We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Review Highlights
Open water diving course

Incredible experience with a brilliant diving school! The whole course was amazing and felt very at... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
AmyM5541
via mobile
Open water diving course

Extremely happy with Phoenix divers! Our instructor Hugo was excellent which led to very enjoyable... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Jbrace12
via mobile
Read all 1,160 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Koh Tao
from USD 359.30
More Info
from USD 137.57
More Info
from USD 356.06
More Info
from USD 64.74
More Info
Reviews (1,160)
Filter reviews
1,160 results
Traveller rating
1,096
46
7
1
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,096
46
7
1
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ac resort open water diving school fun dives dive master diving experience amazing experience made us feel dive shop free accommodation awesome diving great teacher dive sites four days dive course my girlfriend advanced adventurer
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 1,160 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Koh Tao is one of the most recommended places in the world to get your diving licenae because it is very cheap (around 8500 THB for the open water) and has some beautiful coral reefs.

I just took part in the 4 day Open Water Diving Course with our instructor Hugo Tiger and loved the whole experience. We were 5 students in the team, even though it was high season + after a Full Moon party weekend. Phoenix divers and our instructor took very good care of us, making sure everyone is doing good and is keeping up with the group.

The OW diving course package costs 8500 THB and features free accommodation in a dorm or for at least two people a bungalow at AC Resort (read about them here on tripadvisor).

The course started on the same day I booked it.
Day 1: theory and a video course (plus some homework)
Day 2: more lessons, first test diving and the last homework
Day 3: last lesson and written exam, after that doing our first two real open water dives
Day 4: two more amazing dives down to 15m starting very early

You got the option to book a videographer (we went with Gigi) as a group for around 3000 THB (price stays the same, no matter how many of your group are booking it). Totally worth it! It is a nice piece of memory and Gigi did a good job, showing us the video the very same evening.
If you want to do the Advanced diving course afterwards, you get 10% off (around 7000 THB) then.

5/5

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank sirwritealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Hey guys,
I have done the open water dive course at phoenix divers and it was so much fun!!! We had a great instructor, named Hugo Tiger. I really recommend this dive school and especially the diving spot in koh tao!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Adrian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Just did the Open Water Diver with the Dive Instructor Hugo Tiger. Everybody should do this course, especially with this Instructor! It was a lot of fun, learned a lot and the most important thing is, i always felt really safe while diving! Thank you Hugo, an awsome experience

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Andre_Landwehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I completed the open water training course and had a blast! The dive centre is in a great location on the island with lots of food options nearby. The dives were amazing and the course was not difficult to complete. Great overall experience!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Completed the open water diving course and it was spectacular! Thanks to our instructor Hugo Tiger for his professional mentoring skill to let us see the WHALE SHARK on the second dive, which has rarely happen before!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Tan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews