We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
373
83
30
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
83
30
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews owners luke and michelle big supermarket air con dirt track order food home from home rent a scooter relaxing stay quiet location exploring the island living room main road free upgrade beautiful pool stayed here for nights standard room shark bay
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed here as a treat from budget accommodation and stayed in a standard room. The room was great! AMAZING shower and washroom. Good AC. Wifi was slow but worked well. The balcony was a nice touch as well.
The location is a bit of a hike off the main road but very quiet. Note the road is a bit tricky to ride a scooter on if you are less experienced.
The pool is a nice touch as well.
It was a bit hard to find staff on check in and check out and I found email to be the best way to contact them if the need wasn't immediate.
Overall great experience and I would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Do not hesitate to stay at Woodlawn. I'll keep it brief:

- hosts are fantastic. They welcome you, provide you with a local mobile phone (amazing touch), a booklet of their personal recommendations for transport / food / diving etc, and even send you a "checking in" email (which basically asks how you're finding the stay)
- rooms are in really good shape with excellent air con
- WIFI was great

- just note that the path leading up to the hotel is a dirt road. This is of course not a problem at all, but if you're going to rent a bike, make sure you're comfortable braking on this type of road :)

Thanks Luke & Michelle!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JonCrawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Fantastic stay with lovely staff and great location. About 5 min drive from the main town but can hire bikes through them. Local amenities very good and cappuccinos breakfast bar is lovely and close by.
Off the main road so is quiet and bikes are needed to explore the island.
Staff are lovely and the rooms are spacious and immaculate.
Safe and Friday in the room, by the fridge does the off when you leave the room.

Room Tip: Book the new build apartment's
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank plane0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

We went to koh Tao for a week to get over the full moon party on the neighbouring island when we crossed paths with some people we met earlier on in our travels in Cambodia. They had just stayed at Woodlawn Villas and recommended it to us..... Boy o boy.... What an amazing location, absolutely fantastic warm welcome from the owners Luke and his wife Michelle. As soon as we arrived we fell in love with the the place. The fresh cozy bungalow we stayed in had beautiful decoration, all the condiments you needed and most of all, clean sheets which are hard to come by in some places.
The following few days we didn't get away from there swimming pool, just relaxing in the tranquil grounds Woodlawn is set in.
Luke who by the sounds of things has been there for ever, speaks Thai and his knowledge of all areas on the island is 1st class. He set us up to go to little alcoves on the island that not many tourists get the pleasure in going to... We were meant to stay a week and ended up staying 3 and have re booked in advance due to its popularity.

Can't thank you enough for making one of the most memorable time of lives.
Good luck to you both and all the team at Wood Lawn Villas..

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank robertboyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

per friendly staff in a beautiful setting.
Really clean rooms would definitely come back again.
Katie loved it.. "Daddy this is te best place we go on the plane"
Luke and michelle are surely clowned from a fairy tale movie hosts are impeccable..
This is our 8th time here every time we come back they have added something. Bur the way they do it doesn't encroach on the current setting, as if thus place couldn't get any more magical they go ahead and do it again and again. Truly remarkable

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Bentech12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews