitos though!
The private beach was lovely, clean, very small but just big enough, with loungers and seating areas, bamboo rafts out at sea and all the snorkelling you could dream of. The tropical fish were plentiful and the Dive shop team was great - we saw a whaleshark with Ben - such lucky people!
I read reviews before booking which suggested peace, quiet and no kids - which we got mostly - a bit of late night music from a bar further up the bay, some noisy Thai kids early one morning screaming on the beach....just our luck!
'Rustic Charm' is a perfect description by the hotel - a partially outside bathroom and we shared our bedroom with a selection of noisy lizards which crapped on the bed netting every night...but this added to our experience.
Overall a beautiful, romantic setting but dont expect 'hotel style' luxury for the price!

Room Tip: Our room was in the middle of the resort map, no38, which put us 2mins from the beach downhill and 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurac86_holidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Charm Churee is made up of quaint little bamboo villas dotted throughout the rainforest around the gorgeous Jansom Bay. Getting to Ko Tao is Ok, from Koh Samui there area few boats a day - booking online worked well and saved the queues.
our villa was perched on a huge boulder looking right out to sea. It was split level with 2 decks, a little living room and separate bedroom and bathrooms. It was beautifully put together - not 5 star luxury, but very pretty and appealing. To get to the breakfast restaurant you have to weave between the rocks, over the beach then up the rainforest path. I wouldn't recommend it if you have a stroller, or aren't very mobile.
We spent our evenings on the loungers drinking a beer, looking out to sea. Great!
Ko Tao has some nice restaurants and cool bars in the town - about 15 mins easy walk away. It's also known for it's excellent diving. We went with Planet Scuba and the were fantastic.

Room Tip: All look lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyliea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 km away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
3.1 km away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
2.2 km away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
2.7 km away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.4 km away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#3 of 50 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charm Churee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Churee Villa

Property: Charm Churee Villa
Address: 30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price range (per night): $66 - $219
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Churee Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 2002, Charm Churee Villa plans to develop our resort to be the best for our guests. Charm Churee Villa is located on a 300-Rai (120 acres or 48 hectares) seaside piece of well preserved jungle, facing west. With more than 1,500 meters shoreline, the estate consists of 4 beaches. Pak Bung (which means Morning Glory) Bay is the most northern beach (about 10 minutes walk from the main pier) consists of sand, gravels and rocks, it is about 80 meters in length. The next beach southward is Jansom Bay, which is another 5 minutes walk from Pak Bung Bay (named means Moon-Like) is around 160 meters wide consists mostly of sand, huge rocks, corals and colorful fish. Perfect for snorkeling. Neptune is the next one down south; about 20 minutes walk from Jansom Bay. Neptune, one of the best kept little secret coves in Koh Tao, consists of mostly rocks is perfect for private sun bathing with small sandy beach. It's approximately 80 meters in length. Last but not least, is a twin: Sai Nuan beach I and II. It's mostly sandy beaches with a set of big rocks between them. Sai Nuan I is a sandy beach with the width of 240 meters and Sai Nuan II is a little smaller. This shoreline estate is not only known for the well kept jungle land, but also its pristine underwater world. Along the 1,500 meters coast consists of several famous snorkeling and scuba diving sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Sawasdee, Odigeo, Wotif.com and Agoda so you can book your Charm Churee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charm Churee Villa Hotel Koh Tao
Charm Churee Hotel
Charm Churee Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing