We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
62
81
35
30
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
81
35
30
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baan lanta kantiang bay why not bar place to sleep mosquito net beach view green season breakfast included beautiful pool stayed for nights high season bars and restaurants resort thailand shadow koh pier
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We booked a few nights at Baan Lanta as part of our honeymoon. They placed us in Room 1 and the room itself was not bad. However, bright neon lights shined through our room curtains and loud music was playing from the bar/beach well after midnight. We packed our bags that night and left for another hotel.

We returned to the hotel in the morning to request a refund. The front desk stated that they would charge us a 2nd night (early check out penalty) but refund the remaining two nights. We were not happy about paying for an additional night and even more disappointed that no one from the hotel or Agoda has followed up regarding the refund (now going on 2 weeks).

I do not recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 1.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Again on Kantiang bay, this time at Baan Laanta... what a relaxed time we had. We've booked our bungalow over the net (very good price). The bungalow was with great/ets view (I think someone recommended No15). The pool at BL is good size (not that big), clean, maintained every day, just like the rest of the resort (clean bathroom/beach towels daily). One of the reasons for our return at Kantiang is the BaanLaanta restaurant. Grilled fish/sea food every night, delicious. What to ask more on Thailand's Island? Oh yes, the weather... it was excellent too ;)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank putnici011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

just got back from Baan Lanta, its our second visit to the resort & just as nice as before. we received a warm welcome & the bungalow of our choice which has the best view from the resort of Kantiang Bay. the resort seemed to be full most of the time which was a surprise considering the time of year (late Oct), however it never felt over-crowded...phew!

the resort has plenty of lush mature planting throughout, giving the pool area & bungalows a feel of privacy. bungalows are pretty spacious & have subtle lighting, however there are a few issues like the mirror is not by the basin & there's no plug socket next to the kettle, so be resourceful, oh & the curtains don't always met, however your neighbours will definitely see more flesh on the beach than through your curtains!

the pool area is a great place to hang out during the day for some quiet reading, shady in parts & full sun in others. the pool its self is compact, however good for a few lazy lengths, it's cool as apposed to being warm which can be a welcome break when the humidity hits. i always thought it's a shame it's not a salt water pool, still you can't have everything.

breakfast is no longer a buffet style but from a set menu which was a little disappointing, however we found you could mix & match a little bit, but i guess don't go over board. service can be rather slow & forgetful from some breakfast staff, but hey, be polite, be pleasant & always smile & it will come together for both you & them. its not a 5 star so don't expect it to run like a 5 star, however in the evening its attentive, run by a long haired thai girl (i've forgotten her name), who's slightly cheeky & professional in equal amounts. not forgetting the girls @ the front desk who we found always friendly & helpful.

the bar attached to the resort is not the loud place it once was, currently closing @ a reasonable hour, maybe later in the season it might be different. the bar up from the shroom bar does however belt out commercial house thursday's & friday's, but really a 4/4 beat is not difficult to sleep to, or maybe it's just because we are a bunch of old ravers!

4 out of 5 of us would go back again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Baan Lanta is a really nice quiet resort on Kantiang Beach (south end of Koh Lanta). The beach here is really gorgoeous, white sand, blue blue warm water. the resort is Muslim so no Bacon in the morning! They do have a nice beach bar. Try and get a room at the front of the resort otherwise there are many stairs to climbe and in the heat it can be quite exhausting in the heat in Thailand. The nightime barbacue's on the beach are awesome, lovely fresh fish and the manager can't do enough for you. If you want a relaxing time this is the place for you. You must go on an elephant walk too which the resort will help you organise plus the 5 island tour.

Room Tip: Front of resort.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We did go during low season and there really was not too much to do for kids. The hotel/pool was nice, the people in the village were very nice. We had lunch and dinner at a mom and pop hut (Sum Yum restaurant) thier food was great! Hotel is sort of sucluded so if you would like some nice and quiet this is the place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newpengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews