We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home”

Beachcomber at Lanta Castaway
Ranked #42 of 291 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 15
Cuisines: Mexican, Asian, Thai, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An open air restaurant featuring delicious TEX MEX selections, as well as, excellent Thai and Western dishes. The restaurant overlooks the Andaman Sea and offers both garden and beachfront dining. Located within the Lanta Castaway Resort the restaurant offers terrific food drinks in a wonderfully relaxing environment.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I recently stayed at Lanta Castaway for 2 weeks. I was extremely impressed with the food selection. As a fellow Texan who loves Mexican food, I felt right at home. There was no need to eat anywhere else. Beachcomber had all types of food to fit what ever I was craving at the time. I was never hungry. The staff is just amazing. Nothing but smiles and great food. You must try the chicken burrito. Hmmmmmm

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    43
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Loistava paikka isoilla annoksilla! :)”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

"Loistava paikka isoilla annoksilla!" Excellent restaurant/bar, with terrific sunset view and friendly staff! :) Truly a nice experience, going to miss it... :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pypiipar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very few better”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This restaurant offers very fine food indeed & at very good prices, yes you can get cheaper out on the roads & markets, you can also pay far more for meals half as good The menu range is good with excellent Thai food, steaks, tex mex & according to my wife the best barbecued fresh fish she has had in a very long time, John the chef will cook it just about any way you like, but again my wife tells me (i dont like fish) the best way is wrapped in a banana leaf with lots of ginger & garlic on the barbecue
The staff are very friendy & as attentive as you want or not, the range of starters are very good & the calarmari my favorite, likewise if you want a quick bite or a lingering meal they will accomodate you, they even have a range of deserts & I have never know them to run out of ice cream for the banana splits, even if you only come for a lunchtime phat thai & a cold beer on the decking overlooking the beach, do not miss this delightful oasis
There is a really nice beach bar (Mad Bull) just a dozen steps from the restaurant where you name it & you will probably get it, again at prices that wont break the bank
We stayed at the Castaway Resort for 29 nights in February & ate at the restaurant at least 22 nights because we just could not better it
The surroundings are beautiful with some of the best kept & beautiful gardens i have seen in Thailand, the owners Darin & Nit have really built themselves a little bit of paradise & deserve every bit of success they get

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uckfiedfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a bad meal to be had”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Exceptional menu. I've been here multiple times of the past few years and between the resort (Lanta Castaway ) and the restaurant you just can't go wrong.
Every item on the menu is really delicious, affordable and served with a smile.

Oh, breakfast is included with the room (no set breakfast you order off of the menu!).

My personal favorites are the delciious Pad Thai as well as any tradiitonal thai fish dish and for a great change of pace anything off of the Tex Mex menu.

great food, fun and attentive staff, beautiful beach.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DdEngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otta, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and perfect location”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Beachcomber is the restaurant at Lanta Castaway where we stayed for 2 1/2 weeks this febraury. The restaurant have a nice location close to the beach. They have a good menu with both thai-food, steaks and tex-mex. During our stay we had almost every meal, both lunch and dinner at the Beachcomber. Not only because of the food, but the staff makes every visit special. They are always smiling and doing everything they can to make you happy. I really recomend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sirkeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beachcomber at Lanta Castaway also viewed

Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Beachcomber at Lanta Castaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing