We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$58
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Paul D
Not a good feeling about this one.
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Oct 2012
The staff met us at the pier which was nice, and carried our bags up the hill.

A lot of stairs, but you are immediately repaid be a great view of both beaches, nothing to complain about there.

The place was under construction and overgrown, but it was the low season, so no complaints there either.

The first thing you are greeted with in your room is a list of penalties for certain things, like if you break a glass, break the air con remote, etc. The best one was a 2,000 baht fine for leaving your key in the room while you are not there, which can apparently start a fire! I guess they can't really fine you if you happened to be in the room and are killed by these apparently frequent fires caused by the key. Not a welcoming feeling!

The breakfast - let's just say it's extremely basic. Cold toast and cold boiled eggs.

Our room was not made up and our water was not replaced.

I think there are plenty of better options on Phi Phi - I'd check them all out before staying at Arboreal again.
Date of stay: October 2012
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$348
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$348
  • Vio.com
    AU$304
  • travelup.com
    AU$311
2.2 km from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Pool
Beachfront
The Pool at Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Hotels.com
AU$547
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$548
  • Vio.com
    AU$164
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$101
  • Hotels.com
    AU$189
  • Agoda.com
    AU$90
  • Expedia.com
    AU$154
0.9 km from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$217
  • Priceline
    AU$293
  • Agoda.com
    AU$189
  • Expedia.com
    AU$293
4.1 km from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a dream location for any visitor looking for either an eventful or relaxing holiday. Situated on the quiet Long Beach, which overlooks the stunning Maya bay island, our hillside villa views are unbeatable.
Booking.com
AU$104
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$100
  • Expedia.com
    AU$106
2.0 km from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$302
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$270
  • Vio.com
4.4 km from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$82
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
  • Hotels.com
    AU$115
1.1 km from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$78
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
  • Vio.com
1.5 km from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$102
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$88
  • Hotels.com
    AU$131
4.3 km from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
    AU$385
  • Trip.com
1.2 km from Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
32
76
74
42
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
32
76
74
42
64
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Starting with the stairway! I read the reviews of this hotel before I booked and thought the reviewrs were exaggerating the steps, But the Hotel happens to be on a mountain & the 200 steps are for real. they are risers are steep & high. And btw the 200 steps are just till the reception and one must still climb to reach their rooms. The hotel is situated quite far away from the pier so its kind of a long walk. There a couple of hotels situated on the way and even near the pier. The receptionist was the vindictive kinds and initially sounded helpful which she was not. She was always ready to charge us extra for every helpful gesture she made. The geyser in our was not working & she told us that it can be fixed by reaching the ceiling where apparently the geyser was located and the switch had to be turned ON, to which me & my husband disagreed so she sent a bell boy for us (thank God!). None of the rooms have telephone, So you must walk down to the reception every time you needed something. The rooms are nice & clean and has a beautiful view from the rooms!

Room tip: Use the hotel service from the pier for carrying the luggage to the hotel...
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Overall stay at the hotel was very good. We hated our previous hotel so changed to the Arboreal Resort which was less than half the price. The porter cam and met us at our previous hotel for check out and carried our bags all the way to the hotel, including up all the stairs. We stayed in deluxe room which was very big and nicely done, though in need of a little touch up. The staff, both on reception and in the restaurant, were really friendly with us and very helpful. The only thing I will say is be prepared for the steps. It is part way up to the island viewpoint and situated up a number of steps, but there sofas and fans in the restaurant so you can sit and get your breath back. Some of the deluxe rooms are set quite high behind the hotel so if you're staying in those it is even further. However for me the view is worth it as we had a stunning view out over the island. We also had a tsunami warning over the course of our stay and the hotel happens to be an evacuation point so you know that you'll be safe up there. Luckily there was no tsunami but it was good to know our things were safe. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I travel a lot but that's the first time a receptionist insults me !

The day before the check in, we asked to visit the room before taking a decision, the staff showed us a nice room with a nice view. Then we agreed on the price (1700 Bath with break fast) and on the check in time (10 am). When we arrived the day after at 10 am, the reception told us the room was not available and that we had to wait until 11 am. After waiting 1 hour she gave us a completly different room with a bad view for the same price ! Moreover, when we arrived in the room, we had to wait 1 hour more because the shower was not working (I pass the nasty smell from the bathroom).

Next morning, we arrived at 11 am for the breakfast (included in the price) and the receptionist refused to serve us because it was too late ! Then she said we could have a breakfast but we had to pay more !!! We said that nobody informed us about this limit and that we wanted our money back for the break fast (300 baths), she refused ! After that, she insulted us saying that if we didn't want to pay more we could stay in our country .... INCREDIBLE !!!!!

I hightly do not recommand that hotel. Even if rooms are not too bad compared to our previous hostel in Koh Phi Phi, direction is dishonest and rude. We wanted to enjoy our last days of hollidays in a nice hotel and those troubles were the last thing we needed.

Room tip: The rooms at 1300 baths have a poor value for money. The rooms at 1700 baths are more confortable.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tomtomTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Once in a while the adage "you get what you pay for" hits home hard. On our visit to Ko Phi Phi we decided to save some money and go budget: looking around the grungy main town it seemed like the thing to do anyway! Arboreal is a bit away from the center and up a long flight of steps, however the hotel porters do an excellent job helping guests with their bags to and from the ferry pier. Apart from these guys the rest of the staff are obviously straining themselves to be friendly. The rooms also reflect this overall theme of trying to do the bare minimum to be acceptable, but failing. There was a faint whiff of sewage throughout the place. The shower was broken. The room aircon looked like a kid had built it in a a school science project, and there was a veiled threat (listed on the rooms menu of fines to be paid for various misdemeanors such as breaking a cup or stealing a bed sheet) that if you left it on too long, it might catch fire, in which case you, the guest, would be responsible to pay the damages. We learned our lesson: life is too short to waste time staying at a place like this.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrW909
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We booked Agoda late the evening before arriving. Our booking had not come through due to a fault on our end, they were kind and gave us a room - same price as the one we thought we had paid. The stairs were massive, yes. We are pretty fit, so it was only just bearable, but on a hot day, phewf! The food at the restaurant - breakfast was nice, the other meals were pretty good, but I would prefer somewhere else. The rooms were clean and you could have them cleaned everyday if you wished.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingcee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews