We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again!!!!”
Review of Koh Tao Cabana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koh Tao Cabana
Ranked #11 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would not stay here again!!!!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days and would not recommend it. This was the worst hotel we stayed at during our two weeks in Thailand and the most expensive!!!

Our room smelt moulding and was dirty. The shower was horrible and I hated going in there!!! The towels smelt damp!

The staff were rude and very unhelpful especially the man in reception. He just seemed like he could not be bothered!

They asked us to settle our bill the day before we checked out and even phone use twice to request that we came to reception to do it that afternoon. It was like they did not trust us!!


We spent one day on the sun loungers near the beach and they were crawling with ants everywhere. Staff never asked us if we wanted a drink from the bar, they just sat around all day doing nothing! We went out for dinner that night and there was beer bottles and glasses left on the sun loungers until the morning. (no wonder there were ants everywhere)

Breakfast was ok but the fruit was crawling with ants and it really puts you off!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bambi1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    212
    97
    52
    37
See reviews for
101
419
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stayed with a group of 4 at the Ko Tao Cabana in early 2012 for 3 nights (the stay was originally booked for 5 nights but we all had to leave early due to the major weaknesses at this facility - we requested a refund of the unused nights and were denied our request). The one and only positive was the beautiful tropical setting. The rest was fair to poor and when you factor in the price point, this was a most regrettable trip. The rooms were just fair and the outdoor bathrooms took them down a notch from there. The interaction with the staff was full of hollow smiles (except for the spa treatments) but the service was poor. Any request that was non-standard was met with apathy followed by a wild goose chance that discouraged future requests. No one had the authority locally to do anything, including what was promised during web reservations. All inquires were referred to the Bangkok office which was unreachable and unhelpful. The noise from the bars down the beach which was mentioned in other reviews, was needless to say, VACATION KILLING. Unfortunately for us, the noise NEVER stopped, even in the wee hours of the morning. Food service was poor and the restaurant closed at odd hours (sometimes on a different schedule than posted). All in all, you would be better off staying elsewhere where the cost, ammenities and service are more aligned.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

It is certainly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed!
We stayed in a beach front bungalow and it was just amazing! The room is great, with an outdoors shower and a balcony over the sea. The service is amazing and the staff is really friendly and helpful.
The breakfast is great and served in a restaurant with stunning views!
Totally recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marifeijoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

After one month searching for quiet places to stay in Thailand, far away from massive tourism, i finally decided to go for Kho Tao island. I spend 5 days in the busy Bangkok, then i toke the night train from Hua Lumphong station to Chumphon,( it takes around 9 hours and it costs 400 bth 2nd class with bed). I booked the Lomprayah ferry to get to the island, it is the best and the fastest, and they pick you up from the train station at chumphon considering its far from the pear, arround 30m. I chose to stay at Kho Tao Cabanas because im a nature lover, and being tired of the city all i wanted was to be just right in the middle of it. Upon the ferry arrival, we had a transport van waiting for us, you have to look carefully for the signs with your name, there are many, but it was not a problem to find.
When we arrived at Kho Tao cabanas, i had a sense of happiness inside of me, this was exactly the place i wanted to be, its so grateful to travel from so far away and get what you desire. We were received with a welcome drink, called Roselle, which contains very healthy properties (at the end i bought kilos of it to drink at home), and the personnel at the reception was very professional and friendly, providing us with all the info we needed. We got the sky cabana n20, a beauty, i felt in paradise, everything is so natural, all the decor is around natural materials in complete harmony with the nature, and the beds really comfortable.
The bathroom is a bit special, as no roof, so expect some visitors, i had a peculiar one, a big blue crab, and a beautiful yellow frog, but that was not a problem for me at all.
The breakfast is simple but healthy, i loved the bread toaster, was done with charcoal :) fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, bread, etc more than enough, and the view is absolutely gorgeous.
We did not try the restaurant because its pricy compared with all the ones you can find along the beach, i recommend the MArina, its a family business and the food is just delicious, and cheap, i eat there everyday!!!
The beach is a bit small, but the best on Sairee, if you walk 500 mt further you can find an open sewer which is sad.... we decided to stay at the beach most part of the time, but you can do lots of other activities, such as taking a taxi boat to nayuang island (its beautiful but crowded) snorkeling, diving etc at night we walked a bit in the center, but its another world, lots of scooters passing by which i find annoying, and sex travesty places.... young people drinking, and noise!
The island will soon be like the others, in part is the tourists fault, they go on holidays but they want to have the same life as Europe such as noisy techno music, alcohol, sex, and other stuff so places like this spread, like a virus ruin the beauty of a place.
I stayed 8 days at Kho Tao cabanas, and i would stay longer, this place is just perfect for the ones who love nature.
As some said here, my only sadness was the noise coming from the bars at night, but even that will never erase the memories of this place.
PS: take a lot of mosquito repellent, after 5, they kamikaze you :)
and buy crafts from the natives that walk on the beach instead of shops, they are so friendly and sweet like all the thai people!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegaGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I reviewed this resort 4 years ago and absolutely loved it. Going back now, I found the resort has grown a lot bigger. New huts, a spa, a reception desk. With the new additions, the level of service seems to have gone (but the price has gone up, by a lot).

The resort's pick up guy at the pier didn't want to take me because I had no reservation, even though I was planning on staying for a considerable amount of time and it was low season. The reception desk was polite but insincere in securing me a reservation on the phone, and it all felt a little strained. Whereas I had felt so at home the first time around.

They have DVDs for rent at the resort shop (and a DVD player in the room), but since the shop closes at 5pm you end up having to leave the beach early if you want to secure a DVD for the night. Silly.

The spa is lovely though, the massage was amazing and after a complimentary 15 min massage we happily booked a full one against the inflated Koh Tao prices.

Breakfast is some buffet style affair which means everything was basically cold. Pancakes, eggs, bacon, the lot.

The most disappointing was to find Koh Tao has changed into somewhat of a party island, with loud beats that reflect and amplify over the water of the bay every night till one, two, three in the morning. Not just weekends! We could hear it very well in our hut, even through ear plugs. On the second night we decided to join them rather than trying to catch an early night.

Although the cottages at Koh Tao Cabanas are still lovely, they are now overpriced and the place seems to have lost it's boutiquey feel in favour of the standard posh approach.

The whole experience resulted in us leaving Sairee Beach after just 3 days and moving towards a quieter part of the island. Don't even want to know what peak season would be like!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozysooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.6 km away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,214 reviews
4.4 km away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,436 reviews
2.6 km away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
4.5 km away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
848 reviews
2.7 km away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Cabana

Property: Koh Tao Cabana
Address: 16 Moo 1, Baan Haad Sai Ree | Koh Tao, Koh Phaghan, Koh Tao 48360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price range (per night): $136 - $212
Hotel Class:4 star — Koh Tao Cabana 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Cabana is an intimate resort located on Thailand's most secluded island, It offer a brand new alternative for adventurous travelers seeking unprecedented comfort with traditional Thai charm and hospitality. Indulge your senses in one of the most exclusive locations on Sai Ree Beach, You can get back to nature in the peace and serenity of your own private villa, set amid beautifully tropical gardens where you'll feel like your second home! Life takes on a slower pace here with the promise of an untold adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Cabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Cabana Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing