We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,841)
Filter reviews
2,841 results
Traveller rating
1,300
967
343
132
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,300
967
343
132
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset bar adult pool long tail boat garden bungalow beach front jasmin restaurant sea gypsy laem tong beach beautiful beach our honeymoon maya bay hour trip outdoor shower white sandy beach ferry ride deck chairs relaxing holiday
Filter
Updating list...
1,691 - 1,696 of 2,841 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2008

Spent 9 nights at the Holiday inn and had a wonderful and relaxing time. Most of the reviews are spot on here...its a lovely quiet place which may be unsuitable for those who want to do more than laze around on a beach!!

For those who want to know as I did, the building work appears to be nearly finished...no effect on my holiday at all.

Good Points
- Quiet remote location
- Fantastic beach
- Nice staff
- Well timed happy hour (8pm - 10pm 100bt cocktails)
- Good food at the beach grill
- Great food at the sea gypsy places
- Sunset cocktail bar

Bad Points
- Towels were clean but well worn
- Getting there is a 3 hr ferry from Puket

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HolidayPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

The beach that this hotel is an absolute gem for couples on honeymoon, quiet, scenic and secluded.

The hotel itself is nice enough but certainly not 5 star, maybe 3.5. The rooms are old now and full of ants, the pool is very small.

My really big complaint with this place though is the prices they charge for everything, you are pretty much being ripped of in my opinion. Breakfast came to 1060THB for 2 of us and it was nothing special. Additionally they charged us 1800THB each fror a transfer from Phuket Airport to the resort, we travelled back independently for 600 baht each! Put these costs into perspective, an average Thai persons wage is 200THB per DAY!!

Will certainly not be staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TTTT8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

The Holiday Inn Phi Phi is located in the North East of the island at Laem Tong Beach. This is a long way from the main part of Phi Phi and rather isolated. A long tail from Ton Sai costs at least Bt1,000 each way for the whole boat and the passage up the East Coast can be rough and dangerous so once there you are a bit trapped. The prevailing wind is from the East, so the water can also be rather choppy out front of the resort.

The rooms are mainly individual bungalows and these are very tired and not good value by Thai standards. Bathrooms are cramped and there is no mosquito netting at all so you are obliged to keep the door and windows shut and run the aircon at all times.

Breakfast is good, and the gardens and beach are well maintained and pleasant, if a bit crowded. The usual European practice of dumping towels in the best places at dawn prevails. Getting one of the nice hammocks on the beach is a challenge.

The staff are friendly and they can arrange tours and watersports.

One of the best things about the place is the Sea Gypsy Village which is right next door. There are two restaurants with tables on the sand (Mr Chu's and Jasmine's), both are excellent. They also operate a small shop where you can buy cheap beer and soft drinks.

The Head man of the village runs a tour operation in an office on the beach there, and can get long tails cheaper than the resort for tours to the offshore islands or to Ton Sai, the main town. This is a lot better than using the Ton Sai boats, as the gypsies run down the North side of the island avoiding the long treacherous trip down the East coast. They drop you at the North side of the Ton Sai spit, which is only about 100 meters from the main wharf on the South side.

We had booked for 4 nights, but the isolation and room quality caused us to plead with the resort's management to reduce this to 2 nights, which they very kindly and politely did.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Captain_Beefheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The location is great since it is quiet and not crowded since the location is only accessible to guest staying on the far side of Phi Phi Don. I had the opportunity to order dinner twice at the restaurant and it was delicious. We contracted with one of the boat man from the sea gypsy village for 4 days as his rate is better than the hotel and also to help the locals too. We would leave early to avoid crowds specially at Maya bay. We liked it there so much we visited it twice during our stay. The breakfast at the hotel is great but you can skip the dinner buffet as the selection is very limited and the bbq meats were a little tough. The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful specially if you have sun and no wind. The staffs are all very friendly and greeting you when you see them. The 2 islands in front are a must see. Bamboo and Mosquito islands are its best in the morning and its only about 15 mins by boat and the water is so clear and the sand is fine and almost white. The room is clean and the sheets are changed everyday and the ac worked really well and they give you 2 complimentary water everyday. If you are a photographer like me make sure to visit on Sat and Sunday so the kids from the village have no school so you can photograph them playing around the hotel. The kids are so adorable and I have so many pics of them. The Jasmin restaurant also offers great Thai dishes and part of the proceeds goes to help the school. The grocery store is next to it if you want to buy some snacks. Overall I will stay here again if I go back to Phi Phi.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eyo322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

WE stayed on 3 places within Phi Phi and this was easily the least good value for money.

The beach is lovely, as is the water and the setting but the rooms really need upgrading. They were clean but very flimsy1980's style dark and cheap furniture.

THe towels were ofter marked but the room was clean.

We found the food average and the diving/ one of the main reasons for our stay was highly over priced versus the other side of the island.

We did however enjoy the food and drinks in the beach huts down the beach - which were good value for money.

Overall - not that impressive and you are a bit stuck out the way

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Paradise803188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews