We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koh Tao Cabana
Nearby Hotels
USD 139*
USD 131*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 85*
USD 63*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 73*
USD 47*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
USD 53*
USD 42*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
USD 155*
USD 144*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
USD 78*
USD 47*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 67*
USD 49*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 112*
USD 83*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
USD 58*
USD 25*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aminjirah Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
USD 62*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveller rating
332
232
105
64
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
232
105
64
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrim laesairee beachwhite sandthe cottagesbeach bedsoutdoor showerwalk along the beachocean viewsun loungerslow tidefour nightslotus baramazing viewsmango baynight lifebeautiful resortnoise
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 776 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stayed with a group of 4 at the Ko Tao Cabana in early 2012 for 3 nights (the stay was originally booked for 5 nights but we all had to leave early due to the major weaknesses at this facility - we requested a refund of the unused nights and were denied our request). The one and only positive was the beautiful tropical setting. The rest was fair to poor and when you factor in the price point, this was a most regrettable trip. The rooms were just fair and the outdoor bathrooms took them down a notch from there. The interaction with the staff was full of hollow smiles (except for the spa treatments) but the service was poor. Any request that was non-standard was met with apathy followed by a wild goose chance that discouraged future requests. No one had the authority locally to do anything, including what was promised during web reservations. All inquires were referred to the Bangkok office which was unreachable and unhelpful. The noise from the bars down the beach which was mentioned in other reviews, was needless to say, VACATION KILLING. Unfortunately for us, the noise NEVER stopped, even in the wee hours of the morning. Food service was poor and the restaurant closed at odd hours (sometimes on a different schedule than posted). All in all, you would be better off staying elsewhere where the cost, ammenities and service are more aligned.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

It is certainly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed!
We stayed in a beach front bungalow and it was just amazing! The room is great, with an outdoors shower and a balcony over the sea. The service is amazing and the staff is really friendly and helpful.
The breakfast is great and served in a restaurant with stunning views!
Totally recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marifeijoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

After one month searching for quiet places to stay in Thailand, far away from massive tourism, i finally decided to go for Kho Tao island. I spend 5 days in the busy Bangkok, then i toke the night train from Hua Lumphong station to Chumphon,( it takes around 9 hours and it costs 400 bth 2nd class with bed). I booked the Lomprayah ferry to get to the island, it is the best and the fastest, and they pick you up from the train station at chumphon considering its far from the pear, arround 30m. I chose to stay at Kho Tao Cabanas because im a nature lover, and being tired of the city all i wanted was to be just right in the middle of it. Upon the ferry arrival, we had a transport van waiting for us, you have to look carefully for the signs with your name, there are many, but it was not a problem to find.
When we arrived at Kho Tao cabanas, i had a sense of happiness inside of me, this was exactly the place i wanted to be, its so grateful to travel from so far away and get what you desire. We were received with a welcome drink, called Roselle, which contains very healthy properties (at the end i bought kilos of it to drink at home), and the personnel at the reception was very professional and friendly, providing us with all the info we needed. We got the sky cabana n20, a beauty, i felt in paradise, everything is so natural, all the decor is around natural materials in complete harmony with the nature, and the beds really comfortable.
The bathroom is a bit special, as no roof, so expect some visitors, i had a peculiar one, a big blue crab, and a beautiful yellow frog, but that was not a problem for me at all.
The breakfast is simple but healthy, i loved the bread toaster, was done with charcoal :) fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, bread, etc more than enough, and the view is absolutely gorgeous.
We did not try the restaurant because its pricy compared with all the ones you can find along the beach, i recommend the MArina, its a family business and the food is just delicious, and cheap, i eat there everyday!!!
The beach is a bit small, but the best on Sairee, if you walk 500 mt further you can find an open sewer which is sad.... we decided to stay at the beach most part of the time, but you can do lots of other activities, such as taking a taxi boat to nayuang island (its beautiful but crowded) snorkeling, diving etc at night we walked a bit in the center, but its another world, lots of scooters passing by which i find annoying, and sex travesty places.... young people drinking, and noise!
The island will soon be like the others, in part is the tourists fault, they go on holidays but they want to have the same life as Europe such as noisy techno music, alcohol, sex, and other stuff so places like this spread, like a virus ruin the beauty of a place.
I stayed 8 days at Kho Tao cabanas, and i would stay longer, this place is just perfect for the ones who love nature.
As some said here, my only sadness was the noise coming from the bars at night, but even that will never erase the memories of this place.
PS: take a lot of mosquito repellent, after 5, they kamikaze you :)
and buy crafts from the natives that walk on the beach instead of shops, they are so friendly and sweet like all the thai people!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegaGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I reviewed this resort 4 years ago and absolutely loved it. Going back now, I found the resort has grown a lot bigger. New huts, a spa, a reception desk. With the new additions, the level of service seems to have gone (but the price has gone up, by a lot).

The resort's pick up guy at the pier didn't want to take me because I had no reservation, even though I was planning on staying for a considerable amount of time and it was low season. The reception desk was polite but insincere in securing me a reservation on the phone, and it all felt a little strained. Whereas I had felt so at home the first time around.

They have DVDs for rent at the resort shop (and a DVD player in the room), but since the shop closes at 5pm you end up having to leave the beach early if you want to secure a DVD for the night. Silly.

The spa is lovely though, the massage was amazing and after a complimentary 15 min massage we happily booked a full one against the inflated Koh Tao prices.

Breakfast is some buffet style affair which means everything was basically cold. Pancakes, eggs, bacon, the lot.

The most disappointing was to find Koh Tao has changed into somewhat of a party island, with loud beats that reflect and amplify over the water of the bay every night till one, two, three in the morning. Not just weekends! We could hear it very well in our hut, even through ear plugs. On the second night we decided to join them rather than trying to catch an early night.

Although the cottages at Koh Tao Cabanas are still lovely, they are now overpriced and the place seems to have lost it's boutiquey feel in favour of the standard posh approach.

The whole experience resulted in us leaving Sairee Beach after just 3 days and moving towards a quieter part of the island. Don't even want to know what peak season would be like!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soozysooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

As soon as we arrived, we were shocked at the sight and smell of about fifty black bin bags full of stinking rubbish right next to the hotel entrance. Every day when we walked past the smell was nauseating and there were often flies; sometimes the local dogs had pulled the rubbish out of the bags and strewn it all over the place, or some unidentified fluid was leaking out of the bags. We thought they must be cleaning it soon, but during the 8 days we were there the rubbish remained. It really ruined an otherwise pleasant stay. Our room was fairly large and we loved the free sunbeds; the beach was a bit dirty sometimes but not too bad and we liked the Rim Lae restaurant a lot. It was so beautiful at night. However, for the price I expect a refuse service and not to be swimming amongst buckets, straws and plastic bags. What a shame. We may go back to Koh Tao, but never to the Cabana or Sairee Beach.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whale_shark_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews