We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation, Exc. location, Very friendly owners”
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I originally booked a two week stay then changed it to one because I wasn't sure if I would like the island as much as I did. As I said to Luke&Michelle I would probably regret that decision & I did, because the island is fantastic, as is the location & accommodation at Woodlawn Villas. It is only a 10-15 minute walk from the beach, & less to the shops and bars.
The advantage of Woodlawn is that it's close enough to the beach, yet far enough away to get a good ( quiet ) nights sleep.
The accommodation itself is excellent, home from home. Very clean & very well equipped, with air con, fridge, kitchenette with everything needed, fresh towels daily, tv & dvd, EVEN a pre-payed mobile phone with phone numbers for taxis, take aways, Luke&Michelle. They've really thought about their business from the big things to the smallest things & I can't think of anything to criticise.
Luke & Michelle are always at the end of the phone & available to help where they can, and are very helpful in recommending things to do & places to go.
All in all a very enjoyable stay & I shall be returning. Give it a go you won't be disappointed !!!!

Best regards, Dean

Room Tip: I gather all the rooms are of equal quality & that the only difference is square footage, so dep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 327 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed here for 12 nights in April and would highly recommend it. We wanted somewhere special and relaxing to stay and definitely found it in Woodlawn Villas. The location was perfect for us - lovely and quiet, set in well kept grounds but walking distance to the shops, good restaurants and the beach.

We stayed in a Garden Villa and the rooms are really clean and comfortable and I slept better than I've done in years. The kitchen has everything you need (we cooked quite a bit). There's a lovely balcony which is perfect to sit on for breakfast. Usually if you stay somewhere a while you start to notice little things that need attention but this is really not the case here - well except the fact my partner felt the DVD selection was too girlie but that was fine by me :)

What makes Woodlawn Villas so special above all are the owners, Michelle and Luke. They gave us loads of advice on where to go to on the island, places to eat at, quiet beaches etc. Michelle was great from the moment we contacted her with the booking inquiry and set up transport to meet us etc which all worked well. Luke was great with all the food recommendations! There was no question they couldn't answer. They were lovely to chat to but equally if you don't want to be sociable they would be very respectful of that.

We'd highly recommend staying here if you want a lovely holiday and we'll definitely be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at Woodlawn Villas at the start of April 2012 in a Garden Villa and thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in such tranquil surroundings.

Prior to our holiday in Thailand and Koh Tao, we spent many hours between us trawling through numerous places of accommodation and stumbled upon this "Little Gem". All the excellent Trip Advisor reviews are to be believed and hit the nail on the head.

The Villa is situated only 5mins taxi ride from the ferry pier at Mae Haad and is easily within walking distance to Sairee Beach, approx 30mins. A supermarket is only 2mins walk away and believe me, it sells pretty much anything that you could possibly need and also a nice fresh fruit & vegetable stall, the mango is to die for! Chalok Beach can be walked to in under 10mins offers some nice beach bars & restaurants. Once more, the Villa was good value for money.

The owners, Michelle & Luke are so friendly and are always available to assist in making your stay memorable and offering knowledgeable advice of local attractions/ammenities. A very simple but effective touch was that you are given a mobile phone with useful contact numbers pre-stored, so if required then help is at hand at a touch of a button.

The accommodation itself was very nice. The kitchen area and and dining area was very handy. The DVD library was nice if you fancied a night in. A range of menus from local eateries was provided so that you could call in an order and they would deliver it free of charge.

All in all, this is a great place to stay in Ko Tao, offering a more personalised and local experience than some of the major hotels on the beachfront.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

we stayed in woodlawn villas mid april 2012, after my girlfriend booked via trip advisor basically on the back of the previous reviews. and very pleased we did. the villas themselves are set in a lovely piece of ground, very quiet and tranquil at night. inside they are very modern, we had seperate kitchen diner with large dining table, big tv with dvd player and lovely big couch to relax on when it got too hot outside..
luke and Michelle cant do enough to make you feel comfortable even providing a mobile phone for us if we wanted to have breakfast delivered from the many restaurants dotted about the island, which we did every morning.
a 10 min walk from chalok, or even better hire a bike from steve, recommended by luke, and some lovely beaches are only a short ride away.
my girlfriend and i were slightly disappointed at first when we found out it was closer to chalok beach than sairee as this was the beach we were recommended by friends, but couldnt of been happier once we had explored as the quieter better beaches are in the south.
all in all a highly recommended stay and when i go back to koh tao, woodlawn villas is where i'll be staying.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed at Woodlawn Villas for 6 nights in March 2012. I booked after reading the rave reviews here on TripAdvisor and it still managed to exceed my already high expectations. My villa was exactly as advertised, it was a great place to lounge around when it got too hot outside! Although i'd done plenty research on the island before arriving the tips Luke gave me on places to eat at and hang out trumped all my research. The complimentary phone also came in very handy when my own phone went for an unexpected swim! I'll definitely be staying here again on my next trip to Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
4.1 km away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,324 reviews
2.9 km away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
330 reviews
3 km away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,476 reviews
2.1 km away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
1.1 km away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#22 of 50 in Koh Tao
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $47 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, getaroom.com, lastminute.com.au and Ctrip TA so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing