We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”
Review of Papaya Restaurant

Papaya Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 117 Restaurants in Ko Phi Phi Don
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Reviewed 10 September 2020 via mobile

We ordered our food from the rolling stome bar. There were some good deals and prices were good. Thw food was awful.
My butter chicken was like a bowl of tomato soup with chicken bits and the chicken pakora was worse than McDonald's chicken nuggets.
We spoke with the owner when we left. He had a cheeky smile and when asked if that's how he cooked in Indian his reply was thats how the tourists like their food here! Couldn't help but smile but wouldn't recommend eating here.

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank Chalkmeister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2020 via mobile

We ordered curries and pizza. Best Indian I have eaten in Thailand ever! Service was very good and the staff were very friendly. I recommend that you must visit this restaurant whilst you are there!

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank Siobhan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2020 via mobile

I ate there seceral times in february 2019. At least lockdown allows you to do all the stuff on your to do list you didn‘t have time for...

To make it short: If you fancy a marvellously prepared whole fish, go to papaya restaurant. I did also try the curries and liked them, too. The portions are big and you can bring your own beer.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Ya_Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020

If you want to try real indian and thai food, that's the place to go ! I eat their food everyday on the boat with my diveshop and it's allways amazing !! The place to go ! The staff is awesome and so friendly.

Cheers
Hugo

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank S5369HHhugod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020

In the heart of the center, immersed in the central alleys, it still maintains the true Thai flavors of the past .... open kitchen ... so everything in the light of the sun ... the top: Yellow Noodles

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank lokusdemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papaya Restaurant also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Papaya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.