We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
102
56
17
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
56
17
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shark island free shuttle needle fish incredible week free equipment traditional thai massage aquatic life parrot fish beautiful private beach views are breathtaking crystal clear water rooms are modern big bathroom snorkeling equipment breakfast buffet hotel guests pool villa
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Great new resort in a quiet area on Koh Tao. Perfect for divers. They also have a great beach you can snorkel right off and see turtles, parrot fish, needle fish, and black tipped sharks (not aggressive, harmless!). We booked two standard rooms and were very happy with room size, ocean view and big comfy beds! Definitely one of the nicer resorts I’ve stayed in for diving trips. The restaurant and breakfast is also very good. Prices are reasonable and what you’d expect for hotel restaurant, not outrageous. Staff are very friendly. We spent roughly $25aud per person each meal. Nice pool overlooking the ocean as well.

Pick up from pier was easy. Their staff are always waiting with a signboard.

The negatives:

- It is a 10-15min hilly ride from town and pier. It doesn’t sound far but bear in mind you’re riding on the back of utility vehicle and holding on tightly to avoid falling out the back!
- A transfer to town costs 500baht each way. They do offer a free shuttle service but it only operates twice a day at 11:30 and 8pm to town. And only one shuttle to return at 10pm.
- The resort is on a very steep hill and if you’re unlucky and given a room at the very top it’s a tough climb. We’re 4 adults in our 20s and 30s, relatively fit, but still struggled when we had to go from beach all the way up to reception. Luckily we were given a room quite close to beach and restaurant but there are rooms higher up than the reception.

Despite these small negatives, I would recommend and return to Sai Daeng.

Tip! Book beachfront or get a room as close to the beach as possible to avoid the stairs!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jennmarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholasrean, Manager at Sai Daeng Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Sai Daeng Resort. Thank you for the review and please think of us again the next time you are in Thailand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

this resort is on a beautiful cliff and very secluded. the free snorkeling and kayaking was a nice touch. we stayed at a standard sea view (which we were upgraded to) . the room was simple and not very big, but had a gorgeous view. we did not eat at the resort restaurant so cant comment on the food. the pool was great.

as for location- it really is far from the town , through a windey road you do not want to walk. a taxi to the pier/town will cost approx 300baht. they have a free shuttle going into town at 8pm and one more earlier in the day. there is only one shuttle which returns to the resort from the town at 10pm every night. We managed, but i cannot say it was very convenient.

this resort gives a feeling that it used to be a lot nicer, but it's getting a bit old and maintenance isn't great... not sure if i would stay again, the staff was lovely and so was the view and the beach, but the location was an issue.

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Streycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholasrean, Manager at Sai Daeng Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your comments, but Koh Tao is the smallest of the islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A 10 minute drive to town isn’t a big deal for most people. We are sorry you were disappointed in the location of the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Sai Daeng Resort was truly incredible. The rooms where beautiful and the bed was huge and very comfy. The food was also incredible, I looked forward to every meal so much. They have a Thai BBQ twice a week and a breakfast buffet every morning with so many options, like dim sum, pancakes, fresh fruit and much more. Lastly, the people that work there were SO kind. It made them happy to help you and their joy was contagious...they also remembered your name, which I thought was amazing given how many people there were. I would go back in a sec!

Room tip: Eagles Nest is incredible and very private
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholasrean, Manager at Sai Daeng Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our resort! Thank you for the review and please visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Sai Daeng was the perfect amount of authenticity, romance, luxury, privacy, quality and service. My friends and I traveled to Koh Tao and stayed at Sai Daeng Resort. It was an incredible week with insane views and customer service. We stayed at the Pool Villa and it allowed all 5 of us to have our own rooms and share a common space with a roof deck and pool! We could see the sunrises and sunsets with unobstructed views. Breakfast, lunch and dinner on the beach was unreal. The food was incredible! We met Soon, the owner, and he was so kind and educational about the Thai culture. We ordered a boat and went into town (Sairee) for shopping and lunch one day. I will be returning with my husband to come back! This place is absolutely insane!

Room tip: Every room has a view!
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makenziedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholasrean, Manager at Sai Daeng Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Sai Daeng Resort! We appreciate the review and please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Sai Daeng Resort has all the features and qualities for the most breathtaking and incredible experience. It's situated neatly on a peninsula on an island, staring directly at Shark Island, an iconic snorkel/dive spot. The structures are thoughtful and quality and intricate, down to the perfectly placed views of the rooms (I stayed with a group of friends in the pool villa rooms - each room had a unique and stunning view!) and the open-concept bathrooms with natural light. The pool villa suites had the most incredible infinity pool overlooking not just a beach, but a beach under mountains. Unreal. The pool villa was perfect for our group of 6. Our rooms were all close, but still private, and we had our own little covered space with a family-style table. The FOOD. The food was delectable. I'm always wary of a breakfast buffet, especially in heat like Thailand's, but the staff kept everything fresh, stocked and OH SO DELICIOUS. I loved the variety. They even have seafood barbecues some nights. We went into town some days, but ate mostly on the resort because there was so much to choose from! Then, there's its proximity to town. We could easily and quickly get into town with a short ride where there are heaps of restaurants and bars and shopping. Then there are the surrounding beaches as well - we even found a rope swing! We were able to book kayaks and boat/snorkel trips on the resort as well. The spa had just opened and it was unlike any spa experience I'd ever had. It's open air right on the ocean so you just hear the waves crashing, and I guess it was a traditional Thai massage because I had never had this type of massage before. I was so relaxed and so glad I did it. Every person on staff at the resort was attentive, smiling and friendly. They looked like they truly loved their jobs which is just something that's great to be around. The overall value of this place is incredible. It's a beautiful oasis and a delight to all the senses. I can't wait to come back with my family!

Room tip: If you're traveling in a group, I definitely recommend the pool villas!
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholasrean, Manager at Sai Daeng Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Sai Daeng Resort! Thank you for the kind review and please come back with your family! We would love to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews