We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,838)
Filter reviews
2,838 results
Traveller rating
1,298
967
343
131
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,298
967
343
131
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset bar adult pool long tail boat garden bungalow beach front jasmin restaurant sea gypsy laem tong beach beautiful beach our honeymoon maya bay hour trip outdoor shower white sandy beach ferry ride deck chairs relaxing holiday
Filter
Updating list...
1,725 - 1,730 of 2,838 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2007

After contemplating between Phi Phi hotels around the Tonsai Bay town area or the quieter Laem Tong Beach area, I finally decided to book 2 nights Beach Front Bungalow at the Holiday Inn Phi Phi Resort. You can only get here by longtail boat but the fine sands at the beach and crystal clear waters makes this all worth while. You can practically see fishes swimming in shallow waters at the beach. The beachfront at high tide is lovely especially with the wind blowing at our face and sunset mesmerizing (at the Sunset Bar). The hotel room does not have TV although you can get wireless internet access at the reception and beachfront dining areas. This serves us well as we did want to get away from it all. The hotel is short walk away from Gypsy Village and other hotels around the area for cheaper dining options but we found the food quality and service at Holiday Inn Phi Phi Resort very reasonable for good hotel standards. Our only complaint is perhaps the mosquitoes and that the room aircon only works with a special key tag so coming back to the room after a long day out may be rather stuffy and warm. For a day trip, I suggest hiring a longtail to the nearby islands (Maya Bay, Bamboo Island, Mosquito Island etc) for snorkelling or diving & a lunch / shopping stopover at Tonsai Bay. Snorkelling equipment are free for loan from the hotel actitivies area. Enjoy !!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Dennis_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Dear San,

We thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor website.

I am very grateful for the feedback provided as this gives us the opportunity of improving our services.

We thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and hope that we will have the opportunity of making things right for you on your next visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

I know this is going to make me sound like one of those people that hates every place they stay, but here it goes anyway.

I booked 4 nights at Holiday Inn on advice from one of my friends. I was very excited to get to the resort, since it had come from such a good source. However, when we arrived, it was nothing like we expected. The rooms were definitely not as nice as advertised. We reserved a room that bolstered a beach view, but we ended up in the room farthest from the beach. When we got to our room, the AC did not work, and there was no water pressure at all. The food was very bad (and I'm not that picky). The problem is, that all of the island restaurants are on the other side of the island...a 20 minute boat taxi away. And the staff was not very accommodating. After twenty minutes at the resort and a terrible meal, we decided to leave in search of greener pastures on the other side of the island. The manager would not let us out of the reservation despite the lack of a beach view room. We ended up reaching a compromise, and staying for two nights.

Once we moved to the other side of the island, we started to enjoy Phi Phi. The hotel was not terrible, the beach is nice, and the rooms aren't half bad. The major let down was the price one must pay for marginal rooms, terrible food, and second rate service. Especially when there are Thai hotels that are extremely happy to have you staying with them.

If you're going to Koh Phi Phi, make sure you stay in the town, because there are endless opportunities to have tons of fun.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank michaelmelton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Dear Michaelmelton1,

We thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very grateful for the feedback provided.

I have shared your comments with our team member who are currently working on the service issues you have highlighted.

We thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again next time soonest.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2007

A quiet and peaceful little place away from the backpacker haunts of Tonsai Bay. Plenty of activities, boat trips, snorkling etc....and plenty of room for a little quietness as well. True, the food is a tiny bit overpriced, but still reasonable on western currencies....and the breakfast is very good. A few other dining options exist up the beach as well. The hammocks under the trees on the beach were nice, particularly when the tide was in and you were nesting over the water. A great place to put your feet up and read a book.
Really...it can be whatever you want it to be. I thought it was great.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DrAndyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Dear DrAndyC,

We thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I am very grateful for the feedback provided as this gives us the opportunity of improving our services.

We thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and hope that we will have the opportunity of making things right for you on your next visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

We wouldn't normally stay in a Holiday Inn hotel, as we don't like resorts and aren't particularly keen on Holiday Inns in general. However, we were swayed by reports on Trip Advisor and we managed to get some good last minute rates through the hotel website, although it was still pretty expensive and was going to have to be good to live up to the cost.

The location of the Holiday Inn has to be one of the best on Phi Phi Don. Great beach with a reef right in front where you can snorkel, or quick access by longtail boat to 2 near-by islands where there is great snorkelling and other beautiful beaches.

The hotel itself is fairly large and is being extended at the south end. However as it is fairly well landscaped, you don't feel like you are in a massive complex. Also, the extension to the hotel is being managed in such a way that it doesn't intrude on the day to day running, in fact you probably wouldn't know it was happening unless you went for a long walk down the beach.

The accommodation is individual or shared chalets. If you can, get a beach front one, failing that, get a sea view one. After that, the garden ones are okay, but some are in the back of beyond (although some are situated more up the side of a hill). The new area, once it opens, will be really nice and probably the place to stay.

The chalet we stayed in had a sea view. The chalet was clean and had a balcony. However, even though you have a sea view as such, as most of the chalets are on flat ground, rather than a hill, you are pretty much looking into the back of the beach front chalet that is in front of you, and their aircon unit. However, the beach are is so beautiful, that we spent very limited time in the chalet.

The chalets are really catered for aircon - we don't like aircon, so were given a stand fan. However we ended up having to use the aircon, as there is little breeze, no mosiquito screens or netting and you can't leave your door open as there is a footpath in front of the chalet.

There are no TV's in the room, but there is a movie centre at the main area of the hotel where you can borrow a DVD and watch that, or at night, they have films screened at certain times. There is also a play room with billiards etc. Lovely pool, with part of the deck overlooking the water.

The beach has hammocks hanging in the trees and deck chairs all along the front - very beautiful, relaxing and low key. The tide goes out far and comes in high and it is wonderful being able to snorkel right by the beach, or take one of the complimetary canoes.

There is no cash accepted at the hotel, so everything is charged to your room, which then incurs various government taxes. Prices at the hotel are also very expensive. So we only ate breakfast at the hotel, as that was included in our rate - well worth doing as the breakfast is very extensive and good. They even have an espresso machine.

There is a sunset sate bar that overlooks the west of the island and well worth the trip as the sun is setting - great view.

For lunch and dinner, we went to Jamine's, a few metres up the beach. Still quite pricey by Thai standards, but very good and nowhere near as expensive as Holiday Inn. Great prawns on the barbie there and vegetable fried rice etc.

One thing we did see that looked pretty special at Holiday Inn, was a special beach bbq dinner - very good for a romantic meal - set up way down the beach with torches etc. Don't know the quality of the food, but a good spot to propose marriage I would imagine.

Jasmine's do a wonderful massage, but book the day before, as it depends how busy they are at the restaurant. Massages at Holiday Inn are very expensive.

Further north along the beach from the Holiday Inn, apart from Jasmine's, you find the Gypsy Village and a few other hotels. However, Holiday Inn definately has the best spot on the beach.

We took a longtail boat to Mosquito and Bamboo islands and also stopped at one of the reefs on the way - we hired this through the Gypsy village as it was a bit cheaper. Definatley recommend this trip - snorkelling is great and the islands beautiful.

Note that there are no cash machines, or shops as such (except one small one at Gypsy Village), so take cash with you if you are going to spend out side the Holiday Inn and take any other extras you may want. Holiday Inn shop is pretty hopeless, apart from having icecreams. Definately don't plan to do your trip gift shopping there as the range of gifts is pathetic.

Getting to and from the hotel, we just got our own longtail boat from Ton Sai Bay as we stayed there before going to Holiday Inn and wanted to pop back into town on our way back, but you can get a ferry direct from Phuket. However, this ferry can take up to 3 hours, where from Ton Sai to Phuket it's about 1.5 hours. You can also get a sea plane - expensive, but great way to arrive and depart.

Think this hotel would work for people of all ages. The only thing missing is the usual Thai town to wander around in, as the Sea Gypsy village is pretty limited. Also, just need to take in to account that things here are more expensive than other parts of the island.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GeraldineBondiBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Dear Geraldine,

We thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I am very grateful for the feedback provided as this gives us the opportunity of improving our services.

We thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and hope that we will have the opportunity of making things right for you on your next visit.

Best regrade,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

It is one of these not really frequent cases when the pictures that you may find on the web (including these of the hotel web page itself) show something worse than it is in reality. The accommodation, ambience and services was quite close to perfection with only some really minor problems encountered during our 4d/3n holiday. We stayed in a beach-front bungalow clearly freshly renewed (at least repainted) both interiors and exteriors, clean and nice. All the other bungalows appeared also to be renovated and in similar condition. Living area of the bungalow – very nice and cozy, the bathroom – a bit worse, slightly worn-off but still reasonably nice and clean. The only missing thing was perhaps some more rustic external appearance as the bungalows looked more like concrete boxes than something you would like to see in this kind of tropical island environment.
Things about the surrounding: pretty isolated spot of the island with no crowds typical to Ton Sai beach area; the resort is situated on both sides of the peninsula so you can watch sunrises almost from the doorsteps of your bungalow and sunsets from Sunset Satay Bar; the beach is fabulous with clean and clear sand regardless of low or high tide and emerald or sapphire-blue water; see-gypsies village if you like this kind of things - as a matter of fact not different to me from slums of Bangkok or Phuket – nothing really ethnic, just poorer people making their living by transporting tourists around.
The hotel services were very good, staff always friendly, smiling and trying to be helpful. Also most of the services arranged by the resort like boat transportation were surprisingly of very high standard. E.g. we hired a longtail boat for 6h one day just to get around a bit. I was taking lots of pictures. The boat driver was a guy from the gypsy sea village. Not only we had no troubles to communicate with him but he was like actively looking for nice spots for me and seeing I wanted to take some photos he tried to position the boat the right way with no slightest request from my side – just by watching what I was doing with my camera. Truly amazing. Generally local people of Phi Phi were always very friendly.
The food: well, unfortunately I have to agree with some previous comments: it was a disaster – the worst food we have ever had in Thailand if not in SE Asia. In the resort we tried once the buffet dinner which happened to be cold, with no Thai food included and a strange, limited choice of dishes of questionable taste and quality. This is also how every single breakfast looked like perhaps with the exception of the things making the western type of breakfast (eggs, toasts etc). To be completely fair it was something strange with the food in Phi Phi in general. We are Europeans living already quite some time in Singapore so I think we have a good feeling about the Asian
food. We visited Thailand many times and we never encountered that bad food in average as we did in Phi Phi. This include the Jasmine restaurant mentioned earlier by some people – the food there was much better then in Holiday-Inn but still below average. We also tried two other restaurants with similar feeling. It looks to us like everywhere in Phi Phi the cuisine is tailored to serve the expectations of Westerners (nothing can be too spicy for example). We did not try from holiday-inn anything ala-carte with one exception – so called bbq romantic dinner that was very nicely organized right on the beach, candles, torches, flowers on the sand - perfect romantic cliché that you need from time to time. And the food here was ok. Nothing really good, but just ok – Phi Phi average.
So as a short summary: it was a near perfect holiday in beautiful, romantic setting, with high quality services, more then decent for four stars rating accommodations and very bad food as per Asian standards.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank amdsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithas S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Dear Amdsg,

We thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I am very grateful for the feedback provided as this gives us the opportunity of improving our services.

We thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and hope that we will have the opportunity of making things right for you on your next visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews